We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcome return visit”
Review of Brookfields B&B

Brookfields B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sidmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brookfields B&B
Ranked #20 of 33 Sidmouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Once again David and Rosemary made us most welcome. Despite our booking at the last minute and their having a busy weekend we immediately felt at home. It was a cold spell, but in the house we were snug and relaxed - a great boon for someone disabled like me. And of course David and Rosemary are well prepared for the disabled. As always for us, the food overflowed, great cooked breakfasts which kept us going all day. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MichaelWOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 58 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2013

Brookfields is quietly situated just off the beaten track yet conveniently close to the village’s pub, restaurants, bus stops and amenities. On arrival we were given tea and freshly made scones, and found David and Rosemary to be very welcoming, hospitable, generous, attentive and friendly hosts for whom nothing seemed too much trouble. Our room (we had the green room) was spacious with a very large and comfortable bed, with a good-sized en suite wet room (which is ideal for the more elderly or those with mobility difficulties). A large selection is on offer for breakfast, which is pre-ordered the evening before by completing a breakfast request form that has most breakfast items on it. You are invited to choose as many items as you wish, and how many of each one. I suppose David (who cooks the breakfast) might jib if you were greedy enough to order 4 sausages, 3 black puddings, half a dozen tomatoes, 4 rashers of bacon and 6 eggs to go with beans, mushrooms, fried bread etc. that's on offer, but then again he is so obliging he’d probably do it!

Finally, don’t be intimidated when a large German Shepherd dog bounds up to the car barking loudly when you arrive. This is Axey (or Axi, or Axie!) and despite appearances she’s an absolute sweetie and just as friendly as the hosts.

As virtually all the previous reviews have indicated, this is a bed an breakfast to be recommended, so thanks for everything and if we are ever back in that neck of the woods, then it will be a pleasure to stay at Brookfields again

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank malabarfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

My family and I stayed here for the weekend and our host rosemary and David were very welcoming as much as possible fitted in with our plans. The rooms were very clean and well laid out the beds were very comfortable my sister stayed in the twin room which had a wet room bathroom. If we need to stay in b&b near exmouth again we will definitely stay here again.i did not mean to rate the pool as I don't think there is one.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

David & Rosemary were the most wonderful hosts for our visit to England. Our room was spacious & warm & the bathroom was wonderful. We were provided with an excellent breakfast with many choices. We felt we were staying with friends. We walked to the pub & to a wonderful restaurant called Moore's & to the bus stop which was incredibly convenient.
It was altogether a lovely stay & the scones were to die for! I can't wait to go back.
Marsha & Don Sweet
USA

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marsha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We enjoyed a lovely, relaxing break at Brookfields. David and Rosemary greeted us with a Devon Cream Tea in the garden and iced coffee. We were made to feel 'at home' and invited to use the lounge and gardens as we wished [and the Japanese washlet which fascinated our 12 year old son :) ] Axi, the Alsation dog, was very friendly and soft.

We had the use of two rooms, as our party consisted of five. Both rooms were clean, very comfortable, well equipped with drinks facilities and had excellent ensuites. The bathrooms even contained a selection of branded shower gels and shampoos. There were HD TVs and DVDs available to watch. Breakfast was delicious with a very good choice and plenty of coffee and juice.

Our hosts were incredibly thoughtful and offered us the use of beach chairs, fishing rod and bucket and spade. One evening we bought pre-packed meals for tea and having the use of the oven and fridge was fantastic. We were invited to use the American style fridge to top our drinks bottles up with icy water.

This was a fantastic B&B and we would highly recommend it. We would definitely stay here in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms are spacious, very comfortable and have excellent ensuite facilities. The Blue Room had a lar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GillLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We have just spent two nights at Brookfields with our two children 9 & 12. We had a very nice stay
David was the perfect host, doing anything he could to make us welcome. Unfortunaetly we didn't get to meet Rosemary on this visit. Axi the German Shepherd was a hit with my daughter. Our Blue room was very clean, comfortable and had everything we needed, Would certainly visit again.
Thank you for your hospitality.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nicola b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in the blue room which had been adapted to sleep two adults & two children & found everything perfectly lovely. We had a very warm greeting upon our rather late arrival & were shown to our stylish, clean room. The beds were super comfy & the family sized bathroom more than adequate but it was the way in which my children were made to feel at home that really impressed. The garden holds a wooden playset big enough to amuse our 7 & 9 year olds & the dolls & Lego were equally appreciated. David & Rosemary welcomed us into their home & made us feel relaxed & that nothing was too much trouble. Thank you to you both.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bushbabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
4.4 mi away
Sid Valley Country Hotel
3.1 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
988 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel
#8 of 13 in Sidmouth
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
475 reviews
4.0 mi away
Buckley Farmhouse
Buckley Farmhouse
#1 of 4 in Sidbury
85 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brookfields B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookfields B&B

Address: Brookfields Venn Ottery Road | Newton Poppleford, Sidmouth EX10 0BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Sidmouth
Price Range: $60 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable luxury in a quiet yet central setting very close to pub restaurants, public transport and attractions. We cater for all ages, including the elderly, disabled and young families. WiFi, fax and printer services available. We offer a very personalised service with breakfast when you want it. Play area for children, cream teas included, use of lounge and facilities for the disabled. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Brookfields B&B Sidmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing