We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st class once again”
Review of Hotel Elizabeth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Elizabeth
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Sidmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Thank you all at the hotel Elizabeth. This is about the 5th/6th time we have stayed now and it just gets better. Clean and tidy rooms with all facilities you need. i.e. clean large towels etc. Very good food and very friendly staff. Well done again and we hope to see you very soon.

Room Tip: Sea view are probably the best but don't let put you off a side view still looks out to sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cheneyblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (182)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 182 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2013

The hotel is located right on the sea front and very close to the town so the location is fantastic. Be wary though if the hotel hasn't got any parking spaces free as the parking is quiet expensive during the day. There is free parking on the street in the evenings and over the weekend in Sidmouth.
The hotel is an old fashioned type hotel. Most of the residents are well over 60. The rooms are situated over 3 or 4 floors and are good quality. There is a lift but it is so tiny! Only room for 2 people at the most.
We stayed in a side sea view and although it was quiet small, the standard was good. We had a flat screen TV but the signal is poor there so you couldn't really watch it. Having said that, we weren't there to watch TV.

Breakfast was very good quality. It is cooked fresh so you do have quiet a long wait if you go during the busy times. There is a wide range of other things to eat and it was all presented nicely,

There isn't a massive lot of things to do in Sidmouth. The town isn't very big but there are some nice shops to look around.

Next door to the hotel is the Dukes Restaurant. It is easliy the best place to eat in Sidmouth but it gets very busy so book in advance.

This was our second trip to the Hotel Elizabeth and we would definitely come again

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PhilBJ10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

when we first arrived at this hotel for a meal we couldn't believe what a time warp it was, from its quirky little wooden bar in a setting a bit like a great aunts front parlour to the reception and hallway. On saying that the meal was lovely although a little too rushed for our liking, as within minutes of your order being placed the food was on the table, and likewise with the main course and dessert, so no time for breath in between. The staff were very friendly and efficient and catered to all their guests very well, as this and several hotels around it have repeat custom from the elderly cliental you can see why the hotel is as it is. The residents love it but not ideal for the slightly younger set. all in all a pleasant visit but not somewhere that I would chose to stay until I am at least 3 score years and 10.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dukessidmouth, General Manager at Hotel Elizabeth, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Thank you for sharing your views. We are pleased you thought the staff were friendly and efficient. With regards to your meal, we are sorry your felt rushed, it is never our intention and is something we will address with our restaurant team. Sidmouth is a regency town and being a small family run, historical building on Sidmouth seafront it does have many original features of wooden panelling throughout our bar and lounge areas and something we feel fits in with the building, every year we reinvest in the décor and furniture within the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

This is our fourth stay at the Hotel Elizabeth. Good value with the offer 4 nights for the price of three. Again excellent food with plenty of choice. Helpful and friendly staff. We had room 16 a nice large room with balcony and excellent views. All being well back again next year.

Room Tip: Make sure you book your car parking space in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryWorcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

we had a couple of nights in a small second floor room with side sea view, we booked dinner bed and breakfast. The room was very clean although quite small and overlooked Dukes restaurant which did get a bit noisy (Sat night party goers) not sure there are many police in Sidmouth! We were unable to secure a parking space(although we had requested one) so had to find a space on the road which was fine for us but more elderly may find that a challenge.The food was excellent with a varied menu each evening,you also kept the same table in the dinning room which was helpful.There was a lounge area with a bar but the seating needs updating as sofas not too comfortable.Overall we would visit again as hotel was quiet and relaxing.A good hotel which accommodates over 50"s quite well.

Room Tip: Phone and clarify room details as its hard to tell from internet photos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kath398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Just returned from a short break et the Elizabeth hotel in Sidmouth. A very enjoyable break, had a good sea view room, very comfortable beds, lovely pillows, spotlessly clean. Staff extreemly helpful,prepared to help with anything. Hotel generally may need a little update soon, especially it ajoins its sister hotel, which is bang up to date.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anthony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed in room 12, which has its own balcony and overlooks the sea - excellent! The room was large and comfortably furnished with the best shower I have ever had! but it is slightly dated, as is the hotel, but everywhere was extremely clean with very friendly staff. The dinner menu was uninspiring and adequately cooked but I did like the mushroom and blue cheese starter.

Their sister hotel, next door, has been given an uplift and looks more refreshing than the Elizabeth and if I did return to Sidmouth, I would consider staying there but if they were fully booked, I would re-stay at the Elizabeth but maybe try one of the restaurants in town for my evening meal.

Overall, a good stay.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for rooms at the front of the hotel, as back bedrooms overlook a very full car park an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phillip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dukessidmouth, General Manager at Hotel Elizabeth, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Thank you post a review on trip advisor - you can't beat the view onto the beach from Room 12.

We were very disapointed by your review that the hotel is dated, as a small family run hotel, we refurbish a number of bedrooms on a rolling programme every winter. All ground floor areas including the lounge, dining room and reception area have all been refurbished within the last 18 months.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and are pleased that you would come back and stay with us again or at our sister hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
476 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel
#8 of 13 in Sidmouth
921 reviews
0 mi away
The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
584 reviews
0.3 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
1,000 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal York & Faulkner Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elizabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elizabeth

Address: The Esplanade, Sidmouth EX10 8AT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sidmouth
#8 Family Hotel in Sidmouth
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sidmouth
Price Range: $156 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Elizabeth 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Elizabeth is in an unsurpassed position at the centre of the Esplanade in the beautiful regency town of Sidmouth. All of our bedrooms offer stunning views over Lyme Bay and the red sandstone cliffs of the World Heritage Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Elizabeth Sidmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing