We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing break”
Review of Hotel Elizabeth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Elizabeth
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Sidmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2012

we had a couple of nights in a small second floor room with side sea view, we booked dinner bed and breakfast. The room was very clean although quite small and overlooked Dukes restaurant which did get a bit noisy (Sat night party goers) not sure there are many police in Sidmouth! We were unable to secure a parking space(although we had requested one) so had to find a space on the road which was fine for us but more elderly may find that a challenge.The food was excellent with a varied menu each evening,you also kept the same table in the dinning room which was helpful.There was a lounge area with a bar but the seating needs updating as sofas not too comfortable.Overall we would visit again as hotel was quiet and relaxing.A good hotel which accommodates over 50"s quite well.

Room Tip: Phone and clarify room details as its hard to tell from internet photos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kath398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 181 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2012

Just returned from a short break et the Elizabeth hotel in Sidmouth. A very enjoyable break, had a good sea view room, very comfortable beds, lovely pillows, spotlessly clean. Staff extreemly helpful,prepared to help with anything. Hotel generally may need a little update soon, especially it ajoins its sister hotel, which is bang up to date.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anthony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed in room 12, which has its own balcony and overlooks the sea - excellent! The room was large and comfortably furnished with the best shower I have ever had! but it is slightly dated, as is the hotel, but everywhere was extremely clean with very friendly staff. The dinner menu was uninspiring and adequately cooked but I did like the mushroom and blue cheese starter.

Their sister hotel, next door, has been given an uplift and looks more refreshing than the Elizabeth and if I did return to Sidmouth, I would consider staying there but if they were fully booked, I would re-stay at the Elizabeth but maybe try one of the restaurants in town for my evening meal.

Overall, a good stay.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for rooms at the front of the hotel, as back bedrooms overlook a very full car park an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phillip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dukessidmouth, General Manager at Hotel Elizabeth, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Thank you post a review on trip advisor - you can't beat the view onto the beach from Room 12.

We were very disapointed by your review that the hotel is dated, as a small family run hotel, we refurbish a number of bedrooms on a rolling programme every winter. All ground floor areas including the lounge, dining room and reception area have all been refurbished within the last 18 months.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and are pleased that you would come back and stay with us again or at our sister hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Our second holiday at Hotel Elizabeth. Wonderful staff, delicious food. We stayed in room 26, large room with balcony overlooking sea. Spotlessly clean and comfy beds. So relaxing. Staff can't do enough for guests. We had pre-booked a parking space too, which was free. This is a quiet hotel-no bingo or entertainment- and that's how we like it. Sidmouth is a lovely town-nice individual shops and no yobs.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lotwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Last minute booking for one night bed and breakfast. Prime location on sea front. Parking arranged at rear of hotel. The best full English breakfast we have had for some time. Staff could not be more helpful and welcoming.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Philip P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

comfortable clean room with side sea view very good breakfast served by friendly staff reception and porter couldnt have been more helpful
bar area limited for my taste with no seperate area for families with children The dining room a bit dated and regimented
Parking on road which is always difficult

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Norma J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

It is a while since we spent summer at the seaside but we thoroughly enjoyed our time here. The hotel has an old fashioned charm with cosy chairs, simple but well-cooked food with the hottest freshly cooked breakfast served by friendly waiters( a real delight after too many luke- warm, sitting- in- grease buffet breakfasts). Our room was very clean and spacious with a fantastic sea view from our little balcony. The decor is a little dated but it had everything you could want, including plenty of coathangers(another bete-noire), safe, tea and coffee making. The lift worked but was a bit old and cranky but we were happy to take the stairs to work off our four course dinner! There were a mixture of ages staying but quite a few elderly folk. I can understand why they return as it must be like a home from home with the friendly staff.
The end of our stay coincided with the Sidmouth festival when the town came to life with music in pubs and Morris dancers and special events in the large marquee. We really enjoyed some of these but if you want a quieter time you would do best to avoid this week. We also went to see a play by the rep company at the Pavilion theatre, enjoyed two good lunches at The Pea Green Boat and a walk and cups of tea at the Connaught gardens. I think we're converted and will probably return next year as we Ran out of time to see everything which was on offer in the area.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a seaview. Avoid being near the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SurreyGibby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
0.0 mi away
The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel
0.3 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - T
0.2 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
963 reviews
0.3 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
469 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#5 of 13 in Sidmouth
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elizabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elizabeth

Address: The Esplanade, Sidmouth EX10 8AT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sidmouth
#8 Family Hotel in Sidmouth
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sidmouth
Price Range: $153 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Elizabeth 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Elizabeth is in an unsurpassed position at the centre of the Esplanade in the beautiful regency town of Sidmouth. All of our bedrooms offer stunning views over Lyme Bay and the red sandstone cliffs of the World Heritage Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Elizabeth Sidmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing