We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sidmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cheriton Guest House
Ranked #6 of 33 Sidmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 12, 2013

This is my third visit to the Cheriton Guest House. It is like staying with friends! Stan and Julian always welcoming and have a good sense of humour. Lovely breakfasts and lovely evening meals if it is a celebration. Comfortable rooms and close to a park and Sidmouth shops and other amenities.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pollyBridgwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
There are newer reviews for Cheriton Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 162 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

We Stayed at the Cheriton Guest House in Sidmouth for four nights over May Bank Holiday 2013,it really is a fantastic place to stop.

We were made very welcome from the moment we arrived by Julian and Stan,the standard of the decor is classy but very warm with great attention to detail.

Our room was spot on with a balcony which was a great place for a glass of Red wine,the garden is stunning and is a very relaxing place to sit, listening to the river which runs right at the bottom.

The breakfasts are faultless from a traditional English or Haddock/Salmon all top quality ingrediants and cooked to perfection.

We cannot fault the Cheriton Guest house,it really is the perfect place to stay in Sidmouth.......

Thanks very much and we are already looking forward to our next visit.

Neil & Louise

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeilLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheritononline, Owner at Cheriton Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Thanks and we look forward to you returning in the future. It was great to see you chilling out with a beer in the garden following a good day of walking. Always a pleasure to see guests using and enjoying the facilities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

15 friends got together for a 60th birthday celebration and the Cheriton Guest House proved to be just the perfect place! The weather was kind too! We had a superb room overlooking the River Sid, our host Stan and Julian could not have done any more to ensure everything went well! Canape and champagne in the beautiful garden on our first evening followed by a splendid meal created by Stan and served by Julian and Sue with great aplomb! Breakfasts were so good throughout our stay that we could do away with lunch!
Facilities were all we needed - refurbished bathroom and bedroom - and the communal areas were so welcoming. Stand and Julian encouraged us to enjoy all the House had to offer. Within easy walking distance of the lovely seaside town of Sidmouth. One to be re-visited, soon!

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 3 have nice balconies and overlook the Lawns and the River Sid
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alwaysablade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

This is a truely perfect Guest House to stay in while in Sidmouth!! Stan and Julian really know how to look after you - we were made to feel extremely welcomed in to their home..The decor is refreshingly bright and cheery - with a big living room at the front with comfortable seating, where we were offered teas and coffees - even my parents were made to feel very welcome and they were staying in the Guest House next door!! Our twin room was lovely and spacious - spotlessly clean and again nice and bright..TV - Tea n Coffee facilities - better than some expensive hotels I have stayed in...beds were extremely comfortable too...we were given a room/front door key - there are no rules about when you come in, or when they lock up, you feel like you are at home...the breakfasts are brill - they are served piping hot and are very very tasty. The Cheriton is about a 7/8 min walk in to Sidmouth and the beach..Sidmouth is lovely - very quaint and unspoiled..you wont find amusement arcades - but you will get a great Devon Pasty and Devon Cream Tea!!! If you are looking for a friendly Guest House with excellent hosts that is spotlessly clean and a breakfast menu that has all you need then you should stay here...

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 4 - which is at the front of the house - its a twin but a good sized twin with sho...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NavyBoyMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheritononline, Owner at Cheriton Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Excellent, many thanks and so pleased that you had a pleasant experience here whilst enjoying what was obviously a great weekend of family celebration I Sidmouth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

A couple of friends and I stayed at the Cheriton Guest House as part of our cycle ride across Devon and after a hard day's cycling, we found the perfect guesthouse to rest our weary limbs. Stan and Julian were most welcoming and made us a welcome pot of tea after Stan had shown us where to lock our bikes up. We were given a very helpful rundown of the local amenities and where to eat and where to avoid!
The bedrooms were very comfortable and impeccably clean, as was the dining and reception rooms with Stan and Julian displaying their arty touches and bringing the whole house together.
The breakfasts were great (I had the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, Stu had the smoked haddock and poached eggs whilst Simon was still cycling up a hill and joined us later)
Stan and Julian really have gone to great lengths to make this B&B a welcoming, relaxing and stylish venue and I would recommend this to everyone!
Thanks Stan and Julian!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KieronJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheritononline, Owner at Cheriton Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Many thanks for your kind comments, so glad we were able to provide a comfortable stay following a hard days cycling. Hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We found the Cheriton whilst looking for, acquiring and refurbishing a nearby apartment. Suffice it to say the warm welcome and helpfulness of the owners, very good facilities and excellent location to town and sea front made this a regular stop before we had access to our own apartment and Cheriton is an oft recommended destination!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stan and Julian could not have been more accomodating, we were greeted, shown to our room and offered a pot of tea in the lounge. We were going to a wedding and as it was raining Stan drove us down to the venue.
The room was of a high standard and very comfortable. The breakfast was beautiful we could not of asked for anymore.H

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
0.4 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
464 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hunters Moon Hotel
Hunters Moon Hotel
#4 of 13 in Sidmouth
194 reviews
0.7 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
547 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - T
0.1 mi away
Lynstead House
Lynstead House
#1 of 33 in Sidmouth
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheriton Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheriton Guest House

Address: Cheriton Guest House Vicarage Road | Vicarage Road, Sidmouth EX10 8UQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Sidmouth
Price Range: $51 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A contemporary, welcoming guest house in the unspoiled seaside town of Sidmouth, The Cheriton offers comfortable en-suite accommodation to suit all and a modern café styled lounge, ideal for relaxing and meeting friends. The Cheriton has a lovely riverside garden with a variety of facilities and social spaces which guests are encouraged to use and enjoy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cheriton Guest House Sidmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing