We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful hosts and comfortable accommodation.”
Review of Canterbury House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sidmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Canterbury House
Ranked #6 of 33 Sidmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 6, 2010

Our adult family group stayed two nights and really enjoyed our time there. Location near the town was convenient, our rooms were fine and we made good use of the comfortable resident lounge for family meetings. Marc and Jan were very helpful over the dietary needs of one of our party and our request for an early breakfast - which was excellent. Given the location we initially were concerned about parking but in fact it worked well.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fergus_sp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 148 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2010

We stayed here from the 9th-12th August. You could not meet a nicer couple in Marc & Jan, nothing was too much trouble fantastic breakfast and the best b & b we have ever stayed in. Rooms spacious and spotlessly clean, biscuits,tea,coffee & even hot chocolate fantastic. Shower facilities and bathrooms excellent with your own supply of cotton buds & cotton wool(never seen that before and a nice touch). Fantastic location and within 5 minutes walk to the twon & sea front. To say they have only been doing this for 2 years with a total career change you would think they have done this sort of business all of their lives. Well done thanks for your understanding relating to my Dad and will see you next year.

Steve,Debbie,Lauren,Charlotte & Jan.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevefoster1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2010

My partner and I have just spent a most agreeable weekend in Sidmouth, staying at the Canterbury House B & B, which is very well located both for the town centre and the sea front. Marc and Jan made us feel most welcome and our room was clean yet cosy, with an excellent shower , good lighting and a very comfortable bed. The breakfast was superb, and a number of special touches, such as the provision of biscuits in the room (as well as various teas, coffee and hot chocolate) added to our enjoyment. Really, it is hard to find any fault at all !!

David & Jo from Cheltenham

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2010

The Canterbury house hotel is situated within walking distance of the town and is close to the Byes (small park) where you can have a pleasant walk alongside the stream or watch the world go by. We were only staying for one night and had a double/en suite on the ground floor on the front of the hotel. It was perfectly adequate for 1 night but I would probably prefer a larger room at the back if I were staying longer. I was worried I might be kept awake by traffic noise or passers by but it was pretty quiet. The en suite looked fairly new and had a good shower. I thought there was a bit of a strange smell in the en suite (like drains) but my husband didn't notice it. There was a good selection of cereals, juice, yoghurt, and fruit in the morning and we also had a lovely cooked breakfast. The hosts were friendly. There was some parking space at the side of the hotel.

Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
2  Thank amh59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2009

Wife, daughter (aged 8) and i stayed for 3 days end of May 2009. We booked the family room which worked well and was plenty big enough. Room and facilities were as described on the B&B website

Everything was spotless, tidy, in good condition and well kept. Good selection at breakfast that would cater for all tastes. My daughter was especially thrilled when the owners had chocolate doughnuts for her breakfast on the 3 rd morning after finding out what she likes to eat.

Only 5 / 10 minute walk to the town and sea front.

Parking was fine with room for 3 / 4 cars on premises plus street parking. They do ask that you leave the car keys in your room if you are away so they can juggle the cars if someone is blocked in on the drive and wants to leave.

Peaceful location, did not hear hardly any noise other than the stream and small waterfall behind the house which was very soothing.

We would happily stay again and have no hesitations in recommending this B&B

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barryh8138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2009

This B&B is situated (only) just away from the the centre of town in a quiet street, not counting some intoxicated songsters early one morning. The room was comfortable enough, my feet stuck out of the end of the bed, but they often do, although I'm not that tall. The bathroom was compact and bijou, don't bring a cat. There is parking off road that is managed well by the owner, but you must leave the car keys where he can get them. You could do a lot worse than having an evening meal at the B&B, but it needs booking before, which is not unreasonable. Ours was very good, as were the breakfasts, which weren't very quick, but then we weren't in a hurry. The hot water for all the second showers one morning did give up abruptly. Hopefully this was an isolated blip.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tilt-scale-gyro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2009

From our initial enquiry, through to the end of our stay, Marc and Jan at Canterbury House, could not have been more helpful and friendly. Nothing was a problem and any queries - of which I had a few - were greeted with a cheerful response. The B&B is in an excellent location in Sidmouth and was furnished nicely, with lots of personal touches, such as magazines and town guides in the rooms. Canterbury House was spotlessly clean and comfortable. Very relaxed atmosphere with lounge on the ground floor for those who have small children. Breakfast was generous. Would not stay anywhere else in Sidmouth.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CrownAtWells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
0.4 mi away
The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel
0.5 mi away
Royal Glen Hotel
Royal Glen Hotel
#13 of 13 in Sidmouth
142 reviews
0.3 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Groveside Guest House
The Groveside Guest House
#10 of 33 in Sidmouth
238 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cheriton Guest House
Cheriton Guest House
#7 of 33 in Sidmouth
164 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lynstead House
Lynstead House
#1 of 33 in Sidmouth
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canterbury House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canterbury House

Address: Canterbury House Salcombe Road, Sidmouth EX10 8PR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Sidmouth
Hotel Class:4 star — Canterbury House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Canterbury House Sidmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing