We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch Accommodation, Great Breakfast!!!”
Review of Canterbury House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sidmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Canterbury House
Ranked #4 of 33 Sidmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Traveling around Somerset, Devon & Cornwall with another couple and came across this B & B, what an amazing find. Very friendly welcome from Mark who opened the door to two women looking for one nights accommodation. Exceptionally clean and nicely decorated rooms, updated bathrooms, quiet location but within walking distance to restaurants. Mark gave us all the information we needed. Fantastic breakfast and coffee served by Mark & Jan. It is apparent these 2 love what they do. If you are visiting Sidmouth, stay here! Have no hesitation recommending this accommodation.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lynks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
There are newer reviews for Canterbury House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 146 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2012

Just arrived home from a weekend break in Sidmouth. Couldn't have done better than Canterbury House. Everything was perfect. Marc and Jane were so welcoming, great room and excellent breakfast. Sidmouth was a good choice. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Liz and Daryll W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Used this b&B to cover "OVERFLOW" at our Sidmouth home for family and friends coming to my 70th birthday celebrations - was a great choice - all were very pleased with rooms service and breakfast was first class

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms available
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Grmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

We visited Sidmouth for a February wedding and stayed with Marc and Jan for a couple of nights. They were extremely welcoming and the accommodation was lovely. They've clearly been doing a lot of work on updating the house and guest accommodation in the four years they've been there and the decoration was fresh, tasteful and 'just right'. The room was well heated and the breakfast was superb. What more can I say?- oh yes, it is perfectly positioned a short walk from the main promenade!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pigeonnerie-B_and_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2011

We booked a last minute stay at Canterbury House when the weather forecast Hot, Hot, Hot at the end of September/beginning of October! We had a really warm welcome from Marc & he explained the room & gave us some recommendations of places to eat on the evening. We ate in The Anchor Inn which was superb & we would recommend there too! The hotel & room was spotless, couldn't be faulted & I have a bit of an OCD when it comes to cleanliness! The room was quiet & the bed was comfortable. Breakfast was superb & Marc & Jan couldn't have been more accommodating. Really enjoyed our stay & wanted to stay longer really so will def be booking again & recommending to friends & family. Thank You again & sorry for the late review!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShezzaHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

We stumbled upon this b&b after deciding at the last minute to stay overnight in Sidmouth. The owners were really welcoming and the room was lovely. We didn't know the area but we were provided with lots of helpful info. We would definitely recommend Canterbury house to others.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PJ26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

Just arrived back from a one night stay at the Canterbury House, Sidmouth. Mum and I received a really warm welcome from the owners . The room and en suite were deorated nicely and was absolutely spotless. Fab breakfast including a veggie option. Nice location , just a few minutes stroll to the sea front and shops and restaurants. I only booked for one night before attending a family wedding in Devon. I will certainly be making a return visit. Suitable for anyone wanting a quiet break and not for any young hell raisers.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Happyday72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
464 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hunters Moon Hotel
Hunters Moon Hotel
#4 of 13 in Sidmouth
194 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Elizabeth
Hotel Elizabeth
#7 of 13 in Sidmouth
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel
0.0 mi away
Mount Pleasant Hotel
Mount Pleasant Hotel
#11 of 13 in Sidmouth
77 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dukes
Dukes
#5 of 33 in Sidmouth
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canterbury House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canterbury House

Address: Canterbury House Salcombe Road, Sidmouth EX10 8PR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Sidmouth
Hotel Class:4 star — Canterbury House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Canterbury House Sidmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing