We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Autumn Break”
Review of The Bedford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Bedford Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Sidmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Swindon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent Autumn Break”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Booked the Autumn break deal bed breakfast and evening dinner and had a wonderful stay our room was lovely and spotlessly clean we had a double aspect sea view. Breakfast was very good with lots of choice and the four course evening dinner was excellent and each evening the soup course had a little twist in presentation which was really nice and everything was cooked to perfection. Andrew our waiter was very attentive and made us feel special, in fact all of the staff were friendly and attentive I would recommend this hotel to all my friends. The hotel is located close to Sidmouth town centre which has a nice selection of shops ,cafes and pubs and is ideal for a quiet break. Mike & Anita Shears

Room Tip: Room 29 has a double aspect and balcony with sea view.
See more room tips
Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    116
    20
    12
    6
See reviews for
82
186
31
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Great Torrington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 4, 2013

My sister and wanted to give mum a special 80th birthday present and as she loves the sea booked The Bedford. We had a fantastic stay, our rooms were next door, were beautifully decorated and had balconies. The staff were extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble. We booked dinner, bed and breakfast - the food was excellent and piping hot. Would definitely recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pershore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Stayed for one night but very clean tidy and good service. Perfect location right by sea. Breakfast hot and tasty with any extras available. Would Stay again no problem. Paid £106 but we'll worth it for a Saturday night. Sidmouth is busy and plenty of bars and places to eat

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tim s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We visited the Bedford a weekend or so ago and would recommend it to those looking for central, sea-front accommodation in Sidmouth.

The whole place was clean and tidy, some area maybe in need of modernization if that your thing, but totally satisfactory in our opinion.

We had breakfast in the Hotel restaurant, which was good quality and plentiful, with cold buffet and choice of cooked to follow.

For our evening meal we ate in Pynes Restaurant, which is part of the Hotel and there is a separate review for that.

The staff were top notch, friendly, attentive, caring and seemed to enjoy their jobs :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianofsec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights. The room has a wonderful sea view. The room is lovely - and very clean. The bed is comfy and the is some nice soap and shampoo ready for showering.
Breakfast was gorgeous and I was pleased to see, opened at 8 even though the book in the room said 8.30.
Thoroughly recommend it. Only drawback is a very small car park so you might find yourself driving round the town a bit.
Just across the road from the beach. Ace.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank jonasmallwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed for one night. Room was as described. Double aspect sea view, very nice. It was clean and had everything required and working.
The staff were excellent. They were attentive and cheerful and went the extra mile to make us feel welcome and like honoured guests.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LucyLuci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiverton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I stayed for 5 nights and would recommend this hotel to anyone. the staff were welcoming, food excellent, a real treat. Being on the sea front with a full sea view was ideal for me as I tire easily but like to spend as much time outside as possible but even when inside I felt I was 'outside'. I don't have my own transport but there is still plenty to do and access to public transport is good. The room was clean and comfortable. Nothing was too much trouble, seems to be the spirit of the staff. Thank you to all. P.S have booked again.

Room Tip: Just ring and ask, the staff will help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
512 reviews
0.3 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
433 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
840 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel
0.1 mi away
Royal York & Faulkner Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bedford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bedford Hotel

Property: The Bedford Hotel
Address: The Esplanade, Sidmouth EX10 8NR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sidmouth
#4 Family Hotel in Sidmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bedford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Grade II* listed building The Bedford Hotel is a 3*** hotel run by the Pyne Family. Located at the heart of Sidmouth seafront means many rooms boast breathtaking views of Lyme Bay. All rooms are individually furnished, have flat screen televisions and en suite facilities. There is lift access to both floors. The hotel also has comfortable lounges and offers a wide selection of good food and wine in a choice of attractive surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Bedford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bedford Hotel Sidmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing