We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lancercombe Farm - WOW !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lancercombe Farm - Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #21 of 33 Sidmouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 26, 2010

Having just returned from Lancercombe Farm we can't recommend it too highly and we will definitely return ! Nicole and Simon are charming and welcoming hosts who go out of their way to make their guests feel relaxed and comfortable. Their beautifully and sympathetically restored Georgian farmhouse has a dedicated guest sitting room, dining room, comfortable bedrooms and immaculate en suites - add to this a delicious breakfast made from produce from the farm and you have everything you need for an enjoyable stay. You might like to try meal at the Golden Lion or the Jack on the Green whilst you are there. Book early, with only two rooms you don't want to be disappointed !

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank penny1161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 61 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2010

To say it's a 'working farm' might give the wrong impression - it's idyllic and quiet. A lovely room with double aspect, very comfortable bed and sheets, and a great view over the garden. Excellent breakfast. We were made to feel very welcome. No chintz. You'd need to drive to nearby Sidmouth or Honiton, or walk along the river to The Golden Lion at Tipton St John for good dinner.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LGaryThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2010

Having not stayed in a B & B (we usually "do" hotels) it was with some trepidation that we booked 3 nights at Lancercombe Farm (based solely on previous reviews)!

This has got to be one of the most welcoming establishments we have stayed in. A Georgian/Victorian farmhouse that has been sympathetically restored and to a very high standard. We were welcomed with tea and homemade cake. Our room was bright and fresh with a good en-suite shower room with a very nice added touch of Spa Sanctuary accessories.

The breakfast was brilliant - very fresh and local fruit salad, a full English with fresh eggs from the free range chickens, sausage and bacon from the free roaming pigs accompanied by toast made from home made bread! Tea and coffee were plentiful as were the fruit juices.

Our only disappointment was that we had to leave on Sunday - but not until Simon had given us a tour of the farm!

Nicola and Simon are very welcoming guests and nothing is too much trouble. We will return!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrickydickyNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2010

Highly recommend Lancercombe Farm for a relaxing break in Devon, we have already booked for another weekend.
Nicola and Simon are most welcoming and relaxed hosts, providing tea and cake in the guest sitting room on arrival.
We stayed in the king size room, which is most spacious with an en-suite shower room. The decor and furnishings are high quality and the bed is very comfortable - the peace and quiet is priceless. We were fortunate to have the guest sitting room with a lovely wood burner to ourselves.
Breakfast is a real treat with local produce and Lancercombe Farm eggs, sausage and apple juice. We loved the sausage so much we purchased half a pig for the freezer.
For dinner, highly recommend La Petite Maison in Topsham - well worth the 30 minute drive www.lapetitemaison.co.uk

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnmoreRV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2009

We had a wonderful stay at Lancercombe Farm. Nicola was hospitable and provided us with everything we needed - even tea and carrot cake on arrival! Breakfast was tasty and locally sourced. It was a totally relaxing stay and we had the run of the whole B&B house to ourselves - separate dining room and lounge (where we watched a DVD). The place is stunning - achieved over a 5 year renovation plan (take a look at the photos album of then and now. The horses and farm cats were lovely too! We bought some freshly laid eggs and Lancercombe Farm Apple Juice from Nicola too. When we next feel an urge to get away from it all, we'll definitely be back to this amazing rural retreat.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nkhan08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2009

Have just returned from Lancercombe and can't praise it enough. Look no further if your idea of being away is calm and peaceful but within range of the sea. About 4 miles outside Sidmouth in the middle of beautiful Devon countryside. Great Full English breakfast with eggs straight from their farm. Family run farm house which has been refurbished from derelict in the last 5 years. Very clean and tidy. Good advice on where to go and what to do. The local pub at Tipton is a short walk across the fields. Two bedrooms only. One king size and one double. My only disappointment (as a single traveller) is that there is not a twin option. I have friends and family who I go away with and we are happy (on economic grounds) to share a twin room. so we would be unable to go together unless we paid for both rooms.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarrobinWarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2009

We stayed there only for one night on the way to our Devon / Cornwall holidays, yet we wished we would have booked all our holidays there. The B&B is just perfect; the rooms very cosy, the guests even get their proper living room with a fireplace!!! Not to mention the welcoming tea and cake and the breakfasts which are a really treat. Perfect hosts, wonderful place, highly recommendable to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woody-mp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
2.8 mi away
Sid Valley Country Hotel
3.1 mi away
Buckley Farmhouse
Buckley Farmhouse
#1 of 4 in Sidbury
88 reviews
3.8 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel
#8 of 13 in Sidmouth
921 reviews
3.6 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
476 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancercombe Farm - Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancercombe Farm - Bed & Breakfast

Address: Lancercombe Farm Tipton ST, Sidmouth EX10 0JX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Sidmouth
Price Range: $60 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lancercombe is a small, family farm offering superb Bed & Breakfast accommodation. Nestled in the Otter Valley near Tipton St John, our B&B is in an idyllic countryside location, between the historic market town of Ottery St Mary and the Regency resort of Sidmouth. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lancercombe Farm - Bed & Breakfast Sidmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing