We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location for exploration and relaxation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lancercombe Farm - Bed & Breakfast

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Lancercombe Farm - Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #17 of 33 Sidmouth B&B and Inns
Shropshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect location for exploration and relaxation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed for two nights at Lancercombe Farm at the end of a short break to Devon and Cornwall.Nicola and Simon are very welcoming and helpful hosts.The location is ideal being tucked away in a very tranquil spot but not far from the main roads which makes exploration of the surrounding area very straightforward. The accommodation is of a very high standard and our room was very light and spacious with lovely views of both the garden and the courtyard.We ate at The Golden Lion on both evenings where the food is delicious and the staff very friendly.On the second evening we walked to the Golden Lion -only a short stroll along the riverside path-recommended as the perfect end to a busy day.We also spent a most enjoyable day around Lyme Regis,exploring the coastline and meandering round the interesting galleries and gardens.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
47
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Highclere
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

We have just had a week end break at Lancercombe Farm B & B. It had been recommended and we cannot speak highly enough of the hospitality you get from Nicola & Simon, tea and homemade cake on arrival “yummy”. Breakfast is the best cooked and it is all home produce, We have booked again for later on in the season we have left feeling we have a new friends in Lancercombe Farm.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2011

I stayed at Lancercombe Farm a few years ago and decided I needed a break from city life in London so I knew just where to go for the perfect getaway... Lancercombe Farm of couse. I expected it to look slightly more worn than my previoius visit but it wasn't; it was still as perfect as I had remembered.

Nicola is a fantasic host and makes you feel very welcome from the moment you arrive... it was nice to see the cake and pot of tea again (sometimes you find that standards slip when places get great reviews on Tripadvisor, but not this place!) The bedroom was beautifully presented, the bathroom was spotless, the towels were big and soft, the shower... well, it is the best shower in the world... don't go in there if you are in a rush to get out as you will always spend longer than anticipated, it is just so hard to drag yourself out of the shower!

The breakfasts are great.. they look small but oddly keep you nicely filled up for a good few hours! The eggs (Ben's egg) are yummy and you can buy some to take home with you which is always a bonus!

This place is just perfect... the only thing I dislike is actually having to leave! I would thoroughly recommend you stay here if you can, it is bliss! :)

Room Tip: There are only two rooms and both are beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank themoonlightraver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2011

We stayed two nights at Lancercombe Farm at the start of our October half term. The reviews on TripAdvisor pointed us in that direction and it certainly lived up to its reputation!
Although it's close to the main road it is completely quiet...no road noise.
Simon and Nicola have transformed the farm very sympathetically....the cars are parked in a courtyard with stables around it...from there in to the B&B part of the farm.
Nicola is a delightful host - tea and a cake on arrival - it's a small B&B, only 2 rooms - we had the room with the Kingsize bed....very comfortable. There's a large guest lounge with a woodburner and two good sized sofas. Berdrooms are decent size with a plush en-suite.
Nicola's breakfast will certainly fuel you up at the start of the day - she also sells eggs, fresh from the farm.
We visited Sidmouth on the Sunday of our arrival - this was our first time in Sidmouth - and we were pleasantly impressed.....good long esplanade leading to the lovely Connaught Gardens ( a very good touring band from Bracknell was playing in the grounds) and Jacob's Ladder going down to the prom.
Apparently the well-off classes came to Sidmouth during the Napoleonic War when their European haunts were not available and Sidmouth has retained that touch of elegant grandeur.
Heavy rain the next day sent us along the coast to a drier Dorchester to view the special Egyptian display - with genuine ancient artefacts - in the Town Museum (not the Tutankhamun Museum which is all replicas).....came back thrugh Beer, but by now the rain had caught up with us...so it was back to Lancercombe Farm, stopping at The Bowd for a bite to eat - OK but nothing special - then to relax with the wood burner....the sofas and a bottle of red wine.
Next day started gloriously sunny...so after saying farewell to Nicola we headed off for Lyme Regis - only 35 mins away - one of our favourite Dorset spots....stroll along the Cobb in bright sunshine...another well set out promenade. One of the beach side food huts has a recommendation for its fish and chips from a famous chef.
Then on to Seaton (first time for us) and a trip on the Seaton Tramway...it goes every half an hour from Seaton Harbour Road - when we were there, they ran special Halloween trams. The journey on the tram (which obviously runs on rails!) takes you on a 25 min scenic route along the Axe Estuary...lots of wildlife to see, ending at Colyton Station for a 30 min stopover. Time for a cup of tea and a piece of their sumptuous cake before making the return trip to Seaton.
Seaton front has a very long shingle/pebble beach and the whole front was rather low key.
After that, back home to Ross - only just over 2 hours by car, so the whole trip is very convenient for a long week end away and you could not wish for a better base to travel from than Lancercombe Farm!!!

Room Tip: The King-sized bed room was extremely comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RonJulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury,Berks
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

Have just returned from a 3 night break, Lovely room, nice linen and towels. Great breakfast cooked by Nicola. Lovely tea and homemade cake on arrival. Great location can't recommend it enough. Also, great local pub nearby 'The Red Lion'.

Nina & Terry Kay - Newbury. Berks.

Room Tip: Only two rooms but both are to a high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

The house and location is every bit as idyllic as the photo suggests on their website.

We were lucky enough to be the only guests so we got the guest lounge and dining room all to ourselves. But it would be an excellent place for 2 couples as you could have the whole place to yourself.

It was both friendly and accommodating - just the right amount of chatter at breakfast. And what a breakfast, they really were the best sausages (from the farm's pigs) I can remember eating. And the farm produce doesn't stop there with their apple juice, eggs and home made preserves.....the list goes on depending on the seasons.

Definitely one of the best B&B's I've stayed in - thankyou!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stina_on_her_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

A great little place to stay,fantastic location, great food,lovely host every thing you could ever want from a b&b welcomed with a lovely cup of tea and homemade cake out in the fantasic front garden, room was large with very high standard of cleanliness. In short stay there if you can what a gem.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bergbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
3.7 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
3.9 mi away
Royal York & Faulkner Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Salty Monk
Salty Monk
#11 of 33 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
3.5 mi away
Lynstead House
Lynstead House
#1 of 33 in Sidmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.0 mi away
Farmhouse Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancercombe Farm - Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancercombe Farm - Bed & Breakfast

Property: Lancercombe Farm - Bed & Breakfast
Address: Lancercombe Farm Tipton ST, Sidmouth EX10 0JX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Sidmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lancercombe is a small, family farm offering superb Bed & Breakfast accommodation. Nestled in the Otter Valley near Tipton St John, our B&B is in an idyllic countryside location, between the historic market town of Ottery St Mary and the Regency resort of Sidmouth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lancercombe Farm - Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancercombe Farm - Bed & Breakfast Sidmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing