We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very relaxing B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lancercombe Farm - Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #21 of 33 Sidmouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 26, 2011

We stayed two nights at Lancercombe Farm at the start of our October half term. The reviews on TripAdvisor pointed us in that direction and it certainly lived up to its reputation!
Although it's close to the main road it is completely quiet...no road noise.
Simon and Nicola have transformed the farm very sympathetically....the cars are parked in a courtyard with stables around it...from there in to the B&B part of the farm.
Nicola is a delightful host - tea and a cake on arrival - it's a small B&B, only 2 rooms - we had the room with the Kingsize bed....very comfortable. There's a large guest lounge with a woodburner and two good sized sofas. Berdrooms are decent size with a plush en-suite.
Nicola's breakfast will certainly fuel you up at the start of the day - she also sells eggs, fresh from the farm.
We visited Sidmouth on the Sunday of our arrival - this was our first time in Sidmouth - and we were pleasantly impressed.....good long esplanade leading to the lovely Connaught Gardens ( a very good touring band from Bracknell was playing in the grounds) and Jacob's Ladder going down to the prom.
Apparently the well-off classes came to Sidmouth during the Napoleonic War when their European haunts were not available and Sidmouth has retained that touch of elegant grandeur.
Heavy rain the next day sent us along the coast to a drier Dorchester to view the special Egyptian display - with genuine ancient artefacts - in the Town Museum (not the Tutankhamun Museum which is all replicas).....came back thrugh Beer, but by now the rain had caught up with us...so it was back to Lancercombe Farm, stopping at The Bowd for a bite to eat - OK but nothing special - then to relax with the wood burner....the sofas and a bottle of red wine.
Next day started gloriously sunny...so after saying farewell to Nicola we headed off for Lyme Regis - only 35 mins away - one of our favourite Dorset spots....stroll along the Cobb in bright sunshine...another well set out promenade. One of the beach side food huts has a recommendation for its fish and chips from a famous chef.
Then on to Seaton (first time for us) and a trip on the Seaton Tramway...it goes every half an hour from Seaton Harbour Road - when we were there, they ran special Halloween trams. The journey on the tram (which obviously runs on rails!) takes you on a 25 min scenic route along the Axe Estuary...lots of wildlife to see, ending at Colyton Station for a 30 min stopover. Time for a cup of tea and a piece of their sumptuous cake before making the return trip to Seaton.
Seaton front has a very long shingle/pebble beach and the whole front was rather low key.
After that, back home to Ross - only just over 2 hours by car, so the whole trip is very convenient for a long week end away and you could not wish for a better base to travel from than Lancercombe Farm!!!

Room Tip: The King-sized bed room was extremely comfortable!
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RonJulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
There are newer reviews for Lancercombe Farm - Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 61 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2011

Have just returned from a 3 night break, Lovely room, nice linen and towels. Great breakfast cooked by Nicola. Lovely tea and homemade cake on arrival. Great location can't recommend it enough. Also, great local pub nearby 'The Red Lion'.

Nina & Terry Kay - Newbury. Berks.

Room Tip: Only two rooms but both are to a high standard.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

The house and location is every bit as idyllic as the photo suggests on their website.

We were lucky enough to be the only guests so we got the guest lounge and dining room all to ourselves. But it would be an excellent place for 2 couples as you could have the whole place to yourself.

It was both friendly and accommodating - just the right amount of chatter at breakfast. And what a breakfast, they really were the best sausages (from the farm's pigs) I can remember eating. And the farm produce doesn't stop there with their apple juice, eggs and home made preserves.....the list goes on depending on the seasons.

Definitely one of the best B&B's I've stayed in - thankyou!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stina_on_her_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

A great little place to stay,fantastic location, great food,lovely host every thing you could ever want from a b&b welcomed with a lovely cup of tea and homemade cake out in the fantasic front garden, room was large with very high standard of cleanliness. In short stay there if you can what a gem.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bergbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

We stayed at Lancercombe farm because it was so highly rated on tripadvisor, and we were not disappointed. We were greeted warmly by Nicola and Simon, and we were soon provided with a home-made Devon cream tea. Our room was spacious, comfortable, and tastefully decorated. We slept well, because the bed was extremely comfortable, and because Lancercombe Farm is set in a tranquil valley. The breakfasts were great, and nothing was too much trouble, even for the fussiest of eaters. We particularly appreciated the chopped fruit and yoghurt. We enjoy walking, and the B & B is well placed for country and coastal walking. We plan to return next year with friends.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twyningite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2011

My husband and I had a fantastic two nights' B&B here. Nicola's hospitality is excellent, providing little extras that make you feel pampered. Bed very comfortable - normally I can't sleep on the first night in a different bed, but no trouble here. Plenty of toiletries provided in the ensuite. Breakfasts beautifully presented using the farm's own produce where possible. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greenie056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

Excellant service, nothing too much trouble, very friendly & helpful.Wonderful farmhouse breakfast. Location very peacefu, pretty garden with great views. The bedroom was tastefully furnished with high quality bed linen.A nice touch was that we were offered a cup of tea & a slice of Nicola's homemade lemon drizzle cake on arrival.
We can't rate this B&B highly enough

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the King Size bed.
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charbex89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
3.8 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - T
3.6 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
464 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hunters Moon Hotel
Hunters Moon Hotel
#4 of 13 in Sidmouth
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#5 of 13 in Sidmouth
442 reviews
2.9 mi away
Farmhouse Cottage Bed and Breakfast
3.1 mi away
Buckley Farmhouse
Buckley Farmhouse
#1 of 4 in Sidbury
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancercombe Farm - Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancercombe Farm - Bed & Breakfast

Address: Lancercombe Farm Tipton ST, Sidmouth EX10 0JX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Sidmouth
Price Range: $61 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lancercombe is a small, family farm offering superb Bed & Breakfast accommodation. Nestled in the Otter Valley near Tipton St John, our B&B is in an idyllic countryside location, between the historic market town of Ottery St Mary and the Regency resort of Sidmouth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lancercombe Farm - Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancercombe Farm - Bed & Breakfast Sidmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing