We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely special dining experience”

Restaurant at The Salty Monk
Ranked #21 of 81 Restaurants in Sidmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $90
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Award winning boutique Restaurant with Rooms just outside Sidmouth in East Devon. 7 Ensuite Bedrooms, Spa, fitness room, Private Car park & award winning gardens. Restaurant with an A la Carte Menu made from a strong ethos to local produce
Reviewed July 26, 2014

We have eaten here three or four times now and love it. The food is delicious and the staff are very friendly and professional.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Carole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (213)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

135 - 139 of 213 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2014

We have visited this establishment quite a few times during both Winter and Summer. The lunchtime menu is always interesting, offering a selection of classic and unusual dishes at reasonable prices. Over the last couple of months we have been able to sit outside in the beautiful garden which has a pond and plenty of tables with sun umbrellas. The staff are courteous and helpful and the food has always been fantastic both in flavour and size of portion. There is plenty of parking and booking is probably advisable.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FairyorPixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6556, Owner at Restaurant at The Salty Monk, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2014

We are very glad that you enjoy coming to us loyal customer support is paramount to any business, maybe you would consider joining our mailing list so that we can send you special offers and events that we hold from time to time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We have stayed at the Salty Monk many times but never sampled one of their afternoon teas. We were in the area so decided to treat ourselves & we weren't disappointed. The sandwiches, cakes & scones were all excellent. It was a lovely day so we sat in the garden with our dogs who as usual were made very welcome.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Kay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6556, Owner at Restaurant at The Salty Monk, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2014

We are very glad that you enjoy coming to us loyal customer support is paramount to any business, maybe you would consider joining our mailing list so that we can send you special offers and events that we hold from time to time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

My son took us to the Salty Monk for afternoon tea, it was fantastic. Sandwiches, cakes, scones with jam and cream. Plenty of tea to drink. Can recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank tired27121938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6556, Owner at Restaurant at The Salty Monk, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2014

There is something quinessentially english about a lovely afternoon tea, we love making them so we are very happy that you enjoyed it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Great welcome by polite friendly and helpful young man who looked after us all night.We ate starters in beautiful garden and main in the trendy dining room.Meals were excellent many ingredients locally sourced,All of this added up to a wonderful evening.

Thank epocmot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6556, Owner at Restaurant at The Salty Monk, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2014

Thank you for your lovely review, Aaron, your waiter is always delighted to get good feedback as are all of our staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant at The Salty Monk also viewed

 
Sidmouth, Devon
 

Been to Restaurant at The Salty Monk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing