We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently Excellent”

Restaurant at The Salty Monk
Ranked #18 of 79 Restaurants in Sidmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $52
Cuisines: British, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Award winning boutique Restaurant with Rooms just outside Sidmouth in East Devon. 6 Ensuite Bedrooms, Spa, fitness room, Private Car park & award winning gardens. Restaurant with an A la Carte Menu made from a strong ethos to local produce
Devon
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Consistently Excellent”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

We have visited this establishment quite a few times during both Winter and Summer. The lunchtime menu is always interesting, offering a selection of classic and unusual dishes at reasonable prices. Over the last couple of months we have been able to sit outside in the beautiful garden which has a pond and plenty of tables with sun umbrellas. The staff are courteous and helpful and the food has always been fantastic both in flavour and size of portion. There is plenty of parking and booking is probably advisable.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FairyorPixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6556, Owner at Restaurant at The Salty Monk, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
We are very glad that you enjoy coming to us loyal customer support is paramount to any business, maybe you would consider joining our mailing list so that we can send you special offers and events that we hold from time to time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    29
    13
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We have stayed at the Salty Monk many times but never sampled one of their afternoon teas. We were in the area so decided to treat ourselves & we weren't disappointed. The sandwiches, cakes & scones were all excellent. It was a lovely day so we sat in the garden with our dogs who as usual were made very welcome.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6556, Owner at Restaurant at The Salty Monk, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
We are very glad that you enjoy coming to us loyal customer support is paramount to any business, maybe you would consider joining our mailing list so that we can send you special offers and events that we hold from time to time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“wonderful afternoon tea”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

My son took us to the Salty Monk for afternoon tea, it was fantastic. Sandwiches, cakes, scones with jam and cream. Plenty of tea to drink. Can recommend.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tired27121938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6556, Owner at Restaurant at The Salty Monk, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
There is something quinessentially english about a lovely afternoon tea, we love making them so we are very happy that you enjoyed it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield
Level Contributor
119 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“All round excellence”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Great welcome by polite friendly and helpful young man who looked after us all night.We ate starters in beautiful garden and main in the trendy dining room.Meals were excellent many ingredients locally sourced,All of this added up to a wonderful evening.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank epocmot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6556, Owner at Restaurant at The Salty Monk, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, Aaron, your waiter is always delighted to get good feedback as are all of our staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middx
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We booked in last Saturday evening and were looking forward to the experience having read the reviews and seen the awards. However the food was under whelming and bland. Although the service was good and very pleasant when asked for feedback after the main and we commented on the bland nature of the sauces there was no response and we were left to ourselves, at which point we decided to leave. The ambience was pleasant but the overall culinary experience disappointing

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank DINKSShepperton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6556, Owner at Restaurant at The Salty Monk, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
We were sorry to learn that you did not enjoy your dinners, we try very hard to please all of our customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant at The Salty Monk also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant at The Salty Monk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing