We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too Expensive”

Restaurant at The Salty Monk
Ranked #19 of 80 Restaurants in Sidmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $51
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Award winning boutique Restaurant with Rooms just outside Sidmouth in East Devon. 6 Ensuite Bedrooms, Spa, fitness room, Private Car park & award winning gardens. Restaurant with an A la Carte Menu made from a strong ethos to local produce
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Too Expensive”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We have visited a number of times in the past and have often talked about the total cost, but now we really do wonder if the cost is worth it.

The food is good, but is it worth this much?

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kninekelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    29
    14
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“High class fine dining in a charming setting”
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

On arrival We were greeted by friendly staff. We sat in the pretty garden with a glass of wine whilst choosing from the menu. We were then ushered to a delightful dining room where we enjoyed an exceptional meal. It was fine dining at its best. The price of the meal was reflected in its quality and presentation. Highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LornaDooneDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“good”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

lovely food , a little pricey but worth it, attention to detail
nice menu, great staff, friendly and attentive

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rewecourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Expensive but worth it”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

At a shade over £45 a head without wine this is an expensive restaurant. But for a special occasion it cannot be beaten. The food is first class - small portions if compared to most places but of exquisite quality.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DoctorTechnical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
262 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Well Appointed, But Expensive Dining”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Let's get the bad bit out of the way first. We have eaten at some top International Restaurants and are happy to pay appropriately. By comparison at Salty Monk, the price and portions provided are not what we would call good value for money. We had arrived in Sidmouth late and the first four places we tried were booked out, so we booked The Salty Monk after briefly reviewing a couple of Tripadvisor Reviewer introductory comments. So, how did it go?

There are plenty of positives. When first entering the Restaurant, guests are directed into a medium sized reception room with lots of comfy chairs. This is the original building which dates back to the 16th Century and it has been well maintained. Pre-dinner drinks and nibbles are enjoyed here. You also place your order here.

Just before the meal is served, you are invited into the main restaurant which is a modern extension. Chairs are very comfortable and the decor is very tasteful in this area which enjoys a lot of natural light. There was some nice music playing in the background, something the owners should seriously consider adding to the first reception room as we felt we were in a Library!

The food is very well prepared and plate-up presention is very good, however the menu is very limited with not even one Steak listed. The drinks selection is not huge but certainly adequate. This is a restaurant for a special occasion and diners need to be prepared to dig deep before making a booking. If you're OK with high prices, then you will enjoy the visit. I have only given it 3 Stars but only because of value, not quality.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Geordielass2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant at The Salty Monk also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant at The Salty Monk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing