We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very impressed”
Review of Pinewood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pinewood Hotel
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Slough
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very impressed”
Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

After a quick dash from another hotel in Slough due to the unbearable heat for our four month old baby, the Pinewood was like a haven for us.

We had been informed on the telephone by the receptionist that a family room was available but this was located next door to the function room, which had a wedding on. We decided that we would take the chance with the wedding rather than the horrendous temperature in the other hotel.

However, when we arrived at the Pinewood, the lovely receptionist (Harvinder I think his name was?) had stated that he had made a family room away from the wedding for us. He showed us the room to check we were ok with it. It was a large room with air conditioning and he stated that if we were happy with it, he would bring up a bed for our other son and the cot for the baby.

Although some may argue that the price (£109) was expensive, we would say that this was reasonable due to the wonderful nights sleep we had and a delicious breakfast that was included in the price. Not to mention the fact that my wife could have a restful night, not worrying about the heat for the baby.

Extremely impressed with the extra mile the hotel went to for my family and the very nice room / surroundings we had the pleasure of staying in. Would definitely stay again and recommend to friends.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Darren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    126
    93
    40
    33
See reviews for
114
160
18
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
stafford
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Didn't start off well as I arrived and chap behind the counter has no social graces told me to go and come back later as my room wasn't ready. No courteous comments like, have you traveled far? Would you like to go into the bar and order a coffee, would you like some information on what you can do while you room is being prepared? Having travelled a long way to the hotel I found the toilet and went back to tell him that they were both smelly and someone had been sick in the sink. Again man was not really bothered and did not offer an apology. Later on that day he did apologise as obviously someone had mentioned too him that I thought he was quite rude.
First room: was damp smelling and had no wifi second room: much better although there was damp peeling plaster behind the door where bathroom shower leaking. The shower was lethal, set at a peculiar angle which meant it hit the opposite wall and randomly went from pleasant to either scalding or cold. My daughter fell over in the shower as it turned very hot and hurt herself. The tv in both rooms was poor in terms of channels.
Food: breakfast was very nice but the hotel feels dirty, tables are not spotlessly clean and cutlery is put directly onto the table not on top of a serviette. Hotel grounds are lovely as is the seating area outside. The staff apart from first man were lovely and did there best to accommodate. However none told me about the free access to the local health club, I found that out by reading reviews from other guests. It's in a lovely area and I would stay again as I was not in the main building and I do think they have better rooms in the main building. I would not class this a 4* the external building is more like a travel lodge with a fridge and some toiletries.

Room Tip: I would see what the rooms like that are not standard and opt for the main hotel rather than the ann...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carrie052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2014

We stayed for one night in this hotel in May 2014 because it was near the local hospital. It is a little tired looking but the room we had in the annexe with a roll in shower was adequate. We had an adequate dinner and the steak was good quality.
The breakfast was excellent. We were not looking for luxury and this is not provided but the hotel served our purpose well.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mosaunders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iver, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014

We booked this hotel on booking.com, we booked an executive room. We stayed in room 1, The room was of a nice size and the soundproofing really worked well, the hotel is on the side of an extremely busy road which we did not hear at all. In fact the evening we stayed, south England was experiencing quite a storm which both myself and partner slept through. The grounds are nice and quiet. We did not eat an evening meal at the hotel, so can not comment on the quality of the food, however the food areas all looked clean and tidy. The bathroom we had was not very good and sort of felt old and tatty, bits of plaster had become damp and had not received any attention. The ceiling had quite dirty looking marks above the shower area. The bed was very comfortable and we did have a good nights sleep. Breakfast was the usual buffet or choice of full English, not the best we have had, however good enough to start your day. Overall with the price of the room, wasn't too bad. My only comment would be is that the bathroom in room 1 really could do with some attention.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We stopped here for three nights as a base for LEGOLAND, and Thorpe Park -it was supposed to be Chessington world of adventures, but that's another story. The hotel is modern, very well presented, and prices were not unreasonable for the area. If it is that good why did I only rate it as very good? There seemed to be a lack of "staff attention to detail" whilst not the end of the world- I did feel robbed them of the "excellent" grade. We stayed for 3 nights, every day we had to ask for something for our room, the first night it was extra cups and milk -if the staff had set up a family room for 4 guests would 2 extra cups and some extra milk not make sense? day two had me popping over for coffee as it had not been replaced when the room was serviced, same again on our last day. Also the in room toiletries varied by day in some random cycle, although I'm sure if I had popped to reception I would have happily been given some. It was a similar story in breakfast, on the Saturday and Monday it was cooked to order, Sunday was a buffet breakfast possible because of the wedding party from the night before (no noise complaints other than the loud clunk made by the doors self shutting mechanisms) The items on the breakfast seemed to run out with regularity, but if asked they would re-appear, the staff were helpful but did not seem very well organised. food items out on one day would not be out the next, but appeared when asked for. We also believe there was some sort of damp problem, despite excellent air conditioning in our room, anything left on the floor near the outside wall felt damp when picked up.

Room Tip: room 9 was very nice, but suspected damp problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spexmaniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 14, 2014

My husband and I had a weekend here on 12th and 13th July. There was a wedding on but we had a room away from the celebrations. Out room was lovely, clean, soft white towels, welcome tray and very comfy. The staff couldn't have been better and looked after us really well. We asked for an extra pillow and it was brought straight away. Restaurant food was superb, breakfast on both days was lovely, and would recommend the Sunday roast too. We would really recommend this hotel and will definitely go back. The grounds are also beautiful to walk around.

Room Tip: I think a room overlooking the gardens would be best, but we had a downstairs room which was lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke-on-trent
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Stayed overnight as was going to pinewood studios,reception staff Were pleasant we were able check in before 3.oclock,room was clean ,only problem was view not of gardens but rust air conditioning which was abit noisily,only two pillows on bed and no breakfast tea on tray,didn't eat in restaurant felt it was expensive so went had nice meal down the road,water was very hot so Becareful ,breakfast was abit chaotic not sure what you had do reqarding toast as no one explained you do your own,table we were sat at was abit tight,had to ask for butter and jam as our table was missing these unlike other tables,full English was hot and very nice good selection on offer,for the price for two of us is good in that area,would stay again but not in that room

Room Tip: Do not have a room in the 20+ rooms on that floor overlook air conditioning unit which is bit noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinamolloy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Slough
0.9 mi away
Stoke Place
Stoke Place
#2 of 2 in Stoke Poges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Slough
2.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Slough - Windsor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Slough Hotel
2.7 mi away
Heathrow/Windsor Marriott Hotel
3.7 mi away
Burnham Beeches Hotel
Burnham Beeches Hotel
#2 of 3 in Burnham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinewood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinewood Hotel

Property: Pinewood Hotel
Address: Wexham Park Lane | George Green, Slough SL3 6AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Slough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Slough
#5 Luxury Hotel in Slough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pinewood Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pinewood Hotel is conveniently located just off the A412 in South Buckinghamshire which links the M40 J1 & M4 J5. Our nearest towns are Slough, Uxbridge, Windsor, Gerrards Cross, Eton & Heathrow. We are a perfect base for the Slough & Uxbridge trading estates, family breaks to Legoland & Windsor or as a place to park your car for free when flying out of Heathrow (local taxi required).We are a 49 bedroom property with a mixture of Single, Double, Twin, Executive, Accessible, and 2 Honeymoon suites.Due to our location outside of town in means that we can offer free car parking. In the past few years gained ourselves a reputation as one of the best wedding venues in the region. The Pinewood was purpose built in 2005, which means we offer modern rooms with Air Con, Mini Bars, Laptop Safe, and Tea & Coffee facilities. We were one of the first hotels to offer free WiFi, and this has recently been 'Bonded' to provide twice the speed.Unlike other local hotels we do not charge for Parking, printing airline boarding passes, WiFi, and a host of other hidden extras.Eden restaurant provides an informal dining experience with freshly prepared home-made food served from the Stage Kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Pinewood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pinewood Hotel Slough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing