We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good vaule” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pinewood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pinewood Hotel
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Slough
London
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good vaule”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

Came here for a ‘sleepover’ as they had such a good deal on Travelzoo. For the money we paid, it was excellent (room, dinner, breakfast) but it isn’t the sort of hotel I would go to for a nice night away – especially as it isn’t really located close to anywhere for a night out. However, our evening meal & breakfast was great and all of the staff were very friendly and helpful. We stayed in a room close to the main road which was originally a concern but we couldn’t hear anything! If another deal like the one we booked comes up again, I would return.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Demi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    121
    91
    39
    32
See reviews for
110
157
17
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

Stayed here on a stopover on the way to Legoland.

The setting was nice and peaceful, the hotel was generally very clean and well maintained.

The main reason for writing this review is to highlight how great the staff were. Without exception, every employee we came into contact with, from the reception staff, the restaurant manager, waiters and the cleaner was exceptionally warm, friendly and professional.

We were travelling with our children and they phoned ahead to check the ages and set the spare beds out accordingly.

Breakfast was great and of a high quality.

The review would have had 5 stars, but the shower in our room was uncontrollable! It moved between cold and scalding of its own accord. This could be dangerous. I suggest the hotel turns the hot water supply down a notch or two and looks into replacing the showers. Another shower related issue was the fire alarm- it seems that someone on out floor set the alarms off by not closing their bathroom door. I think this is a common occurrence here as there are signs warning to keep the door closed. again, ditch the signs and either fix the fire alarm or showers!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bongo70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Perfect stay for a family of 4. First impressions count and within minutes we all felt very comfortable and relaxed. Staff very welcoming and friendly. Massive compliments to the chef - food stunning and presentation immaculate. Nice attention to detail throughout the hotel. Already planning our next visit!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joball1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Wales
Level Contributor
96 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

Great stop for Heathrow because it felt rural and much more peaceful than being on the airport sites. There are nice grounds and patio, the staff are very helpful and as a bonus for us the taxi to the airport was included in the price, so relaxing. The breakfast was the best flavoured egg and bacon I've tasted in ages! The evening meal was good too, the oven roasted chicken was delicious.
Only complaint was the banging of the fire door on the ground floor corridor and voices so I guess the sound proofing is not the best!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank darbyandjoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

After we checked in we made our way to our room at 2pm and noticed a number of unfinished meals and bottles outside of the rooms, did not think any more about this until @ 10 p.m., they were still there! At 12 midnight we rang reception as the PA and music were very loud, we were told it would finish at 12.30, it went on until after 1 p.m. Did not one tell you aboutr this, no, would you like to move room, at 1 a.m. in bed and unpacked! But, nothing prepared us for the following morning when after breakfast at 10 am, we asked where the toilets were and when entering, were met will large portions of vomit and toilet paper all over the floor. I went back to reception and informed them, no apology the night before, no apology on the morning when we checked out. No one told us about the party being in the room above it, when we may have rebooked elsewhere. This hotel did not meet or exceed their customers expectations. Some serious customer services training and cleaning issues needed here.

Room Tip: Ask if there is a function during your stay and request a room away from the event. Check the room b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julian G, General Manager at Pinewood Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
As the guest points out we had a Charity Dinner on the evening he stayed, we do try to keep people away from the function area, but the Executive rooms we all taken that night so it was difficult to relocate away from the area.

The trays should not have been left on the corridors and the staff concerned have been made aware of the need to clear them at the appropriate time.

It was before 8am when the gentleman visited the toilets, whilst some clearing up had been done a deep clean his was to be done at 8am by the cleaning staff. Apologies were made and our disabled toilet was used instead.

I have offered the guest concerned a complimentary stay but this was declined
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinner
Level Contributor
94 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

We stayed at this hotel because we attended a wedding and the ceremony and party was there. I must say the wedding, food, breakfast etc was very good, no complaints about the event.

However, we decided to stay for the night, and treat ourselves to an Executive Room (Room 2) for which the charge was £109 for a double. On arrival, we were asked to pay the charge up-front. Not normal, but we paid, no problem. When we got to our room, we found it a disappointment. It was very dark, we couldn't get much light into the room, and the bathroom was small. In the darkest part of the room was a small table and 2 chairs, plus a suit/clothes holder. Had we tried to sit there, it would have been a squash, also it would not be possible to read as there was no light. We felt disappointed but didn't complain because we knew the hotel was full, and didn't want any of the other wedding guests to be moved about to suit us. As we went along, it was clear the room had been prepared for single occupancy, there was one small bottle of water, one flannel, 1 pair of slippers. One of the 3 bottles of toiletries had been used by the previous occupant, so was not full. When we showered this morning, the water temperature went from hot to cold then back to hot, at one point it got so hot I had to turn the cold back on, but turned the knob in the wrong direction (there was no indication on the taps) and how I didn't get burns I don't know. Having got out of the shower, the whole area was flooded and we had to use the small towells to mop up. Having returned home and looked at the website, I see we should have had robes, no sign of them. Added to all this, our room was close to the function room, so was very noisy when we went to bed. This continuted to around 1 am. Our conclusion was that had we known what we know now, we would have got a taxi home. Really very disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PinnerSylv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julian G, Manager at Pinewood Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
I thank the guest concerned for the positive comments on the wedding that they attended at Hotel and the constructive comments regarding the lighting and shower problems in the room.

While there is a window with a desk and chair one one side of the room, we cannot really move the small table around. The shower we have had a look at and the screen has been repaired.

As the guest was part of the wedding we allocate rooms for the party nearer to the function room and this was made clear to them on their reservation confirmation sent to them, along with a mention of credit charging.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

My partner and I needed to stay in this area and when we saw a travel zoo deal at this hotel thought it ticked all the boxes until we read some of the reviews. They seemed to be like marmite, you either love it or hate it. What confused me was if the hotel is this poor why would you visit on 3 separate occasions if you felt you smelt each times you left? Surely once would be enough? I decided to ignore the reviews and try it for myself and glad that I did. On arrival my first impression was better than expected. The staff from reception to cleaning, to restaurant were all very friendly and seemed that nothing was too much trouble for them and all were very polite. The room was on the first floor and opposite a busy road. I did expect the cars etc. to keep me awake at night but never heard any noise at all. The room was very clean, welcoming and warm. The bed was very comfortable and we had a good nights sleep. The restaurant décor was very nice and I felt there was a good choice to choose from even on the Sunday carvery. I had the goats cheese, followed by chicken with winter veg and crème brulee. I thoroughly enjoyed everything I ate. I felt the service was good and you never had to wait long. Breakfast there was a good selection of fresh fruit, cheese, meats to choose from. I opted for eggs and bacon and all tasted lovely and cooked well. There is nothing about the stay I can say anything negative about. If I stayed in the area again, then I would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: I stayed in the hotel in the annex, so cant review what the rooms are like in the blocks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jav66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Slough
0.9 mi away
Stoke Place
Stoke Place
#2 of 2 in Stoke Poges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Slough
2.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Slough - Windsor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Slough Hotel
3.7 mi away
Burnham Beeches Hotel
Burnham Beeches Hotel
#2 of 3 in Burnham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Slough - Windsor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinewood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinewood Hotel

Property: Pinewood Hotel
Address: Wexham Park Lane | George Green, Slough SL3 6AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Slough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Slough
#5 Luxury Hotel in Slough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pinewood Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pinewood Hotel is conveniently located just off the A412 in South Buckinghamshire which links the M40 J1 & M4 J5. Our nearest towns are Slough, Uxbridge, Windsor, Gerrards Cross, Eton & Heathrow. We are a perfect base for the Slough & Uxbridge trading estates, family breaks to Legoland & Windsor or as a place to park your car for free when flying out of Heathrow (local taxi required).We are a 49 bedroom property with a mixture of Single, Double, Twin, Executive, Accessible, and 2 Honeymoon suites.Due to our location outside of town in means that we can offer free car parking. In the past few years gained ourselves a reputation as one of the best wedding venues in the region. The Pinewood was purpose built in 2005, which means we offer modern rooms with Air Con, Mini Bars, Laptop Safe, and Tea & Coffee facilities. We were one of the first hotels to offer free WiFi, and this has recently been 'Bonded' to provide twice the speed.Unlike other local hotels we do not charge for Parking, printing airline boarding passes, WiFi, and a host of other hidden extras.Eden restaurant provides an informal dining experience with freshly prepared home-made food served from the Stage Kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, LateRooms, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Pinewood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pinewood Hotel Slough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing