We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks good, tastes average.”

Mr Todiwalas Kitchen
Reserve with OpenTable
Mr Todiwalas Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 189 Restaurants in Slough
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Rosette attained for year 2014
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Looks good, tastes average.”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I was staying in the T5 Hilton with colleagues for Business meetings and we decided to try out Mr Todiwalas Kitchen.

The experience started well. Lovely place, with lovely décor. It has a lovely light and airy feeling, almost as though we were dining out in the Med rather next to a busy airport.... strangely though, it felt that we should have been eating French or Italian rather than Indian.

The menu was varied, interesting, with lots of choice. This, coupled with all of the positive reviews on TripAdvisor meant that we were really looking forward to a good meal.

Unfortunately, we were pretty disappointed from here on in.

We had quite a few different dishes, but they were all pretty bland and average; which was a real shame.

Service was just OK, a little inconsistent and inattentive.

They were very quiet in the restaurant and perhaps that accounts for the average service, but I can't excuse the bland food for the price.
We weren't impressed and I'll be venturing out of the hotel to eat, the next time I'm there.... if I was you, I'm afraid I'd consider doing the same.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Crampon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    77
    21
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best tasting menu we have ever had.”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I went here on a Friday night with my partner. We called on the same day and did not have any problems getting a booking.
We had an unbelievable time. The decor is gorgeous with lots of authentic attention to detail.
We chose the tasting menu and we were not disappointed - it was outstanding. Not only was it the best Indian meal we have ever had, it was possibly one of the best meals out we have ever had.
The service was also exceptional, with the waiting staff and restaurant manager going out of their way to be helpful and assist in any way they could. They made note of all the different things we liked and didn't like and our tasting menu was made specifically to our tastes.
We got five very generous courses - soup, appetizers, meat platter, selection of curries (chicken, lamb, aubergine, daal, rice and naan), followed by a selection of puddings. They even packed up our leftovers for us to take home and enjoy the next day. At £45 pp for all that food I would say it was excellent value for money. They also validated our parking ticket for us so we didn't have to pay for parking.
The highlights for me were the smoked aubergine dish, the peshwari naan with toasted sesame seeds and the strawberry ice-cream.
We live down the road in Windsor and will definitely be going back again very soon.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Camilla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
95 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Indian in Hilton”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised to find this authentic Indian Restaurant right in the Hotel. The food was good, with a great variety and good service.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hilary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Go easy on the ordering!”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Great taste, great variety and some new dishes to try out. Beer over priced, but then, it is a Hilton.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank andi r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“WOW Outstanding”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This has to be one of the best restaurants I have been too. Excellent food, creative, contemporary spin on Indian favourites with the most amazing flavours. Brilliant service and outstanding decor. If you at Heathrow and are looking for a really classy meal, hit Mr Todiwalas at the Hilton Terminal 5 and enjoy a spectacular meal. Not cheap but class and really worth the extra!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brotherbill99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr Todiwalas Kitchen also viewed

Slough, Berkshire
 
Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
 

Been to Mr Todiwalas Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing