We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay outside of London”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Heathrow/Windsor Marriott Hotel
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Slough
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
125 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Good place to stay outside of London”
Reviewed June 16, 2011

My wife and I wanted to reward my daughter for 12 years of hard study by taking her on a high school graduation trip. After realizing that staying in downtown London was going to cost me over $300 a night, I found this hotel at a much better price. Here's the breakdown:

Highlights:
- Good sized rooms with comfortable beds
- Reliable Air Conditioning, a real bonus for Europe in the summer
- Excellent staff - with exceptions. I lost my sunglasses on a local bus and they were very helpful in helping me get my glasses back from the bus company.
- Good morning breakfast buffet every morning. England is not particularly known for its dining experiences breakfast every morning here was very good with a wide selection to choose from.
- Good transportation choices to and from Heathrow and London.

Lowlights:
- Doesn't really compare well to Marriott's in the states. The multiple fire doors that you have to go through while dragging your bag down just one hallway are a pain. Also, this hotel not as well appointed and finished off as you would expect from a Marriott in the U.S.
- I'm a Marriott rewards gold member and we requested a room on a high floor. We got the first floor that was near some smoking areas or rooms. Every night we smelled cigarette smoke before bed. We asked to move to another room twice and were turned down each time.
- Very crowded on the weekends. There was a large contingent of Pakistani people there during the weekend we were there. Apparently they don't believe in standing in a food line for the breakfast buffet and have no problem pushing you aside to get what they want. It's a cultural thing, but it's something that took us off guard.
- Don't ask the front desk staff for directions on how to get to London, get your directions from the Concierge. We made that mistake and spent two hours on the Underground getting to London. The concierge can tell you everything you need to know about how to get around and where to eat.

Tips:
- How to get to London: There are three ways to get two London and we tried them all.
1. Take a Hotel Hoppa bus to Heathrow airport terminal 5 and get on the Underground system to London. We tried this once and it was a mistake. It cost 4 GBP one way on the Hoppa bus and then 6 GBP for a day travelcard on the Underground. Problem is, the underground, or "Tube" stops every 13 seconds on it's way to London. It gets very crowded and hot. Plus, you can't see anything for most of the journey.
2. Take the number 81 bus to the Slough city bus terminal. From there walk to the train station and take the train into London. Don't recommend this way either as you end up walking and waiting a lot. And again, the trains are very crowded and unless you get an express train, they make several stop on the way to London.
3. Take an express bus to London. This is by far the best way we found. Take bus number 701 or 702 to London. The bust stop is just on the main road in front of the Marriott hotel - very nice. From that stop the bus goes straight to London. It stops 3 times in various suburbs of London before ending at Victoria station in London. The bus is usually a double decker bus, and many have wi-fi on board. This is a really nice way to go as you get to see the countryside, suburbs and finally the city of London. The fares change during the day depending on what time you go. Check out: www.rainbowfares.com to see schedules and fares.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank DeltaSkyKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    831
    645
    278
    72
    39
See reviews for
700
421
82
431
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

No free wifi or business center. Parking was NOT free. No pool or jacuzzi.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sprinter1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
298 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We have stayed at this hotel several times and did have a bad experience previously here with a noisy room. However, the manager dealt with our complaint very well previously and so we were prepared to give this hotel another try. This time our room was fine. Lovely comfortable bed, as opposed to our previous night in the rock hard beds of the Holiday Inn Maidenhead which was truly dreadful.

The restaurant has improved as far as dinner is concerned too. The steak and fajitas were perfect. Nice kids meal too. Still slow service though.
However, the breakfast is still somewhat poor compared to other London Marriotts. Worst scrambled eggs I have ever tasted. Poor selection on the buffet.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucia2Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2011

good location
crap rooms
bad service
noisy
dirty
rude staff
dont get room service (terrible)

Room Tip: need to improve everything, knock it down !!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thepollizi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2011

We booked a family room for a few days break with our young teenage daughters. Pros of this hotel for us included close proximity to Windsor attractions and Thorpe Park. However, there were a few disappointments which potential guests should be aware of. Firstly, we requested a non smoking room which had a distinct smell of smoke which seemed to get worse over our stay. (had we been staying any longer would have had to have asked to move rooms). Also, when we checked in, we were offered the option of upgrading for an extra £40 per night. This included, according to the receptionist "car park payment, unlimited drinks and food in the executive lounge and a full breakfast worth 16.99" Too good to be true? Well, it was! In reality, the food on Thursday night was meagre and the breakfast very basic indeed and not good quality (certainly not worth the £16.99 stated by the receptionist). On Friday evening, the lounge had no alcoholic drinks at all and just a few crisps!! We did complain to the receptionist and got a refund. We had room service on the first night which was adequate and expensive. So, we walked across the road to the Toby Carvery on day two and had a wonderful, freshly cooked, excellent quality carvery for a fraction of the cost! Breakfast at the Carvery the next morning was also delicious and very reasonably priced. this hotel is probably ok for business travellers who want a short convenient break, but I would not recommend it for families.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kirkfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2011

Just finished a night stay in the Marriott Windsor. For 4£ you can get the hoppa bus to terminal 1, 2, 3 or terminal 5. In order to get to terminal 4, you have you go to terminal 5 and change over to another bus that goes to terminal 4. It took me around 30 mins to get to terminal 4 so not too bad but it is definitely not 'close'.

Parking was £9 and there are plenty of spots. The one thing I would caution guest is that there are only 2 entrances. The main entrance was always open and the other entrance is only opened from 6 am to 10 pm. If you come back after ten and all the spots are filled in the front be prepared for a walk in the parking dimly lit parking lot. There are actually many doors. None of which can be opened with your hotel key card so you can exit but can't enter.

Executive lounge was standard. Nothing special to write home about. Fitness area was huge and people look like they actually had a membership to the hotel fitness area. There was a kid's swimming class going on when we visited so lots of screaming kids in the water so check before going for a swim. Room was ok and spacious. Tv was flat panel. We had a king room and I thought the bed was ok. Comforter needed some more poof. Shower seemed small, probably because they didn't have those curve rods. Internet was good and allowed us to do basic surfing. Service was excellent and staff was able to answer all my questions. All in all, a pretty good stay right before leaving London.

Oh, only 1 out of 2 elevators were working while we were there. Took a lot of time to grab an elevator from 1st to ground floor. Ended up having to carry luggage down the stairs since the elevator was full in the morning. To give you an idea, people were pushing 'up' in order to go 'down' in the morning.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aiyagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bois Colombes, France
Level Contributor
162 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2011

I have stayed in that hotel several times as it is close from my company European headquarters in Slough. It's so far one of the best hotel in the area, and worth the money.
The staff is always very helpful. The rooms are like all the other Marriott in the world : very nice. The restaurant and the bar are very good, and the hotel ambiance is quite good and relax for a business oriented hotel in a not that great area (Slough).
The internet access works great , and the big car park (free) is a big advantage.

I have also stayed in that hotel for leisure with the family during weekends, and each stay was excellent. This is not too far from central London and this is a very quiet place during the weekends, and the staff remains very helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roybe01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Slough
3.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Slough - Windsor
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn London - Heathrow T5
3.3 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3,639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Slough - Windsor
1.7 mi away
Hilton London Heathrow Airport Terminal 5
2.7 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heathrow/Windsor Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heathrow/Windsor Marriott Hotel

Property: Heathrow/Windsor Marriott Hotel
Address: Ditton Road, Slough SL3 8PT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Slough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Slough
#2 Green Hotel in Slough
#2 Luxury Hotel in Slough
#3 Romantic Hotel in Slough
#4 Business Hotel in Slough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Heathrow/Windsor Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 382
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just five minutes from the airport, The Heathrow/Windsor Marriott Hotel offers a stylish destination for both business and leisure travelers. With a prime location in Slough, we offer ideal access to LEGOLAND(R), Windsor Castle and Twickenham Stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Heathrow/Windsor Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Heathrow Windsor
Marriott Hotel Slough
Marriott Slough
Slough Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing