We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Slough - Windsor
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Slough
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Stayed 1 night, Room only, so cannot comment on the food. Reception staff were pleasant enough. The twin bedroom was good enough and bed was comfy so we slept well. However the bathroom was shocking for this grade of hotel (rm 408?). The grouting was severely discoloured in enough places for it to be obvious, the towel rack above bath was very rusty and the wooden panel on the side of the bath, not only looked 'odd' and worn, it didn't even fit properly, leaving a very visible gap at one end. I'm not saying it wasn't clean but my feeling is that the Copthorne are letting themselves down with their current level of finish. Incidentally, stayed at a Premier Inn the following night, cost less, the bed was just as comfy and the bathroom was of a higher standard!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skifriends_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie_Copthorne, P A to General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Slough - Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time & trouble to write this review. I was pleased that you were happy with our rooms, bed and staff.
I apologise that you had cause to complain about room 408. I immediately carried out an inspection with our maintenance manager and our head housekeeper and have asked for that room to be taken out of service unit it is brought back to standard.
I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back should you ever be back in our part of the world again.
Kindest regards and best wishes from the General Manager, Management Team and Staff at the Copthorne Hotel Slough - Windsor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,609)
There are newer reviews for Copthorne Hotel Slough - Windsor
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,102 - 1,108 of 1,609 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2013

stayed here last week with my husband and son to base ourselves close to Legoland, Windsor and London. it was overpriced, very tired, the air conditioning in our room didn't work, our bins weren't emptied for two days. The breakfast was £30 and wasn't very nice at all. two men on the table behind us were complainging about the coffee which they had every right to do as it was awful and we couldnt drink it. we had stayed at the premier inn in Nottingham on our way to Windsor and paid £13.95 for breakfast for the 3 of us which was really good in comparison. the swimming pool and changing rooms were similar to what you would have seen in the 70s council run leisure centres and needed a good clean. however, the room was clean and we had clean towels every day. the food in the bar was edible.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie_Copthorne, P A to General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Slough - Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write this review. I am sorry that you had cause for complaint following your recent stay with us. You dont say if you mentioned any problems to us at the time, as I am sure that given the chance we would have done our best to redeem ourselves in your eyes.
If you would like to speak with me so that I can do an investigation I would be pleased to do so.
We dont actually have air conditioning in this hotel although we are looking to have it fitted later in the year whch we are all looking forward to very much.
I will look forward to speaking with you in due course.
Kind regards and best wishes
General Manager, Management Team & Staff at the Copthorne Hotel Slough - Windsor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Cut a very long story short
Group of sixteen males twin rooms booked for a stag do, hotel upgrade the rooms before arrival to all single double bedded rooms on the business floor, great plan hotel, then asked if we could downgrade not to share beds the answer no, then just as we are leaving for our night out they start trying to get us to change rooms as over booked. Then the lifts broke down and the list goes on just say away if you get the chance and book a premier inn as they are better the this

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maseace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie_Copthorne, P A to General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Slough - Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear Guest,
We are sorry that you and your brother were allocated a double business room, this group booking was made through one of our corporate partners and the information provided to us was that you were all visiting Windsor races that evening and our assumption was that you were all couples.
Prior to communication, twins had been allocated however , as this was a corporate partner it was decided to upgrade your party with our compliments, a poor decision on our part - I understand that this was remedied prior to your departure to the races and therefore we are extremely disappointed that you felt the need to place such a scathing and unfounded review.
We contacted the 'stag' who expressed his gratitude for our consideration and attention and was also disappointed with your review. he also informed us that it would have been your brother that you would have shared with.
Regards
General Manager and Staff at the Copthorne Hotel Slough - Windsor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

disappointed in superior room as it looked as it it hadnt been dusted when we arrived. no safe in the room and lights only one side of the room. room itself very nice and of good size. bathroom very small and toilet handle virtually falling off. told reception and maintenance repaired it very quickly. next day went to have bath but seal on plug not working. reported this sunday morning and maintenance not on duty that day. reception did offer to change our room. overall bathroom not up to standard and hairdryer in there looked old and stained. seal round shower screen dirty and grouting round sides of room discoloured. restaurant not very big and depending on what time you went in for breakfast, not always enough food, plates, cups etc. we had to eat in bar on sunday morning as restaurant full. no flavoured yoghurts and jam was in a dispenser.

staff themselves very helpful and friendly.
word of warning, we had complimentary newspapers but were not told this was only the Independant and were charged for ours as we had different ones. quick word to reception and this was refunded from our bill.

overall not best hotel to go to for a leisure break, more for business people and will not be returning there in near future.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie_Copthorne, P A to General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Slough - Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I was pleased that you were generally happy with your room but disappointed that you found it to be dusty. We have an extremely strong housekeeping team here and comments of this nature are thankfully rare, particularly as our rooms are generally all occupied and none stand empty for any length of time. Please accept our apologies that you were not fully satisfied with the bathroom, I am aware that some of our bathrooms are undergoing re-grouting as it has as you mention, become discoloured, which can appear grubby and discoloured when in fact it is all scrubbed every day. I am unfortunately unable to check personally without a room number but have passed your comments on to our Head Housekeeper for her to monitor going forward. I was pleased that our maintenance department were able to resolve the situation for you very quickly and that you were offered a room move on the following day.
I imagine that you had breakfast in our Bugis Street restaurant which is used, together with the bar, as an overflow at times of maximum occupancy as our Retrouve restaurant is large with a seating capacity of 120. I know how busy peak times can be with families wanting to be up and away to Legoland, I am glad however, that you found our staff to be helpful and friendly.
I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back again.
Kindest regards and best wishes from the General Manager, Management Team and Staff at the Copthorne Hotel Slough - Windsor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

This hotel as very good, although our bathroom was a little tired. I liked having a buffet for both breakfast and supper as with young kiddies there is no waiting for food. The rooms were a good size with all you could need in them including a small fridge which was super for keeping baby milk, snacks etc. Everything was clean, staff helpful, all in all good hotel and we would stay again.
One downer...they have parking and while it is not on the web page or booking form they do charge you for it on your bill which when you think of what they charge and the fact they have so much parking we felt was unfair.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie_Copthorne, P A to General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Slough - Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your very kind and positive review. So nice to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay.
Sorry you didnt appear to know about our car parking charges - that information is on our website though perhaps not on the landing page.
I hope that you will come and stay with us again whenever we can be of use to you.
Kindest regards and best wishes from the General Manager, Management Team and Staff at the Copthorne Hotel Slough - Windsor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed in November 2012. We went with 2 friends. Rooms were lovely, very comfortable. Spa was very relaxing. We had the all you could eat breakfast and it was delicious, lots to choose from and it was all hot and fresh out of the kitchen. We went during half term so there were quite a few kids around but other than at breakfast we hardly saw them. Good if you want to go to Windsor Castle or Legoland.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie_Copthorne, P A to General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Slough - Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review and for sharing it, delighted to hear that you all enjoyed your stay here with us.
Do hope that you will come and stay again.
Kindest regards and best wishes from the General Manager, Management Team and Staff at the Copthorne Hotel Slough - Windsor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed here for a long Bank Holiday weekend and weren't disappointed. Our original plan was to use Premier Inn but I managed to get a deal here so here is where we stayed. Firstly you cannot miss this hotel because of the size of the place! It is just off the M4 and is more Slough than Windsor. Check in was easy and I opted for a £20 upgrade that gave us free wifi, newspaper and parking.

The superior room was clean - which is always a good start - and well equipped. The furniture was a bit dated and I have never had a mini bar that was locked before. Once we found the key it was empty anyway so we used it for our own drinks. Just for reference you need to use your key card to access the club floors. When we got to floor 5 there was a man trying to pull the door off its hinges!

Bathroom was fine and had a good shower. There were a couple of minor points that need attention - wobbly loo seat and badly fitting flush handle but I am being picky here. However the towels were on the thin side!

We didn't eat in the hotel so cant comment on the food.

Yes the parking is tight but you just have to be careful.

Do not expect any grand views. we overlooked the front of the hotel and Slough, one side overlooks a container yard and the other the M4 with a bit of Windsor Castle.

We used the hotel as a base and have no complaints. Staff were helpful and always available. The lifts were a bit slow so be prepared for that.

Room Tip: Go for the upgrade to the better rooms and use the hotel as a base to see Windsor and the Thames val...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie_Copthorne, P A to General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Slough - Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sparing the time to write such a comprehensive and positive review. It was good news to all of us that our hotel lived up to your expectations in so many ways.
I do hope that this means you will come and stay with us again.
Kindest regards and best wishes from the General Manager, Management Team and Staff at the Copthorne Hotel Slough - Windsor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Slough
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Slough - Windsor
4.4 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3,874 reviews
3.1 mi away
Heathrow/Windsor Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Slough
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Slough
Travelodge Slough
#5 of 21 in Slough
550 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Slough - Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Slough - Windsor

Address: Cippenham Lane, Slough SL1 2YE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Slough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Slough
Price Range: $72 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Slough - Windsor 4*
Number of rooms: 219
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Slough - Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Slough - Windsor Hotel Slough
Copthorne Hotel Slough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing