We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay, but check your location before booking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Slough - Windsor
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Slough
Reviewed August 10, 2013

First of all, I wanted to visit Windsor Castle and its surroundings, and based on the mixed reviews I've read I booked here; however, I only learned (albeit) too late that this hotel is NOT close to Windsor Castle. In fact you'll have to pay £8-10 for a cab to get to Windsor. Windsor Castle is not a 15-minute walk from this hotel - it is approx 4km away!

There is no train station nearby (that refers to Holiday Inn Express Slough), no shopping malls, or proper restaurants. However, the friendly staff were happy to show us maps (printed from Google maps with hard to read directions) on how we can walk to the nearest train station so we can get to Windsor. We opted for a cab (£10) to go visit the castle. After visiting the castle, we found the surroundings there more pleasant, and worthwhile, that we checked out the same day (barely 2 hours in our room). However, we paid for a full night's stay including an extra £50 for cancelling our second night.

I'm sorry to say the location for this hotel is just terrible for tourists. If you're stopping over for the night in between flights, it's a fantastic location - less than 15 minutes to Heathrow Airport.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xine139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Slough - Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Dear Xine139,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We are sorry you were not well satisfied with the location of our hotel. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. Rest assured, your comments will be used for review and actions will be taken accordingly for improvements. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (974)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

630 - 636 of 974 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and were extremely impressed with EVERYTHING! The food was absolutely delicious and great value for money specially the kids buffet. The rooms were lovely and clean, air con was a delight! Loved how the 2 rooms were joined also so the kids could go in and out when they pleased. We stayed here as we were going to Legoland and its an easy and quick route from the hotel to the park.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 210 and had no complaints at all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimmixlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed here through Legoland and booked extra night. Absolutely brilliant. Clean, friendly, modern, good info on tv. Breakfast supberb, good bar prices and food prices, welcome pack for kids and good view with a massive family room. Brilliant for Windsor and a few minutes drive to Legoland. Would recommend and return. Well done guys and a big thank you.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneySheehan, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Slough - Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind comments. We will pass these onto the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed in a room on the 'executive' floor and it was like a regular room in other hotels I've stayed. The only perceived perk was the free wifi, which again in some hotels came with the regular rooms. The breakfast spread was minimal but it had the essentials. After the room had been cleaned, a used wine glass was left unwashed/unreplaced on the bedside table. The staff were nice and courteous. Overall, there was nothing exciting about the hotel and we'll most likely be staying elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simplymoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneySheehan, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Slough - Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Thank you for your constructive comments. I have passed to the team for their information.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

If you are thinking staying close to Windsor area, don't.
We stay for 1 night and I it was my worst night in a Hotel, the outside temperature was 28 degrees inside the room 35 degrees, if you open the window to let some air in the noise from the Railway Station was terrible, about 11.30 pm, after I complained twice they change me to another room as member of the Holiday Inn IHG Rewards Club I was very disappointed with the explanation about the air conditioning was not working.

Room Tip: You will hear the train at any room in the Hotel. We have room 214 and we were moved to room 701...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jorgeyanelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneySheehan, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Slough - Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Thank you for your comments, however I believe that you were staying at the Holiday Inn Express in Slough, which is next to the Railway Station.

We are the Holiday Inn Slough Windsor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This was one of worst hotels I ever stayed in. Staff highly unorganized, very chaotic with some lack of English. It didn't bother me that much even thou sometimes it could have been perceived as being rude like "what you want" questions. The smell from restaurant was odd and lifts were not working properly (broken buttons with lights off). Only cleaning service was excellent and very polite. There was police patrol/fire brigade entering this hotel few times which was also disturbing. No minibar.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Krzysztof G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneySheehan, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Slough - Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

We are sorry that your expectations was met to the full. However, thank you for your time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Stayed for 7 days - in Slough on business and needed something nearby. Rooms a mediocre for the price range. The price is high, by 25-50% versus comparable or better hotels very nearby.

Unless you are into Pakistani cuisine, there are no decent restaurants nearby as far as I can tell.

My biggest complaint is with the management or lack thereof. I checked in early, and they wanted to charge me 50 pounds but would refund if I was a member of their hotel program. I had no idea at the time. They could of just looked it up but didn't - I was a member after all.

I needed scissors - front desk: I will have to ask the manager.

My phone doesn't work - I will have to ask the manager to help (phone never did work and eventually I just gave up).

Can't get the air conditioning to come on - you guessed it - I am sorry sir, I will call the manager to come up and help you with that.....

Not all the room ammenities every night - yep - sorry sir, we don't got - ask service after 7:30.

I am soooo tired of this!

Send me home! PLEASE! NOW!!!!

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WearyTraveler321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneySheehan, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Slough - Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

We are so sorry that we did not meet your expectations. This is not the service that is normal at the Holiday Inn Slough Windsor, however thank you for highlighting this and I will ensure that the team are briefed,

However, we would like to welcome you back at some stage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Slough
1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Slough
0.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Slough - Windsor
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Slough
Travelodge Slough
#7 of 21 in Slough
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Heathrow/Windsor Marriott Hotel
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Slough Hotel
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Windsor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Slough - Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Slough - Windsor

Address: Church Street, Slough SL1 2NH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Slough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Slough
Price Range: $64 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Slough - Windsor 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Holiday Inn Slough Windsor is set in the heart of the Thames Valley, less than 20 miles from central London, convenient for the M25 and Heathrow. The hotel, located at Jct 6, M4 is near to Windsor Castle and Legoland Windsor. Add to this Eton, Ascot and Windsor Race Courses, then the hotel is the ideal base for your stay. Holiday Inn Slough Windsor offers a warm welcome, outstanding service and friendly staff. With 150 air-conditioned bedrooms, offering ensuite bath and shower, high speed internet access (chargeable), pillow menu and some rooms have a view of Windsor Castle. This friendly hotel offers Kids Stay and Eat Free and whether for breakfast or dinner, the Holiday Inn Slough Windsor's Brasserie offers a range of international cuisine or choose the bar where light meals and snacks are available, as well as being an ideal place for informal meetings. The Holiday Inn Slough Windsor is well located for Slough Trading Estate, Thames Valley Business Parks and Green Park. The hotel has 4 meeting rooms for up to 40 delegates, all with wireless internet, natural daylight and air conditioning. With easy access to the M4, M25 and Heathrow, the hotel is ideal for business meetings. More guests choose the Holiday Inn Slough Windsor because we offer a great night's sleep, great value breakfast and priority club rewards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Slough - Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Slough-Windsor Hotel Slough
Holiday Inn Windsor Berkshire
Slough Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing