We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice refurb, shame the room is freezing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Slough - Windsor
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Slough
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice refurb, shame the room is freezing”
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

I'm loving the look of the rooms after the hotels refurb. It gives the hotel a more modern room. However, winter is not a good time to stay at this hotel. In the rooms they have wall mounted air conditioning systems which barely heat the room and are incredibly noisy. Good luck trying to get a sleep while your trying to heat your room.

The staff at this hotel are always pleasant.

Restaurant service is not the best, food is slow to come out and the menu is not the greatest.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneySheehan, General Manager at Holiday Inn Slough - Windsor, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to feedback about your recent stay. I appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your stay, both the positive and negative. I am particularly pleased about your comments regarding the team, they do work hard to ensure that guests have a pleasant experience and they will be happy that you have recognized this.

The bedrooms have recently been refurbished and I am pleased that you like the new decor, we are very proud of them. I am sorry that you found the rooms to be cold and the units to be noisy. Having listened to customer comments we have recently installed some additional heating in the bedrooms and the feedback has been very positive and I believe the rooms are now much warmer.

I was also disappointed to read about the restaurant service, I will share your comments with my Restaurant Manager and Head Chef so they can focus on the food service and delivery.

Once again thank you for completing your review, your comments are truly helpful as they allow us to ensure we are focusing on the areas that we can improve. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us and I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    308
    207
    86
    44
See reviews for
353
122
32
208
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We came down to slough for the first time for a works chrsitmas party. It is easy to find and in a great location. The receptionist was a disappointment she didn't smile or say please and thankyou not a great first impression.
We were pleasantly surprised by the room it was modern and clean and the shower was really powerful better than some 5 star hotels.
For a 3 star hotel the bar menu prices are really expensive for a large glass of wine it was £6.45 so after the 1 we decided not to have another especially as we had to wait 10 minutes for reception to send over the waiter to the bar!
We slept well there was no noise or distractions.
The biggest dissapointment was the breakfast in the morning. The selction was poor the bread out for toast was so hard and not edible the hot food was tasty but we had to ask them to put it out as most food was empty then when we went to pay for it we were disgusted nearly £14 pounds each i wish at the time we had complained as we came away feeling robbed.
I would stay again just for the room and comfort but would not spend any money or food and drink there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xbeckstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneySheehan, General Manager at Holiday Inn Slough - Windsor, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to feedback about your stay, we appreciate receiving feedback from guests, both positive and negative to ensure that we continue to deliver the highest standards. I am pleased that you found the bedrooms to be modern and clean and as you say the Holiday Inn Slough-Windsor is ideally located for Slough, Windsor, access to London and the motorway network.

I was very disappointed to read that you felt that the receptionist was not welcoming, we pride ourselves on trying to ensure that every guest has a positive experience and I will certainly share your feedback with the reception team. I am also sorry that you were not happy with your breakfast and feel it wasn’t good value. I am pleased that you enjoyed the hot food, although you had to wait for the buffet to be replenished. We try to ensure that the buffet is kept hot and fresh and therefore we aim to refresh the buffet on a regular basis rather than have large quantities sitting for long periods out on the buffet. I will ensure that I share your feedback with the breakfast team so we can ensure the consistency of the breakfast.

I am very sorry that you didn't mention this to any of the management team during your stay as they would have been happy to resolve your concerns. I am pleased that you would stay again and I would be happy to offer you complimentary breakfast next time you plan to stay at the hotel. Please contact me directly when you next make your booking and I will coordinate the arrangements.

Once again thank you for your feedback, this only helps us to improve our service levels and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
107 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Holiday Inn in Slough is a the standard packaged 3 star experience.

It is located out of town and therefore you have a choice of eating in Slough and/or Windsor - the latter offers a wider choice of options.

The rooms at the Holiday Inn are clean and spacious - the normal Holiday Inn proposition - selection of free TV channels quite limiting.

Recommended for B&B - cheaper to opt for breakfast at time of booking rather than on the day.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneySheehan, General Manager at Holiday Inn Slough - Windsor, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel, we really appreciate your comments. As you say we have a good location close to Slough and Windsor which have a great selection of restaurants and shops.

I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay and I trust the next time you are visiting the area we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Holiday inn Slough-Windsor, once again many thanks for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
903 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 661 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Usually I utilise Holiday Inns’ for business but I utilised this particular branch of the chain for a personal overnight as it was one of the closest proper hotels to the venue chosen for my firms Christmas party and I was able to book it on line some way in advance for a very reasonable £45.
You have to add the £5 parking charge onto this , but even so, the service level and room comfort certainly exceeded the fee paid.
For that price on line I also got a twin Queen bed room, as there was no difference in price over a single Queen bed room and this provided a very spacious room on one of the upper floors which came with decent enough double glazing to drown out any traffic noise from the nearby busy link road down to the M4. Bathroom was a bit small but perfectly functional.
I cannot comment on the restaurant or bar areas as I did not utilise these, but would not hesitate to use this location again if required.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve_of_N21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneySheehan, General Manager at Holiday Inn Slough - Windsor, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel, your comments are really appreciated. It was great to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and found the hotel great value for money and that the service level exceeded your expectations.

Once again many thanks for reviewing the Holiday Inn Slough-Windsor and we look forward to seeing you again when you are next visiting the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
236 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed at a Holiday Inn near here and it was frankly wanting so we stayed here only because we couldn't find anywhere else. What a difference, charming staff, excellent room and a lovely early breakfast before we headed off to Olympic Rowing. The gymn was great for a quick burn and the Italian rowing machines looked very impressive!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JHollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneySheehan, General Manager at Holiday Inn Slough - Windsor, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for kind comments following your stay at our hotel, I am delighted that you had a positive experience. It was a very exciting time for the hotel during the Olympics being so close to Dorney Lake, especially as we had some of the teams and their support staff staying in the hotel.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and especially the fact that you found the staff to be charming, they all work very hard to try and ensure every guest is made to feel welcome and will appreciate your kind words, thank you. I am also happy regarding your comments about our bedrooms, they have been recently refurbished and we are very proud of them.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we hope to welcome you back next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
100 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

I love the location of this hotel as it is good for Heathrow and between my office and London. The hotel is clean and very comfortable with very nice rooms. Service in the restaurant is always good and food is never to complain about. Reception staff always do their best to assist and if you are platinum they try to add that extra touch which matters. Once the drilling in the room next to me stopped I had a very pleasant stay.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneySheehan, General Manager at Holiday Inn Slough - Windsor, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay here at the Holiday Inn Slough-Windso,r we really appreciate receiving positive feedback from guests. I will pass your kind comments onto the restaurant and reception teams, they do work hard to ensure every guests has an enjoyable experience and they will be delighted with your feedback. I am happy that the team recognised you as one of our valued Platinum Priority Club members, we appreciate you choosing to stay at our hotel.

As you say the Holiday Inn Slough-Windsor is ideally located just off the M4 motorway and is therefore convenient for Heathrow, Slough, Windsor and access to London.

I apologise for the noise you encountered, we were in the process of installing some new heaters into our bedrooms and this did cause some disruption for 2 days. I am sorry if this caused you some inconvenience.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed December 11, 2012

we stayed one night only but with additional parking for 5 nights. we found it ticked all boxes - staff were very friendly. the room was very comfortable and had a great nights sleep. the taxi was arranged and arrived promptly the following morning. on our return to pick up the car it was very early and we needed a coffee - again reception showed us the way to the restaurant. we offered payment for our tea and coffee but they would have none of it . I'll be recommending this place for sure and we'll definitely use them again. top notch! .

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billandcath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneySheehan, General Manager at Holiday Inn Slough - Windsor, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank for you taking the time and effort to post your review, the team and I really appreciate the positive feedback and I will make sure I share your comments with my breakfast team.

The team try very hard to go that extra mile and I am pleased that they looked after you on your return from holiday. I am pleased that you would recommend the hotel and that you would definitely return to the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Slough-Windsor in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Slough
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Slough
0.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Slough - Windsor
2.9 mi away
Heathrow/Windsor Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Slough Hotel
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Windsor
4.3 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3.0 of 5 bubbles 3,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Slough - Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Slough - Windsor

Property: Holiday Inn Slough - Windsor
Address: Church Street, Slough SL1 2NH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Slough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Slough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Slough - Windsor 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Holiday Inn Slough Windsor is set in the heart of the Thames Valley, less than 20 miles from central London, convenient for the M25 and Heathrow. The hotel, located at Jct 6, M4 is near to Windsor Castle and Legoland Windsor. Add to this Eton, Ascot and Windsor Race Courses, then the hotel is the ideal base for your stay. Holiday Inn Slough Windsor offers a warm welcome, outstanding service and friendly staff. With 150 air-conditioned bedrooms, offering ensuite bath and shower, high speed internet access (chargeable), pillow menu and some rooms have a view of Windsor Castle. This friendly hotel offers Kids Stay and Eat Free and whether for breakfast or dinner, the Holiday Inn Slough Windsor's Brasserie offers a range of international cuisine or choose the bar where light meals and snacks are available, as well as being an ideal place for informal meetings. The Holiday Inn Slough Windsor is well located for Slough Trading Estate, Thames Valley Business Parks and Green Park. The hotel has 4 meeting rooms for up to 40 delegates, all with wireless internet, natural daylight and air conditioning. With easy access to the M4, M25 and Heathrow, the hotel is ideal for business meetings. More guests choose the Holiday Inn Slough Windsor because we offer a great night's sleep, great value breakfast and priority club rewards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Slough - Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Slough-Windsor Hotel Slough
Holiday Inn Windsor Berkshire
Slough Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing