We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express London - Heathrow T5
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Slough
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Only used this place for overnight connecting flights at Terminal 5.It is an ideal location for this & has good shuttle bus service to & from the airport Terminals.( Only around 2.50) Hassle free, good service, clean,tidy & quiet rooms. Decent standad self service breakfast in the morning. Would recommend the Express to anyone requiring an overnight stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dubford71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris W, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Heathrow T5, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments.

I am pleased to read that you had a lovely stay with us and found your experience to be 'spot on'

Our hotel serves Free Breakfast to all guests daily from 6.30am to 10am on weekdays, and 7am to 10.30am at the weekend. We serve a full continental selection with the addition of 3 hot favourites!

The shuttle bus that operates from the hotel to the terminals is charged at a cost of £4.50 each way with reduced fares available if purchased from a self service ticket machine located at the terminals or reception.

We look forward to seeing you again soon,

Chris Whiting
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,921)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express London - Heathrow T5
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,328 - 1,334 of 1,922 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is our second stay at this hotel though it is hard to recognise any of it from the previous holiday as it has been so totally transformed and updated.
As before we are very happy with the hotel, the car park has expanded greatly which we appreciated, the staff are very welcoming and friendly (for the staff I would have to give 5 out of 5). The hotel and room were spotlessly clean and we had just about everything we could want, it made a great hotel for our trip to Legoland with our 2 small children, who loved the hotel as much as they did Legoland, especially the play area.
The restaurant Traits is nice but the food is only OK, we took advantage on the second night of an offer to have a free kids movie with their meals in the room, which was great. I can thoroughly recommend this hotel and would happily return again.
The only small minus points were the lovely large shower didn't have a none slip mat, which made showering small children a bit difficult, and my partner missed the full English breakfast. These however were small points and very greatly outweighed by the many many good points.

Room Tip: Take your own none slip matt if you have small children, makes life easier to shower them as there a...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mumsymum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris W, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Heathrow T5, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your comments. I am delighted to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay, and thank you for sharing your feedback.

I will pass on your comments regarding our staff to ensure they are aware of what a wonderful job they continue to do, and will also share your comments regarding Tratt's Restaurant with our F&B Manager.

I look forward to welcoming you again soon

Chris Whiting
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Nice hotel room. Checking in was perfect here nice staff, Desiré was helping well. Finally found the room and was more than what I expected. a lot of space in the room and a big bathroom, excellent for a fresh shower after a warm day. Tesco and Sainsbury's supermarkets are not far.
Excellent to stay a night for a business trip.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris W, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Heathrow T5, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us! I have passed your feedback on to Desire personally, and your comments will be displayed to inspire others.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon,

Chris Whiting
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We were very pleasantly surprised with our stay in this hotel.

We only stayed one night and it looks very ordinary from the outside, but it is a perfect place to stay if you want to fly out early or you arrive and need a good nights rest before you go on somewhere else. You can catch a bus from Heathrow or if you have a car you can park at the hotel for 10 pound.

We booked a double room for 42 pounds including breakfast. What great value, the rooms are very clean, and having a shower in the large, spotlessly clean bathroom is so good after having flown for 14 hours. We came down to the bar, and all I wanted was a cup of tea and the barman couldn't have been nicer and more helpful. The hotel was full of family's, and also close to a busy road, so we thought there would be a lot of noise and hard to sleep but there was no problem.
Breakfast the next morning was very busy but there was no shortage with the food, and it was very good. All the staff were very professional.

We had a very welcome break on our first night in England.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone needing to stay near the airport, who wants a clean, affordable place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nbalwaystravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris W, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Heathrow T5, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for providing us your feedback regarding your recent stay.

I am so very pleased to read that you found the hotel to be relaxing and that it met your expectations. All of our modern rooms have double glazed windows and black out curtains to ensure that any time of the day you are able to get some rest or simply relax.

Our breakfast which is free to all guests is served daily offering a full continental selection with the addition of 3 hot favourites.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon,

Chris Whiting
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Stayed here last Saturday night 13th July as part of a package trip to the Pompeii Exhibition.
It turned out to be a surprisingly nice hotel with very clean and comfy rooms.

No complaints with the room at all apart from minor points when you start being picky.
The only minus points I found with the room was; very thin toilet roll (mebbe to deter folk from nicking it), the position of the towel rail, (which was behind the shower door so you couldn't reach your towel) and the dim lighting over the mirror in the bathroom (not good enough to put contact lenses in or makeup on really).

Good points of particular note in the room were;
Very quiet, especially considering on a main road and near to Heathrow
Blackout curtains so good and dark in the room.
Quiet and effective Air conditioning (was 30 degrees in London the weekend we were there!)

Had the best nights sleep in ages the night we stayed-brilliant.

The real downside was the food.......................

There are 2 restaurants-'Tratts' which is meant to be authentic Italian trattatoria fare and the hotel one.
As we didn't want anything too heavy we chose the hotel one-oh dear.

It started with warm white wine served in an ice bucket with no ice-hmmm, not a great start. They didn't appear to have any chilled wine available-we should have sent it back but we didn't-mistake!.

I ordered 'Warm Mediterranean vegetable salad' served on 'a bed of salad with crostini' at £3.95, plus a side order of 'chunky chips' at £2.50.

Oh dear........

The Mediterranean veg was only just above stone cold, no crostini arrived and the 'chunky' chips must have been to weightwatchers as they were just the standard thin frozen then fried fare. Not a bit of 'chunk' about them.

My partner had the 'Thai Green Curry' at £8.95 and added 2 mini nan breads for an extra £1.
While the curry itself was fine, the complaint was the portion size. The rice was shaped into a dome and would have been similar in size to half of a standard takeaway portion. The curry was served in a tiny white gratin dish that was probably a shade less than a 4 inch diameter and just over half an inch deep-it was rather small even to my modest expectations but to a hungry fella-oh heck!!!
He ended up making a chip butty with my disappointing chips and a nan bread to fill up.

Another couple on our trip had eaten at 'Tratts' and been equally disappointed with the food and also the service.

In the morning we were just expecting a continental breakfast as per our trip itinery but we were given full run of the breakfast buffet.
No complaints here. Plenty to choose from and tasty food. Scrambled eggs, sausage and baked beans were from the hot counter, there was also fruit and yogurt, toast, several cereals to choose from and plentiful tea, coffee and hot chocolate (bit odd for breakfast but there you go!).

The lady cleaning tables commented that they had 700 guests for breakfast that morning-phew!

All in all the hotel itself is excellent as is the breakfast. Just have your evening meal somewhere else and you will have a perfectly happy stay!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fazer-Angie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris W, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Heathrow T5, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We do love to hear feedback, both positive and negative, to ensure we continue to provide the best guest experience possible.

I am so pleased to read that you found our rooms to be comfortable and that you had the 'best nights sleep in ages.' I am also delighted to read that you found our breakfast to be plentiful and nice. We serve this daily, free of charge, to all guests. It includes a full continental selection with the addition of 3 hot favourites.

I do see however that you evening meal experience was not as expected to which I personally apologize. Your comments have been passed to our F&B for review and will be discussed during our next departmental meeting which is held weekly.

Our Great Room Restaurant is now about to undergo a Menu Change which we hope to implement in the very near future.

Please allow me to ensure you that the experience you describe is not indicative of our usual high standards, and I do hope that you allow us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Chris Whiting
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed here whilst on an organised coach tour to London. It is perfectly acceptable and the staff very pleasant and helpful.

Check in was organised and speedy. The room clean and had everything we needed, in fact it was better than other hotels we have stayed in that have been more expensive. The shower was lovely with good water pressure. The air con was especially welcome - this was the weekend the rails melted at Waterloo! Breakfast was fine - plenty of pastries, sausages, scrambled eggs, etc. More than suitable.

The only improvement I can see is to install air con throughout the building, as the restaurant was very hot.

HOWEVER - AVOID TRATTS RESTAURANT. It is a rip off. Poor food, appaling service (one poor lad was left for almost an hour with no food because they had lost his order but no-one seemed to notice a customer with no food in front of him for so long!), incorrect orders, items missing from the plate, items on the bill that we did not order, poor quality all round and they add the "discretionary" service charge automatically so you have to tell them to remove it. We were intending to go out for dinner but the heat made the idea of the short walk to the nearby Harvester unthinkable. We were left feeling ripped off and unsatisfied. No apologies were proffered and no-one asked how we enjoyed our meal. We were not the only ones questioning our bill after the meal so please check it carefully before paying. There is a feedback form in the wallet with the bill but you have to grab it quickly or it will be whipped away! I brought mine home, as I do not believe the form will ever reach head office when the service is so very poor. Stick to the hotel's own restaurant - fellow travellers said their meals had been "lovely".

I don't understand the complaints I read here - it is NOT three hours to central London!! Quite a farcical statement when there are both Tube and Heathrow Express trains that will get you into the ciity in an hour or so. The Hoppa bus is £4.50 and clearly states so. As for the complaint about "undercooked English bacon" you are in England!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank oggrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Lovely room, great bathroom. Staff friendly and helpful. Small M&S across the street. Queen's Arms on London road has good beer garden, great food and friendly staff. Don't go to Harvester! Tesco and Sainsbury's supermarkets not far. Didn't eat at hotel, so can't comment on the food available.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank bscorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris W, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Heathrow T5, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with regards to your recent stay with us.

I am delighted to read that overall you enjoyed your stay, and thank you for sharing this with fellow TripAdvisor's.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon,

Chris Whiting
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Slough hotels
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn London - Heathrow T5
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Slough - Windsor
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Slough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Heathrow/Windsor Marriott Hotel
1.7 mi away
Travelodge Heathrow Terminal 5
3.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Slough - Windsor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express London - Heathrow T5? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London - Heathrow T5

Address: London Road, Slough SL3 8QB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Slough
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Slough
#6 Family Hotel in Slough
Price Range: $66 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London - Heathrow T5 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Heathrow terminal 5 hotel is ideally located close to the major motorways - M4, M25, M40 - providing easy access from all directions. The Holiday Inn Express London Heathrow T5 is well positioned for touring the local tourist attractions such as Windsor and its historic Castle, Henley and the theme parks at Legoland and Thorpe Park. For sporting or concert enthusiasts, Twickenham Rugby Stadium and the Wembley Stadium and Wembley Arena are within easy reach. The Holiday Inn Express London Heathrow is just 4 miles from terminal 5 and the official shuttle service operates regularly to\from the terminal 5. (Tickets £4.50 For adults. One child aged 5 years to 15 years can travel free with every fare paying adult. Travel is free for children aged under 5 years.) The hotel near Windsor (and Slough) has 300 en-suite bedrooms, a choice of dining options including air conditioned guest lounge\bar. Onsite parking available (charge applies) and throughout the hotel there's wireless internet access (free). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London - Heathrow T5 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London-Heathrow t5 Hotel Slough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing