We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel for Legoland”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express London - Heathrow T5
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Slough
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very good hotel for Legoland”
Reviewed November 4, 2011

We've booked this hotel as part of our Legoland visit, last week. Family with one 4 year old.
We had a triple room which is basically a double room where the sofa extends to a good size double bed. The rooms are clean and nicely done, the bathroom well kept.
We liked the hotel , the breakfast.
The only negative is that as part of booking through Legoland we were told they'll have a surprise for the children, well that didn't happened and when we asked at the reception in the morning they told us it was finished...Well...they knew the numbers of children since the booking,isn't it???

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blueyes2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    805
    412
    137
    72
See reviews for
564
535
129
360
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed November 3, 2011

We arrived at the Holiday Inn Express at about 9:30 at night only to find no parking space available. Whilst looking for somewhere to leave the car, the manager told me i could bump it over a high kerb (potentially damaging underside of the car, for which they would accept no responsibility). When I refused, I was told I didn't have to park it at the hotel, and could pay to park somewhere else (even though I'd payed for parking). I managed to squeeze it in front of another car that wasn't due out that day (which the manager wasn't too happy about) but at least I wasn't going to damage my car. Plenty of other people complaining. In reception over same issues. Very stressful start to our holiday. Rooms are quite good and transfer to T5 was by hoppa bus at £4.50 per person each way from bus stop just down from hotel. They leave every half hour and take around 10 mins max. Overall, not a bad hotel to stay at for Heathrow but not if you turn up late and need to park a car. Personally, I would not use it again because of the parking hassle. Pay a few more quid & stay at one with on site parking!
.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank al63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI_Express_T5, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Heathrow T5, responded to this review, November 5, 2011
Dear al63

Thank you for taking the time to give feedback about the hotel. We are pleased to know that you liked the room and found the location very convenient for Heathrow airport teminal 5.

Further to your feedback, I am also pleased to inform you that the hotel will have additional car parking spaces in next one week by 11th November 2011, which will increase our car parking spaces. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience which you experienced. We increased number of rooms in the hotel by 176 rooms mid-October, 2011, following which the car park spaces are now being increased.

The team looks forward to seeing you again.

Regards,

A Dubey
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Lovely hotel - big, clean, modern rooms with lovely bathroom. Car park was absolutely packed so finding a spot to leave the car was difficult. Ideal for T5.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aggy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI_Express_T5, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Heathrow T5, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
Dear aggy73

Thank you for taking the time to give feedback about the hotel. We are pleased to know that you liked the room size and found the rooms clean and modern. We are one of the modern new-age Holiday Inn Express and since opening of phase 2 in October 2011, are now the biggest Holiday Inn Express hotel in Europe. We are glad that you liked the bathroom and found the hotel location very convenient for Heathrow terminal 5.

I am also pleased to inform you that the hotel will have additional car parking spaces early November 2011, which will increase our car parking spaces.

The team looks forward to seeing you again.

Regards,

A Dubey
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Ultra clean, ultra modern, ultra efficient. It ticks all the boxes for an airport hotel.

Only gripe is the very high food and drink prices, but i suppose that's London for you!

Business travellers; feel safe, secure and confident of a glitch-free stopover. Holiday makers? It's your dollar! you can do a lot worse but you can also do a lot cheaper!

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tvspiderman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI_Express_T5, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Heathrow T5, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
Dear Tvspiderman

Thank you for your feedback - it is much appreciated. We are glad that you found out hotel to be
'Ultra clean, ultra modern, ultra efficient.'

With regards to your feedback on food and beverage price, please be assured that we have noted your comments. Your feedback will be further considered when we do our quaterly food and beverage price review, shortly.

Once again many thanks and we look forward to seeing you again.

A Dubey
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembrey, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Stayed at this hotel as part of a stay/park deal before and after our holiday. No problems on the first night. We returned on the 27th, at about 6pm using the Hoppa bus. Because the hotel car park was jammed full the bus could not drop us at the hotel entrance so we had to drag two suitcases 50 yards from the nearest bus stop in the pouring rain! (My wife has arthritis) It took 15 minutes to check in with a guy whose command of the English language was poor. I tried to point out the problems but they were not interested.The room was like a sauna and the air conditioning did not work. The settee in the room was made up into a double bed so nowhere to sit. (Obviously made up as a family room) Too tired to argue or change rooms.Next day at breakfast it was obvious that it was half-term holiday, hence the parking problems.Mentioned the problems when I checked out - no one was interested. Final straw- my car was blocked in by inconsiderate parking. i was glad to get away
R G Godden

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymond G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yate, South Gloucestershire
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Firstly they ough really to call this Holiday Inn Express, Slough. It's nowhere near to Teminal 5, if you fancy a bit of downtown Slough that's only 3.5 miles away.
In September we booked and requested two double rooms adjacent to one another. They couldn't even manage two double rooms on the same floor.
The parking was non existent. It appeared that there was a private function and that a lot of the spaces had been taking up by guests to this party, where people had been unable to park properly they just abandoned cars anywhere, it was a fiasco. Staff at the hotel initially directed to on street parking on double yellow lines, on pointing this out we were then shown off street parking, right next to a sign warning that we would be clamped, towed and charged a minimum of £335.00 for the privilege of getting our car back. Finally we found our own legal parking about half mile away!
Room, no hairdryer (but some nice wires poking out of the wall) air con didn't work, couldn't get the TV to work.
Breakfast food was very good, but they kept running out of crockery and cutlery, there were insufficient staff to keep things running smoothly.
We were there a second night so complained about the TV, air con and hairdyer. Portable hairdryer left in room, but TV and air con still defective.
Most of the staff were pretty good but overworked. However a few of the staff on reception were unhelpful and or rude. certainly not impressed being directed to park illegally or where the car may have been towed.
I could not recommend this hotel and would not stay there again.
On the plus side it was cheap, maybe you get what you pay for!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SPS56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI_Express_T5, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Heathrow T5, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
Dear SPS 56,

Thank you for your feedback - which is very important for us to learn and improve making necessary improvements or changes all the time. We are also in reciept of your letter via post outlining your concerns, following your recent stay. Apologies for the inconvenience you experiened and I would like to state that this is not at all a reflection of our usual very high standards of service.

Obviously you feel we have fallen short of your expectations on this occasion, particularly lack of service and parking spaces. As per records we have your booking was made via Expedia. Unfortunately, there has been no update or trace left on the system by Expedia with regards to your request for adjacent rooms - which the hotel does offer to guests subject to availability. On your behalf, we have informed Expedia guest relations team of your feedback.

As I understand from your email that the room you stayed in did not have air-conditioning and TV functioning properly. Apologies that the hairdryer was missing. I also apologise for the unacceptable service which you received during your stay. Your feedback has been taken up with the team at the hotel. As I mentioned we will also ensure that the Expedia team is informed of your feedback.

I would like to share with you that the phase 2 of the hotel, with additional 176 rooms, opened mid-October 2011. The hotel has always been very popular base for Logoland, Heathrow airport and London - and we have experienced high demand from our regular and new guests since phase 2 opened.

There have been a few teething issues, which now have been rectified owing to team's relentless efforts. We have fully investgated your feedback, and the room you stayed in was one of the new rooms in the new phase of the hotel. I am also pleased to inform you that the hotel will have additional car parking spaces early November 2011, which will increase our car parking spaces.

We are responding to your letter via post separately to assure you that your feedback has been fully taken onboard and we can agree a way forward. The experience you had does not reflect our usual high standards of service. We look forward to welcoming you back at the hotel again,

Regards,

A Dubey
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2011

We have just spent 2 nights in this hotel and I have never stayed in a worse hotel. The rooms were lovely and clean but the air conditioning didn't work and the room quickly became stifling hot. We booked this as part of Legoland Holidays package. One of the advantages being that kids eat free with a paying adult. What they don't tell you is that the cost for the adult meal is £15.99 for a buffet (no other option) So for two adults £32. I wouldn't mind paying this amount if the food was good but It was terrible with no choices. Chicken soup which tasted and looked like dirty dish water. There was a choice of 3 main courses - Veg curry (bland) cod which looked and tasted like boil in the bag and a sausage stew which contained hot dog sausages!
It was inedible most of it and the kids meal consisted of burger & chips (no other option).
On our second night we drove into Windsor and had a pub meal by the river, lovely food and location and it cost us much less than the buffet.
I also have to say some of the staff were very rude too. This has put me off Holiday Inn and we will never use them again unless its for an emergency one night stop over.
Oh and parking was terrible as they simply do not have enough space for the amount of guests.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Slough hotels
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn London - Heathrow T5
0.6 mi away
Heathrow/Windsor Marriott Hotel
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Slough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Slough - Windsor
1.1 mi away
Hilton London Heathrow Airport Terminal 5
1.7 mi away
Travelodge Heathrow Terminal 5
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express London - Heathrow T5? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London - Heathrow T5

Property: Holiday Inn Express London - Heathrow T5
Address: London Road, Slough SL3 8QB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Slough
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Slough
#6 Family Hotel in Slough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London - Heathrow T5 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Heathrow terminal 5 hotel is ideally located close to the major motorways - M4, M25, M40 - providing easy access from all directions. The Holiday Inn Express London Heathrow T5 is well positioned for touring the local tourist attractions such as Windsor and its historic Castle, Henley and the theme parks at Legoland and Thorpe Park. For sporting or concert enthusiasts, Twickenham Rugby Stadium and the Wembley Stadium and Wembley Arena are within easy reach. The Holiday Inn Express London Heathrow is just 4 miles from terminal 5 and the official shuttle service operates regularly to\from the terminal 5. (Tickets £4.50 For adults. One child aged 5 years to 15 years can travel free with every fare paying adult. Travel is free for children aged under 5 years.) The hotel near Windsor (and Slough) has 300 en-suite bedrooms, a choice of dining options including air conditioned guest lounge\bar. Onsite parking available (charge applies) and throughout the hotel there's wireless internet access (free). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London - Heathrow T5 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London-Heathrow t5 Hotel Slough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing