We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No parking, poor room maintenance, rude staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express London - Heathrow T5
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Slough
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Firstly they ough really to call this Holiday Inn Express, Slough. It's nowhere near to Teminal 5, if you fancy a bit of downtown Slough that's only 3.5 miles away.
In September we booked and requested two double rooms adjacent to one another. They couldn't even manage two double rooms on the same floor.
The parking was non existent. It appeared that there was a private function and that a lot of the spaces had been taking up by guests to this party, where people had been unable to park properly they just abandoned cars anywhere, it was a fiasco. Staff at the hotel initially directed to on street parking on double yellow lines, on pointing this out we were then shown off street parking, right next to a sign warning that we would be clamped, towed and charged a minimum of £335.00 for the privilege of getting our car back. Finally we found our own legal parking about half mile away!
Room, no hairdryer (but some nice wires poking out of the wall) air con didn't work, couldn't get the TV to work.
Breakfast food was very good, but they kept running out of crockery and cutlery, there were insufficient staff to keep things running smoothly.
We were there a second night so complained about the TV, air con and hairdyer. Portable hairdryer left in room, but TV and air con still defective.
Most of the staff were pretty good but overworked. However a few of the staff on reception were unhelpful and or rude. certainly not impressed being directed to park illegally or where the car may have been towed.
I could not recommend this hotel and would not stay there again.
On the plus side it was cheap, maybe you get what you pay for!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SPS56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI_Express_T5, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Heathrow T5, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2011

Dear SPS 56,

Thank you for your feedback - which is very important for us to learn and improve making necessary improvements or changes all the time. We are also in reciept of your letter via post outlining your concerns, following your recent stay. Apologies for the inconvenience you experiened and I would like to state that this is not at all a reflection of our usual very high standards of service.

Obviously you feel we have fallen short of your expectations on this occasion, particularly lack of service and parking spaces. As per records we have your booking was made via Expedia. Unfortunately, there has been no update or trace left on the system by Expedia with regards to your request for adjacent rooms - which the hotel does offer to guests subject to availability. On your behalf, we have informed Expedia guest relations team of your feedback.

As I understand from your email that the room you stayed in did not have air-conditioning and TV functioning properly. Apologies that the hairdryer was missing. I also apologise for the unacceptable service which you received during your stay. Your feedback has been taken up with the team at the hotel. As I mentioned we will also ensure that the Expedia team is informed of your feedback.

I would like to share with you that the phase 2 of the hotel, with additional 176 rooms, opened mid-October 2011. The hotel has always been very popular base for Logoland, Heathrow airport and London - and we have experienced high demand from our regular and new guests since phase 2 opened.

There have been a few teething issues, which now have been rectified owing to team's relentless efforts. We have fully investgated your feedback, and the room you stayed in was one of the new rooms in the new phase of the hotel. I am also pleased to inform you that the hotel will have additional car parking spaces early November 2011, which will increase our car parking spaces.

We are responding to your letter via post separately to assure you that your feedback has been fully taken onboard and we can agree a way forward. The experience you had does not reflect our usual high standards of service. We look forward to welcoming you back at the hotel again,

Regards,

A Dubey
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,992)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,826 - 1,832 of 1,992 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2011

We have just spent 2 nights in this hotel and I have never stayed in a worse hotel. The rooms were lovely and clean but the air conditioning didn't work and the room quickly became stifling hot. We booked this as part of Legoland Holidays package. One of the advantages being that kids eat free with a paying adult. What they don't tell you is that the cost for the adult meal is £15.99 for a buffet (no other option) So for two adults £32. I wouldn't mind paying this amount if the food was good but It was terrible with no choices. Chicken soup which tasted and looked like dirty dish water. There was a choice of 3 main courses - Veg curry (bland) cod which looked and tasted like boil in the bag and a sausage stew which contained hot dog sausages!
It was inedible most of it and the kids meal consisted of burger & chips (no other option).
On our second night we drove into Windsor and had a pub meal by the river, lovely food and location and it cost us much less than the buffet.
I also have to say some of the staff were very rude too. This has put me off Holiday Inn and we will never use them again unless its for an emergency one night stop over.
Oh and parking was terrible as they simply do not have enough space for the amount of guests.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jo E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

I recently stayed twice at this hotel due to a connecting flight through LHR.
Access to the hotel is easy even though it’s located about 10minutes away from the airport, thanks to the Hoppa bus. Check-in was quick and easy even though the staff was young and appeared to be a bit inexperienced and did not come a cross as particularly helpful, welcoming or enthusiastic.
The room was spotless as should be expected since this after all is a brand new hotel. The décor is modern and the bathroom has a nice and contemporary look. I found the overall look of the room to be nice and as good as can be expected in the price range of the hotel.

There was however one disappointing thing about the room, the bed, which was not very comfortable and offered the support and comfort of a sponge.

I also found it disappointing finding out that WIFI was not included in the room rate. This was also not mentioned by the hotelstaff at check-in. The extra charge for WIFI is GBP10per unit you want to connect. In other words to be able to connect both your laptop and iphone or blackberry you need two WIFI access codes for GBP10 each. The hotel however do have a special deal with two access codes or one access code and one in room movie or drink for a total of GBP10.

I don´t really mind the extra GBP10 but I do mind the hassle of having to go down to lobby and get the access code and the fact that it feels cheap to have WIFI as an option in 2011, especially since this is an airport hotel where you might would like to check in or check flight status online.

Due to an early flight I didn´t try the breakfast which opens at 6am so I can´t comment on that. Having access to the BA lounge and the possibility to have breakfast there this was not a problem me but the possibility of a grab and go breakfast bag with maybe a sandwich and coffee would be nice touch for guest with early flights who doesn´t have access to airline lounges and would probably be something in line with de aspirations of this hotel.

In conclusion I still think this hotel offer a good value. The only real drawback are the somewhat uncomfortable beds. Wifi also should be included in an airport hotel in 2011. Other than that the hotel is nicely furnished for a hotel in this price range and the rooms spotlessly clean. In my opinion this hotel fulfils its goal of simply offering fair and close no fuss accommodation close to LHR airport, and if this and nothing extra is what you are looking for I think this hotel is a good choice.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LLTSINH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2011

Stayed here with friends as a hotel we could base ourselves in to travel in and out of London. Booked two nights with parking. Upon arrival found ourselves in a large queue of traffic which was blocked by abandoned cars at entrance to hotel. There was a private party and the guests had used all available parking at the hotel. The staff had no solutions and advised us to park illegally and when the guests from the party left they would wake us up so as we could move our cars. We tried to transfer to a sister hotel but the staff said they could only ask one other hotel and they knew that one was full. Despite there being several other Holiday Inns nearby. We eventually parked about half a mile away. It took in total an hour and half to book in. The staff were rude, did not deal with our or numerous other guests complaints. We found the hotel rooms to have a number of faults, which were dealt with quickly and breakfast whilst very good was very crowded. This could be a nice hotel, it is new and clean but I am afraid the disaster of our arrival and rudeness of staff means that I could never recommend this as a place to stay. I will not stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI_Express_T5, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Heathrow T5, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2011

Dear brcb,

Thank you for your feedback. It is much appreciated as it helps us to review the product and the service and make constant improvements.

We apologise for the inconvenience caused on your recent stay - it surely is not representative of our usual high standards of service. We have thoroughly looked into contents of your feedback and this has been taken up with the team as well.

I would like to share with you that the phase 2 of the hotel, with additional 176 rooms, opened mid-October 2011. The hotel has always been very popular base for Logoland, Heathrow airport and London - and we have experienced high demand from our regular and new guests since phase 2 opened.

There have been a few teething issues, which now have been rectified owing to team's relentless efforts. I am also pleased to inform you that the hotel will have additional car parking spaces early November 2011, which will increase our car parking spaces.

We are keen to have you stay with us again -please contact info@hiexheathrowt5.co.uk - so we can make necessary arrangements accordingly.

Once again thank you for your feedback,

A Dubey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

We booked online in advance. Started with no place to park in the carpark and a room with no curtains. They switched us quickly to the manager's credit, but it only got worse in the new room. No air at all and when we inquired about it we were told that many rooms were without air and we should be glad that ours was blowing low. They brought us a non-working fan and we ended the stay with the worse breakfast I've ever experienced.

I've stayed at many places in the UK and Europe and this was hands down one of the worst. I did try and get the manager that initially helped us but the staff refused. My last trip in a holiday inn express.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Feliciabowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI_Express_T5, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Heathrow T5, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2011

Dear Holmesdidi,

Thank you for choosing to stay at with us and your feedback.

We apologise for the inconvenience you experienced on your recent stay - it is not representative of our usual high standards of service. May I share with you that the phase 2 of the hotel, with additional 176 rooms, opened mid-October 2011. The hotel has always been very popular base for Logoland, Heathrow airport and London and we have experienced high demand from our regular and new guests since phase 2 opened.

There were a few teething issues for the initial 3 to 4 days - which have been now been rectified owing to team's relentless efforts. I can also confirm that air-conditioning in rooms is now working fine.

We will be delighted to have you stay with us again, so that you can yourself experience the changes as mentioned above - please contact info@hiexheathrowt5.co.uk - so we can make necessary arrangements accordingly.

Once again thank you for your feedback,

A Dubey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

Our family stayed here as part of a Legoland package and we were very happy with the Hotel. It was clean, service was excellent and the breakfast very good. My girls loved it as it was their first experience in an hotel and had a great time helping themselves to the breakfast buffet. The only drawback was the hotel parking, we arrived at 8.30pm after a full day at the park and struggled for 10-15 mins to park. We ended up parking on yellow lines at the back of the hotel, but the staff did say that it was ok.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

this is a nice hotel, but its a bit away from T5, and I don't think it is really in Slough, but maybe on the edge. Our taxi could not find it and had to search a bit. they do have a 24 hour lobby bar, which is pretty cool. the hop on bus stops close and goes to T5 as well as the T123, but it can be a bit tricky. Room was pretty nice.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JSMinMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Slough hotels
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn London - Heathrow T5
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Heathrow Terminal 5
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Slough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hilton London Heathrow Airport Terminal 5
0.6 mi away
Heathrow/Windsor Marriott Hotel
3.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Slough - Windsor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express London - Heathrow T5? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London - Heathrow T5

Address: London Road, Slough SL3 8QB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Slough
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Slough
#6 Family Hotel in Slough
Price Range: $59 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London - Heathrow T5 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Heathrow terminal 5 hotel is ideally located close to the major motorways - M4, M25, M40 - providing easy access from all directions. The Holiday Inn Express London Heathrow T5 is well positioned for touring the local tourist attractions such as Windsor and its historic Castle, Henley and the theme parks at Legoland and Thorpe Park. For sporting or concert enthusiasts, Twickenham Rugby Stadium and the Wembley Stadium and Wembley Arena are within easy reach. The Holiday Inn Express London Heathrow is just 4 miles from terminal 5 and the official shuttle service operates regularly to\from the terminal 5. (Tickets £4.50 For adults. One child aged 5 years to 15 years can travel free with every fare paying adult. Travel is free for children aged under 5 years.) The hotel near Windsor (and Slough) has 300 en-suite bedrooms, a choice of dining options including air conditioned guest lounge\bar. Onsite parking available (charge applies) and throughout the hotel there's wireless internet access (free). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London - Heathrow T5 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London-Heathrow t5 Hotel Slough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing