We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff Great breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City Hotel
Reviewed June 7, 2010

Nice clean hotel with comfortable rooms. No problems with noise.
To deal with the negatives first, the coffee in both the adjoining Beefeater, bar and restaurant was atrocious, same went for the appalling main course pasta at dinner, or death by microwave as we called it, although the first course asparagus was perfect.
Now for the good bits - what an amazing staff. Genuine apologies and regret over the food and dish removed from bill on their initiative with no prompting from us. We'd brought a birthday cake for a member of our party - served up no problem.. Same went for breakfast service and reception (Arun) who patiently explained the blindingly obvious heating in the room. Hope management reads this.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tuttapanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (676)
There are newer reviews for Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

657 - 663 of 676 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2010

We spent a Friday night and Sunday night at the Premier Inn as we were in the area for my brothers Wedding on the Saturday. We chose the hottest weekend of the year so far with the temp reaching 28 degrees which resulted in me inbiding in plenty of mineral water and beer.

Myself and my partner walked I would say 20 minutes from Welwyn Garden City Station and wheeled our cases along. We simply went to the ground floor of the mall that is attached to the train station and went out onto the square and turned left. In a straight line we trundeled through suburbia and crossed the road and saw the Stanborugh which is the Beefeater which adjoins the hotel. The restaurant is where you have your breakfast etc.

Reception were very thorough and even asked if we wanted to book a table for Dinner. On the Friday night we were assigned 75 (a double) on the second foor, and 52 (Family Room) on the Sunday night.

Room 75 was the same size as 52. The only difference between the two was the family room had a big sofa bed instead of a table and chair with a gap in one corner. The size of the room was fab for us two but im not sure how roomy it was have felt with more than that in it. It was spotless and the bathroom was all shiney.

We couldn't find fault with the room for to price we paid and i would have raved about this hotel (well I suppose I am slightly) if it had not been so very hot and stuffy. We opened the window to get a bit of breeze going and used the desk fan to liven things up a little which helped. But I think even if is a budget hotel air conditioning is essential, to keep costs down this could be centrally controlled and would really help.

My only niggle aside... the bed was a good size and very comfortable. The bathroom had a nice deep shelf to put things on which we utilised for our supplies he he (i will attach some pics to the review). I had a bath and there was plenty of towels which were nice and fluffy.

The room came with a welcome tray which had your normal tea bags and coffee etc and two mugs. Kettle boiled quickly which was good first thing in the morning when I need my cuppa to wake up.

The flat screen tv had your normal freeview channels and was a good picture. We paid £9.50 for 24 hours of wireless broadband access or you could book it by the hour. The signal did go down for a bit but I thought that may have been my laptops fault rather than the network as my mum had no problems in her room using hers.

We were woken by a electric bike going round the cycle track which is part of the sports ground next door which comes complete with a dry ski slope! We watched cycylists training on it and it was a slightly different view from what you get normally from a hotel room window.

We paid for the premier breakfast in the Beefeater which we enjoyed. You are seated and asked what cooked breakfast you want and you can have it. It is a set price. I was a little surprised that you can't get the English staple of either fried potatoes or hash browns. It was tasty and hot. You can also help yourself to cerials,yoghurts, fruit salad, croissant, sweet muffins, toast, cerials, jams etc . You can help yourself to juices - orange, cranberry, apple, or iced water.

Check out is 12pm. On the Sunday we were able to check in earlier than the 2pm which is normal by special request on the Friday when we arrived (I've recently had an operation and need lots of sleep). We checked back in and were able to have a kip and were not disturbed at all.

If we were to return to Welwyn Garden City we would probably stay there again as it was so convenient for the town centre. Next time we might use the sports ground you never know!!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rainbowkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2010

Thanks for your review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and our hotel, great location and our great team here met your expectations. We are gad you made full use of our Facilites including the Wifi access and grateful for all your feedback on your rooms. With regards to the temperature of the rooms, these comments have been fed back to our Management Team and will be duly investigated. At Premier Inn we continuously strive to deliver great Customer Service and your feedback helps us to do this. Once again thank you for taking the time to review your stay, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2010

Generally a good hotel with friendly staff concerned with our welfare and keen to provide a good experience. Down side: no tissues of face flannels provided in the room, and twin room consisted of a double and a single bed rather than 2 doubles. Good value, though, at GBP 76 ($115) per night incl full English breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJ_Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2010

Thanks for your review, we are pleased to hear that overall your stay with us was a good one. Thank you for your feedback, at Premier Inn we endeavour to offer the best value quality stay. Your feedback is important to us and we hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2010

Location of the hotel is near to Stanborough park from Town Center. You will find the racing track and nice location around. Food & wine is cool.

This is very much affordable and yet qualitative in and around WGC.

I recommend this over others if budget is the concern. It has also got various budget accomodation.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Srik1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2010

We are delighted that your visit to our hotel was a good one, and that our location, comfortable rooms, and facilities met your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2009

I stayed there for one night recently for work and the staff were polite and helpful, room was clean and tidy, bed was comfy, shower was powerful which is important. would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ejl1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2009

Thanks so much for your review. It is great to hear that you had an comfortable stay with us. We are so pleased that our clean and comfortable rooms and helpful team members met your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2009

We arrived early but depite calling the day before to ask for an early chech in the Receptioist said that the request had not been passed on. However she went off and got this sorted out for us. She was extremely helpful and polite. We had a double room and a single. Both were very clean with fresh towels and nice linen on the beds. The room was very spacious and had a couple of chairs. Lots of pay as your view films and also amplefree TV channels Our room looked over an athetics track and a dry ski slope. Made for interesting viewing on Saturday morning. We did not make use of the breakfast but it was a reasonable price. As all hotels you could hear the late comers and those leaving early. There was a restuarant adjoining and although we never went in it looked clean and was busy. All in all a satisfactory stay. Well done to the staff.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alshepuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2009

Room clean and quiet. Bed comfy.

Pub next door with good food and friendly staff.

Recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank YTSnout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Welwyn Garden City
0.7 mi away
Best Western Welwyn Garden City Homestead Court Hotel
Best Western Welwyn Garden City ...
#3 of 5 in Welwyn Garden City
504 reviews
2.3 mi away
Tewin Bury Farm Hotel
Tewin Bury Farm Hotel
#1 of 5 in Welwyn Garden City
442 reviews
2.5 mi away
Beales Hatfield Hotel
Beales Hatfield Hotel
#1 of 6 in Hatfield
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 2 in Welwyn
73 reviews
3.5 mi away
Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel
2.4 mi away
Travelodge Hatfield Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City Hotel

Address: Stanborough Road, Welwyn Garden City AL8 6DQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Welwyn Garden City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Welwyn Garden City
Price Range: $65 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the doorstep of Gosling Sports Park, and just a few miles from both Hatfield and Knebworth House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City Hotel Welwyn Garden City
Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City Hotel Hertfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing