We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Premier - as always with this chain”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
208 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Premier - as always with this chain”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

I stayed one night due to an early meeting in Welwyn Garden City the following morning.

The bed was, as with all Premier Inns, amazingly comfortable. Room was clean and of high standard or maintenance.

I had both dinner and breakfast in the attached Beefeater restaurant. Excellent service and high quality food for both.

As I came up by train it is a bit of a walk from the station (about 15 minutes), which on a damp evening wasn’t so pleasant, but the following morning a 20 minute walk in the sun to the centre of Welwyn Garden City was very pleasant.

My only negative would be that the hotel itself appeared to be a little understaffed as when I arrived the receptionist was away from the desk helping another customer and it was a good 15 minutes before she returned to check me in.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingTom78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    220
    73
    31
    17
See reviews for
202
172
31
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

This Premier Inn was surprisingly comfortable given the cost. The bed covers were very cosy, so much so, I didn't want to get out of bed in the morning! Staff were also very freindly and helpful.

Noise from people walking in the room above was quite load but overall, Premier Inn has gone up in my estimations after staying here.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bev692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wraysbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

This hotel is situated just off the Jct 4 on the A1 (M) which makes it very convenient location for frequent travellers. It is exactly what you would expect from a Premier Inn – comfy bed, big fluffy duvet etc.

Next door is a Beefeater restaurant which offers a good, varied menu, at very reasonable prices, in a relaxed environment. Would certainly recommend booking for an evening meal. But having said that, the hotel was full when I stayed, and the restaurant was busy, but the level of service was excellent and it did not feel like a long wait for food.

The restaurant is also where breakfast is served. Breakfast was £8.25 each with a great selection of breakfast buffet options, including cooked to order poached eggs and omelettes. Definitely one to go for!

What differentiates this hotel from other Premier Inns I have stayed in, is the cheery , friendly and helpful Staff. From those that greet you at Reception, those in the restaurant through to those in housekeeping. Nothing is too much trouble, which makes this hotel feel more like a family run establishment than one in a chain.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hestia_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

The staff are great here but boy they need to sort out the windows and heating. We had to put towels up at the window to try to stop the wind but this did not really work as the windows were that bad and didn't close at all well!

If you stay make sure you get a room at the front (Car park side) or near the railway line at the stadium at the back of the hotel has late night discos and parties! The noise kept us awake quite late!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have a quiet stay in a comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please be assured your comments has been noted and will be followed up with the Management Team at our hotel. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

Have just stayed at WGC Premier Inn and overall we had an enjoyable stay. The hotel has just been updated and we had a superb Samsung TV on the wall in our room rather than being squashed in the corner unit as it used to be. We could all sit on our beds and watch TV in comfort.
It is only a 15 minute walk to the railway station, but take the shopping centre entrance or you will have to walk right back to the ticket office from the platform if you take the side entrance.
The car park is well laid out and the access to other parts of Welwyn is also good from here.
Breakfast was good, but with it being a larger hotel the cooked food ran out quicker and the replenishment was not too quick. Anyway, the continental breakfast was super and it saved more intake of fat!
Overall I would recommend this hotel and I would stay there again

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Metalmarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

I ended up staying two nights due to getting stuck with no trains running after the storm. The first night cost me £25, the second was over £70. I can't believe the range in prices! What was supposed to be a cheap mini break to visit my daughter ended up costing a fortune.

However, the staff there are excellent, friendly, welcoming and efficient. The rooms are clean and had almost everything I needed. The beds are comfy and I was pleased to see a hair dryer in the room. I didn't sleep well either night though, partly due to the storm, noisy hotel guests and a window in the room on the second night which wouldn't shut properly, so outside sounds were easily heard, including the trains once they resumed service during the night.

The second room also seemed to be below a baby elephant! Thud, thud he/she went. The light vibrated very annoyingly so I stood precariously on the bed to try to screw the fittings tighter, which helped a bit. I didn't bother to complain as the receptionist had said it was the last of two rooms, so I didn't hold out much hope of being moved. Also, the staff can't control other guests.

I couldn't get either room warm, which was fine once I was in bed but not before, despite the thermostat saying it was 23 degrees (it wouldn't go higher than that). The thermostat made a really annoyingly loud clicking noise every time it went on and off.

However, I would definitely stay again if I could get the saver rate, as the staff were excellent and I was very happy with the cleanliness and neatness of the room. Most hotels suffer from noisy guests, and I know it's not something they can control. It's a shame others are so inconsiderate.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donniboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rustington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

As usual, the standard of cleanliness was very good, the room was big, heating working. I did find the mattress a little hard but I have an arthritic hip so I think it is just personal preference. The only other thing, again due to my hip was that I found the bath very high to climb into for a shower. Jus a little disappointment was that on Sunday morning my husband reported that someone had been sick outside the window to the restaurant and 3 hours later it was still there so he reported it to a different person yet it was still there when we left the hotel on Monday. May I also, through trip advisor say to all hotel guests PLEASE don't slam your room door.....

Room Tip: We had a room in the new part which overlooked the sports centre. Better than a view of the car par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Welwyn Garden City
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Welwyn Garden City Homestead Court Hotel
BEST WESTERN Welwyn Garden City ...
#3 of 5 in Welwyn Garden City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
2.3 mi away
Tewin Bury Farm Hotel
Tewin Bury Farm Hotel
#1 of 5 in Welwyn Garden City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
3.5 mi away
Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Beales Hatfield Hotel
Beales Hatfield Hotel
#1 of 6 in Hatfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Hatfield Hotel
2.6 mi away
Ramada Hatfield
Ramada Hatfield
#5 of 6 in Hatfield
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City Hotel
Address: Stanborough Road, Welwyn Garden City AL8 6DQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Welwyn Garden City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Welwyn Garden City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the doorstep of Gosling Sports Park, and just a few miles from both Hatfield and Knebworth House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City Hotel Welwyn Garden City
Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City Hotel Hertfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing