We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A very good and exceptionally clean hotel.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Stevenage
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A very good and exceptionally clean hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We had a very enjoyable stay at the Premier Inn, Welwyn Garden City last Saturday. It is a fairly new hotel with very friendly staff and it is exceptionally clean and well maintained. The breakfast at the hotels restaurant in the 'partner' Beefeater Restaurant was very good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Helpful?
1 Thank EReviewer2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    201
    62
    26
    17
See reviews for
182
147
30
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

the hotel is exactly what i would expect of a premier inn...however when booking for the premier inn at welynn garden city. at no point was it pointed out that children where not allowed in the pub/restuarant after 9pm.. and there was nowhere nearby. The food was expensive for what you got and my meal ended up going back twice and in the end asking for a refund. not the best hotel if you have children.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunderland
Level Contributor
116 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

just arrived back from this hotel after spending two nights here while attending a wedding . The room was clean tidy and comfortable.The staff were helpful.,good value for the money we had an evening meal and our breakfast next door at the beef eater which was also good value.The wedding was at Hadfield house.which is set in lovely grounds and the hall its self is delightful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank becky47Sunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester (via boro)
Level Contributor
103 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

I use this hotel regularly for business. Its a good standard premier inn with generally attentive staff and a good breakfast. Facilities are limited but premier inn does what its says on the adverts and good for a good nights sleep,

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

My mum and I have just returned from a 2 night stay at this hotel. We stayed from 24th - 26th Sept, and it was our first time staying at a Premier Inn hotel.

Check in was simple and quick, we also decided to purchase the £22.99 meal deal which allows you a 3 course meal from a selected menu, plus a premier breakfast per night.

The service and food in the adjoining beefeater was amazing. Staff are extremely friendly, approachable and very efficient. Our special thanks to Sandie who made up part of the breakfast team, also to Mel and another lady with short dark hair and glasses (sorry we can't remember your name!) for making our dinning experience very enjoyable on both days.

The meal deal is great value for money, however it would have been nice to have a bit more variety, as the full looked very appealing!

We stayed in room 114 which was spotless and very comfortable. Tea/coffee making facilities were available in the room as well as extra pillows! No aircon was present, however each room has a powerful fan which was very effective. The lighting in the room was excellent, it was lovely and bright! The bathroom also had dispensable imperial leather shower gel which was a nice touch.

The hotel is located a short drive from The Galleria and train station. There was also a shell petrol garage a stones throw from the hotel which was also handy for our drive back into London!

Overall a very pleasant stay!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeyda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suzanne w, Manager at Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to pass on your positive comments, Mel and Sandie have been with us here for many years and are always thrilled when their name is mentioned. We hope we may see you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in September and were pleasantly surprised as to our overall experience. This was our first visit to a Premier Inn so we cannot compare it with any others We had a full breakfast on each morning and the food selection was varied and of good quality. The staff were very friendly and efficient. The room was of a good design with everything that you would expect. The group's statement of 'a good night's sleep guaranteed' works in practice. Although we would look forward to visiting another Premier Inn in the future, we are still great supporters of the independent B&B.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank megc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, england
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

The reception does not have any self check-in machines so if busy you will be in a line. The room was quite a trek from reception so remember to ask for one close to the entrance if that's important to you. The room was hot but had a fan running with an open curtained window so an attempt to keep it cool had been made. The room was like all other PI rooms but had a big Samsung TV with a special noise cancelling feature to cancel the main railway line noise coming from 50 metres away. Did it work? Frankly no and the screen gave off a glow which was annoying together with a constant hiss like waves on a beach. I turned it off. However the Beefeater attached was so chaotic that I cannot recommend that you have dinner there. For example , having been ignored by all staff we had to ask for seating, then after a further ten minutes we asked for service. Order taken and dessert arrived first! Food here is OK but the restaurant manager needs to be assertive and organised. I recommend that you find a different dinner restaurant. Breakfast was good but the same disfunctionality re who had paid, who was from the PI and what the devil was going on was still present.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Hamish1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Welwyn Garden City
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Welwyn Garden City Homestead Court Hotel
BEST WESTERN Welwyn Garden City ...
#3 of 5 in Welwyn Garden City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
2.7 mi away
Tewin Bury Farm Hotel
Tewin Bury Farm Hotel
#1 of 5 in Welwyn Garden City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Hatfield Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Beales Hatfield Hotel
Beales Hatfield Hotel
#1 of 6 in Hatfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
3.2 mi away
Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Hatfield Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City Hotel
Address: Stanborough Road, Welwyn Garden City AL8 6DQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Welwyn Garden City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Welwyn Garden City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the doorstep of Gosling Sports Park, and just a few miles from both Hatfield and Knebworth House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City Hotel Welwyn Garden City
Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City Hotel Hertfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing