We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bed too hard”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City Hotel
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“bed too hard”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We found the mattress much firmer than usual for Premier Inns and this made for an uncomfortable night. The room was also too hot, but we didn't want to open the windows because of a busy road outside.
We complained when we left the next morning and the complaint was taken seriously, and we later learnt that we had been given a refund under PI's 'Good Night's sleep' policy.
We really appreciated the 30 mins free Wi-Fi and wish other hotels would also do this.
We also liked the large wall-mounted flat screen TV, and the vanity mirror set-up.
The room was VERY spacious, and the bathroom was bigger than others in similar hotels.

Room Tip: Test the mattresses first!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacquilace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly L, Social Media at Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Many thanks for your review.

It is very important to us that our guest's enjoy every aspect of their stay. Your feedback is very much appreciated as we endeavour to improve standards and meet all our customer’s needs. We do hope that your refund in line with our Good Night Guarantee reaffirmed to you our commitment to ensuring our guests enjoy their stay, please be assured that your comments will be passed onto the Management Team at the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    232
    76
    31
    17
See reviews for
215
179
31
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cracow, Malopolskie, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Very good hotel, with friendly and courteous service. Room and bathroom very clean and tidy. Room facilities: TV, kettle also high. Very comfortable bed - I slept like a baby. A very tasty breakfast. WiFi available - but in some rooms problem with signal - I haven't this problem. I recommend to all.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomasz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
443 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2012

This hotel was great. The staff were great on arrival, during our stay and ad we were leaving, the cleaners in particular were really friendly and chatted to us. The room was a good size and so was the ensuite and so clean. The hotel is a 5-10 minute walk from the centre and ideal location. The breakfast on a whole was good, it was self service which is unusual for us as the premier inns we have been in have all been made to order hot food. The eggs were the only disapointment as the scrambled egg were hard , sausages and everything else was very good and very nice Costa coffee.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slocker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

A friendly welcome, newly refurbished rooms which were spotless. Good location with plenty of parking. There is a railway line close to one side of the hotel, although during my stay the trains stopped about 11.00 p.m. and weren't massively intrusive.

Room Tip: If you want opening windows, get a room above ground floor level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GSAK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Super friendly when i arrived, lovely clean room, quiet place, slept well and will return

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 9chuckademus9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

After retiring to Dorset we often return to Welwyn to see family and friends. After trying several places we have found the Premier In at Welwyn to be the best all round for our needs. It is very conveniently located, 10 mins walk to John Lewis (Where my wife can get her JL fix!) and the town centre. The hotel is currently undergoing a refurb to the rooms but although comprehensive the work did not inconvenience at all. We had a refurbed room on our last visit which was well done however the furnishings seem sparse. We only ever stay for one night so it was no big deal. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom good, the cleanliness excellant and the breakfast very adequate. The staff at these premises are friendly and helpful. All in all a good convenient stop over hotel at a good price.

Room Tip: 2nd flloor at the front is my preference
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petex10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We booked 4 rooms for one night in January. Rang to book, and was told to go on line and register with them and then may get rooms for the advertised 29.99. Unfortunately this was not to be, and we paid £66 per room, having said that, every room was clean and comfortable. Room was quite cold when we got in there, but easily rectified by heating controls in room. We were given a room for the disabled, even though we are not, but this was not a problem in the slightest. Breakfast was paid for on top of the room rate but at £7.99 per head, it was delicious and plentiful in the Beefeater attached by an interconnecting door from reception. All in all, we had a good sleep and a very good breakfast and would certainly stay in a Premier Inn again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuperskierMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Welwyn Garden City
0.7 mi away
Best Western Welwyn Garden City Homestead Court Hotel
Best Western Welwyn Garden City ...
#3 of 5 in Welwyn Garden City
493 reviews
2.3 mi away
Tewin Bury Farm Hotel
Tewin Bury Farm Hotel
#1 of 5 in Welwyn Garden City
423 reviews
2.5 mi away
Beales Hatfield Hotel
Beales Hatfield Hotel
#1 of 6 in Hatfield
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Hatfield Hotel
2.6 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 2 in Welwyn
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City Hotel
Address: Stanborough Road, Welwyn Garden City AL8 6DQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Welwyn Garden City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Welwyn Garden City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the doorstep of Gosling Sports Park, and just a few miles from both Hatfield and Knebworth House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City Hotel Welwyn Garden City
Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City Hotel Hertfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing