We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it here!”
Review of The Neem Tree

The Neem Tree
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Love it here!”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Lovely restaurant! Enjoy eating in, friendly atmosphere and really cool design but take away is good too. Food is excellent and the menu has the classics and some you wouldn't normally see but are fab! Definitely the best Indian in Welwyn garden city.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AMKS61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    93
    43
    18
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“5* if you eat in; 1* to take away”
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

We've dined here twice and absolutely loved it - the atmosphere and decor are great, and the food excellent. The menu is a great mix of traditional favourites and fusion dishes. On these experiences alone, I would give it 5 stars. However, we've also, subsequently, had some takeaways delivered... Which were terrible. Swimming in oil, and almost impossible to discern which of our 5 dishes was which. Never again. So, on balance, it has to be 3 stars.

Helpful?
Thank B0n_Viv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent food but improvement on service needed”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Went there on saturday night at 9pm with family and specially to celebrate a birthday. We had 2 kids, 1 7year old and 1 new born baby 2 months old in a baby carrier. We requested for a table large enough to fit everyone comfortably. The person who sat us at the table was looking a bit lost when we said it was 5 adults and 2 kids. He said, oh, this table is for 8 people. Well, on the phone when we made reservations, we clarified it. Then he went to his other colleagues and was commenting about stuff. (not a very good impression).
Soon, he realised why we had asked for a bigger table when informed by the person who took the reservation, after that he was ok and friendlier.

Very well decorated and clean place.
Must say, food is excellent specially the mains. I wouldn't go for starters. They were okish. The portions were good.
All types of naans were excellent and freshly prepared. Their curries are by far, very well made. Seems like the chef knows what they are preparing, not just preparing for the sake of it. Every detail well noted in each and every dish.
We ordered mainly vegetarian and fish dishes. They were all excellent.

A general note, being south asian and visiting south asian restaurants quite frequently, the food is mostly good, but they lose out on service.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Purav S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

We went to the neem tree with the family. We were really impressed with the service and the standard of food.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn, Herts
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Booked a table for two for a Friday evening at about 20:00. Despite being very full, and seemingly rushed of their feet the staff made us feel very welcome and our food was delivered on time. It was very tasty and plentiful. We had the seafood platter starter and the Rajasthani Venison and Keralan Jumbo Prawn Curry. The bill was very reasonable, and for such "different" indian food. We've had a takeaway since which was just as good! If you're in the area - and looking for Indian food which is not your average - the Neem Tree is recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Weloveskye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Neem Tree also viewed

Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire
Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire
 
Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire
Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire
 
Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire
Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The Neem Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing