We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hit and miss”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Cowper Arms

Cowper Arms
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A friendly, welcoming pub in the heart of Digswell. Located right next to Welwyn North train station, offering a range of drinks including McMullen's ales and a selection of wines. And fresh homemade food from our new menu and ever changing specials list - (with roasts on Sundays).
UK
Level Contributor
116 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Hit and miss”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

We eat out every other Sunday for lunch. Decided to try the Cowper Arms for a change having had slow service recently twice in a row at our usual pub.
Sadly after 40 minutes, we asked how long the meals will be when she replied that our order was not put in. Shame we had to eat the meal in a hurry due to an appointment after lunch.
The food was average for a pub. The offer of a discount didn't happened. Wouldn't be back in a hurry.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tim029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    98
    32
    20
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury Plain
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“More a pub that does food. Food good - somewhere between average & very good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

We enjoyed our food here. It was good pub grub, enjoyable and tasty, not out of the way in price either. The menu reflected what people normally come to associate with traditional pub food and that is perfectly acceptable.

We visited during a weekday lunchtime and as it wasn't overcrowded; the numbers made our visit comfortable and more enjoyable. The atmosphere was relaxing and the lack of noise facilitated easy and intelligible conversation, allowing us to catch up with our friends lives whilst without having to strain to hear what they were saying.

The barman went out of this way to be helpful and provide good service - a rarity these days. I give him full marks for that.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jellyrollman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Herts
Level Contributor
115 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Convienant place for pub grub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

Good for families, couples, friends or on your own.
Despite being a McMullens pub it is very pleasant, staff always attentive and service was timely. Good value fair sized portions served in a clean homely atmosphere.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank RupertTBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“"Complete refurbishment"... what has changed?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

I reguarly stop in here for a pint before/after the train to/from London. However, the beer selection is very poor (ales expected to be, given it is a Mac's pub... but no decent lager's either?). The food is standard pub-grub, and the service is hardly with a smile.
Despite the closure for "complete refurbishment" I notice no difference to the decor, menu or service... but the outside is now painted white.
This is a great location for a pub and also has a captive audience from surrounding wealthy residential areas... it should be so much better.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank B0n_Viv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Could be far better”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

The management of this place completely let it down. It is like they don't want customers. I go quite regularly out of convenience rather than choice. I have been told off for moving bar stools round to a different section of the bar to chat to friends and apparently you are not allowed to do this - Very strange. If anything it needs more bar stools (there are only 4) as that is what a pub like this would benefit from to help create atmosphere. Also, I was told that one half of the bar was closed when the barmaid was about 2 yards away and very happy to serve there. The place is just a bit soulless.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank welwynres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cowper Arms also viewed

Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire
Welwyn, Hertfordshire
 
Datchworth, Hertfordshire
Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire
 
Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire
Welwyn, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Cowper Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing