We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Excellent Stay!!”
Review of Christmas Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Welwyn Garden City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Christmas Cottage
Reviewed May 27, 2013

My mum and I stayed here one night and really enjoyed our stay. Vernon and Jane made us feel very welcome and let us use all the facilities here. The breakfast was delicious - we really recommend the fry-ups here! The swimming pool and hot tub here were great and we enjoyed using them!

Naomi, aged 11

Room Tip: We stayed in room 'Tiffany'. This was a lovely room; very cosy. The beds were very comfortab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BikeStevenage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 81 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2013

We have stayed here several times and each time have had a lovely stay.
The rooms are clean spacious and private and the garden is lovely in the summer, both. the owners and margaret who has looked after us a few times could not be more welcoming.
We will definitely visit again

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rozandchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Stayed here over Christmas time with some family and friends and had a truly wonderful time. Had checked the reviews here before going and have to say they are spot on. We could not fault anything. Lovely prepared breakfasts, beautiful rooms and amazing hosts Jane & Vernon really helped us all have an amazing break. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lolHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Have been staying at Christmas Cottage whilst on business for the past 2.5 years - lovely place. Jane and Vernon Sherrif are wonderfully attentive and very welcoming. Very relaxing rooms and gardens with a good hearty breakfast each morning.

The other guests I have met during my time have been wonderfully varied, with a RN Captain, a Bishop, Pilot, Professional Cyclist and a Norwegian Bellydancer being just a few....

There is a very good vibe in the summer, with guests gathering in the manicured garden by the pool. No shortage of places to eat in the evening, with two pubs/restaurants/bistros within walking distance and further pubs and restaurants in Old Welwyn itself. I can't recommend Jane and Vernon's B&B enough...a real home from home..

Paul.

Room Tip: All good rooms...however the Maria room (single) has a lovely selection of books should you find it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We discovered this little gem when looking for accommodation near Knebworth. I stayed in the summerhouse with a couple of friends and a couple of others stayed in the cottage itself. We had such a wonderful time there and will definitely be back as soon as we can. We used the bbq and sat round with other visitors by the pool and loved the hot tub.
Jane and Vernon are perfect hosts and a lovely couple - couldn't fault a thing x

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicolaStClair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2012

Stayed here for my husband's 40th birthday for a couple of nights, in the en suite room pictured in other reviews.

Jane and her husband (sorry, forgotten your name!) were extremely welcoming, as was the room they had prepared for us... freshly flowering daffodils next to the bed gave off the most amazing scent, and Jane had even gone to the trouble of finding the same bed linen as shown in the photos! Wine glasses and a cork screw were ready and waiting for us, as requested. Best bit - the bed is HUGE (I suspect two single pushed together, but the quilt is plenty big enough to go the whole way across) and so very comfortable!

As mentioned by others, the breakfast is simply outstanding... fresh fruit, huge selection of cereal (including granola, well done!), toast, home-made marmalade (which is so good I should have asked to buy some) and then a cooked breakfast of your choice - we chose smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, topped off with freshly brewed coffee. Heaven! (And no need for lunch!)

Totally covered in snow when we arrived, and so very pretty. The garden looked wonderful, even in the snow, and the outdoor pool with slide, and jacuzzi look amazing... I suspect apple trees and raspberry canes were in the distant back of the garden.

One tip, if you come from the A1 (and cross over the A1 bridge) then take the left hand lane, not the right hand one towards Ayot St Peters! If you come through Ayot St Peters, then turn right at the village green and don't go over the A1 bridge!

We will definitely be back in the summer - have to try out that outdoor pool and jacuzzi!

Thank you so Jane and husband (so sorry I can't remember your name), this was the perfect venue to celebrate my husband's 40th birthday - especially as Auberge Du Lac restaurant on the Brocket Hall estate is so close!

Room Tip: The one in the picture with the beams!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott_and_Pamela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

We stayed at Christmas Cottage with our 2 year old son and 3 year old labrador. We received such a lovely warm welcome. We were made to feel at home and nothing was too much trouble. The room was very spacious and comfortable and the breakfast was great, it came with proper coffee and as much toast and orange juice as we wanted.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trav36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Welwyn Garden City hotels
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City Hotel
Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City H...
#2 of 5 in Welwyn Garden City
703 reviews
2.8 mi away
Tewin Bury Farm Hotel
Tewin Bury Farm Hotel
#1 of 5 in Welwyn Garden City
474 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Welwyn Garden City Homestead Court Hotel
Best Western Welwyn Garden City ...
#3 of 5 in Welwyn Garden City
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Brocket Arms
The Brocket Arms
#2 of 6 in Welwyn Garden City
141 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Fairway Tavern
The Fairway Tavern
#4 of 6 in Welwyn Garden City
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Christmas Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christmas Cottage

Address: 3 Ayot Green, Welwyn Garden City AL6 9AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Welwyn Garden City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Welwyn Garden City
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Christmas Cottage Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing