We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Food - Service should be better”

The East - Stanborough
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Food - Service should be better”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Reading some of the reviews here you would think you'd found yourself some skanky old rat infested restaurant in stoke.. Infact, the restaurant looks lovely inside. The food is really nice - boiling hot - freshly cooked i can asure you. The best smoked chicken ive had anywhere and the same goes for the chicken in yellow bean sauce. It is 10 times better then any takeaway ive ordered. Ribs, beef dishes, dim sum and more are all lovely and recommended.

Only downside is the unfriendly service weve experienced the two times weve been so far, drinks served to a few of our guests while the rest were just put in the middle of the table. No smiles, no interaction.. they waitresses definitly wanted us out of here. Then there is a service charge automatically put on - even if its for two people! we were too polite to say no because the over all experience was nice. Better customer service goes along way - even when a jokey chat was tried to be initiated by my parter the waitress gave a half hearted smile and walked off. Such a shame - none the less, we shall be coming back because the food was lovely.

Price wise - you get 20% off on takeaway orders. Its £2-3 more expensive on dishes you would find at a takeaway shop - but its worth it for the quality, freshness and taste.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Smith469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    41
    35
    18
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Food ok. Nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Have eaten in and take away. Food is ok but not special. A couple of time they got the take away order wrong. A bit pricey.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Slop on a plate...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

I had the misfortune to visit this restaurant to celebrate my parent's 50th Wedding Anniversary. The service was peremptory and incompetent. Due to the poor English language skills of all of the waiters the orders for two of the diners were completely wrong. The food was unappetising and insipid. Many of the dishes looked like the slop on a plate that would be served to Prisoners of War. The vegetarian starter for one of the diners was pretty good but everything after that was verging on disastrous. There was no co-ordination with the delivery of the dishes and half of the diners were sat there watching other people eat; and when the dishes were delivered they were not what was ordered. On the positive side the table was well-appointed and the seats were fairly comfortable. I could not in good conscience recommend this restaurant but if you want to pay for expensive food that is lacking in taste and poorly served this could be the restaurant for you.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Mediocre - won't be back”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

We ordered Crispy Beef, Sweet n Sour King Prawn, noodles and rice for takeaway.
It only took 15 mins to prepare the food.
Beef was very soggy & chewy, prawns stoggy & tasteless, the rice and noodles acceptable.
Think the first 2 dishes were just reheated. Hope I'm not ill.
There is a real opportunity for a good chinese takeaway in WGC.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“TERRIBLE CHINESE FOOD”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

We ate in this restaurant last night and the food was dreadful. The sweet and sour fish was tasteless, the chicken in yellow bean sauce was as dry as an old bone and tasteless and the sizzling beef tasted like old leather. The noodles were very greasy and the "Monks vegatables" also very greasy. It would also seem that they cover all of the food in the same sauce.
The service was also very unfriendly. Looking around the restaurant we noticed that we were not the only customers who were not eating the food.
I am sure that the food that was served to us last night came out of a micro-wave cooker and at a cost of £45 it was very over priced. The owners should be ashamed of the quality of the food here. They should visit Hakalok in Welwyn Garden City and sample excellent chinese food.
We have eaten in this restaurant many times before and the food has been ok, but never again. Truly dreadful.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The East - Stanborough also viewed

Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire
Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire
 
Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire
Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire
 
Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire
Hatfield, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The East - Stanborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing