We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DONT DO IT!!!!!!”
Review of The Fairway Tavern

The Fairway Tavern
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Fairway Tavern
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“DONT DO IT!!!!!!”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Stayed here Friday 27th July 2012. The room was tiny and smelly. The bathroom can only be described at best as something you would find in a changing room. We got back to our room at 10 o'clock at night, my 5 year old son had to walk thru a packed bar of people drinking smoking and swearing! Our room was located under the bar so we were kept awake until 1am until the bar closed. We could hear every foot step, every voice and every song the DJ played. There was also a very annoying tapping noise every couple of minutes until the bar closed. At 7.30 in the morning there was someone cutting grass right outside our window!!!! We didn't hang around for breakfast and made a quick exit. I Would absolutely NOT recommend this horrible little hole to anyone!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnny-Carnall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairwaytavern, Owner at The Fairway Tavern, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for your review, we are sorry that you were disappointed with your stay.
You were allocated our disabled room as you requested a blow up air bed to be provided for your son as we do not have family accommodation, this would have made the room a lot more crowded than normal. Also being a disabled room, the bathroom is designed as a roll in wet room specifically for wheelchair users. Our rooms are redecorated twice a year and we take pride in keeping them clean and tidy so do not understand your comments regarding the cleanliness. Unfortunately you were not informed on booking that there was an event taking place - where possible we try to inform our guests in advance - we can only apologise for this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    7
    9
    5
    4
See reviews for
11
10
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
hertfordshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

On the 2nd June we were married at the Fairway Tavern. We chose this venue as it offered a reasonable wedding package. We must say that the organisation , food and disco made it the perfect day for us. The sun shone and we were married in a gazebo in the lovely grounds. Emma, Fiona and her team did not leave any details to fault . We also stayed overnight in the hotel and found the rooms very comfortable and woke in the morning to a more than substantial full English breakfast. Many thanks Fairway for making it such a memorable day and stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chihuahua10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairwaytavern, Owner at The Fairway Tavern, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for your very kind comments, we are glad that you had a wonderful wedding day and an enjoyable overnight stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Bizzare. Like a conference centre without the security.
The bedrooms are a small crescent of rooms outside opening out onto a golf course. Rooms are underneath the golf club bar round the back of dark concrete steps (I arrived at night on my own as a female traveller). Bar was full of drunk people where I had to "check in". Man behind the bar however was really polite and ensured I was ok, walked me down outside to the room, made sure heating was on which was very thoughtful.
Breakfast awful / cereal in plastic containers or toast that took 15 mins when in a rush.
Same old: you get what you pay for so if you don't have to don't go here! Even if it's just for one night for last minute business etc. It's just not a hotel of any sort & shouldn't be on late rooms. It gets a two as opposed to a one star as the man was so kind behind the bar !!!

Room Tip: There aren't any unless you are a male who doesn't mind being in the middle of nowhere with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sjuk28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairwaytavern, Owner at The Fairway Tavern, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for your comments. Our premises are classified as guest accommodation (not a hotel) with a 3 star commended rating from the AA, who provide regular anonymous checks on our facilities. I am sorry that you had some concerns as a lone woman guest and are pleased that you were accompanied down to your room by a member of our staff. I note your comment about the breakfast and like most establishments we offer a buffet style self service for cereals and juice. All cooked breakfasts are freshly prepared to order so there will always be a slight delay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Welwyn Garden City
1.8 mi away
Best Western Welwyn Garden City Homestead Court Hotel
Best Western Welwyn Garden City ...
#3 of 5 in Welwyn Garden City
493 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tewin Bury Farm Hotel
Tewin Bury Farm Hotel
#1 of 5 in Welwyn Garden City
423 reviews
2.4 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 2 in Welwyn
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Beales Hatfield Hotel
Beales Hatfield Hotel
#1 of 6 in Hatfield
654 reviews
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City Hotel
Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City H...
#2 of 5 in Welwyn Garden City
657 reviews
5.2 mi away
Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairway Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairway Tavern

Property: The Fairway Tavern
Address: Fairway Tavern Old Herns Lane, Welwyn Garden City AL7 2ED, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Welwyn Garden City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Welwyn Garden City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fairway Tavern 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying a picturesque location, this property is located on Panshanger Golf Complex, with lodge style bedrooms opening out onto views of the golf course and rolling countryside. Bedrooms are small but smartly presented and are well equipped for business and leisure guests. Breakfast and bar meals are served by the friendly staff in the adjacent pub. A large peaceful garden and a function room for private hire are available. Play and stay golf packages can be organised and there is free ample on-site parking. Nearby attractions include Hatfield House, Knebworth House & Gardens, St. Albans Cathedral, Shaw's Corner, Hertford Castle and Welwyn Roman Baths. London Kings Cross is only 20 minutes away by train. PLEASE NOTE THAT WE DO NOT OFFER A 24 HOUR RECEPTION. CHECK-IN IS BETWEEN 14:00 & 22:30 HRS. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Fairway Tavern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairway Tavern Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing