We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Enjoyable Evening” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ask Italian - CLOSED

Ask Italian
Price range: $9 - $16
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: ASK Italian in Welwyn Garden is a place for great food and warm service. Think fresh bread made to tear and share. A glass of fine wine worth deserving of your time. Delicious main dishes prepared the traditional way. Everything we know and love about Italian food is served straight to your table.
southampton
Level Contributor
61 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable Evening”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Following a business meeting in Welwyn seven colleagues and I went for a meal in Welwyn however, I have to follow a wheat-free diet. Thankfully, ASK offers a gluten-free menu with a fair amount of choice for me so we settled for that. The service was good, efficient and friendly. My colleagues weren't disappointed so, all-round we had a satisfying evening. Thanks to ASK for making it quite clear on their website that they can cater for coeliacs (which I am not but, I knew I coul d eat of that menu without having any qualms). It is a pity other chains don't make life so easy but, ASK benefitted from the trade. I will be using them again in my hometown of southampton

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank halftimeorange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    37
    20
    19
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Cold”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

The Restaurant was cold, food not brilliant the only thing which cheered us up was the waiting staff who stood and joked with us, the restaurant was not at all busy.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“One of the nicer Italian chain restaurants”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

We visited on a Wednesday and it was fairly quiet. This was our first visit to an ‘ASK’ restaurant and we were not disappointed.

The food was good with nice portions, fresh and hot, not ‘drenched with sauces’ as is often the case with Italian chain restaurants

Service was good and cheerful, so overall a very pleasant evening.

Would visit again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mat O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Ask is Ask”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Good food, same at any other place around the country....nice spot in town opposite the water fountain! Good place for lunch and nice for families. Again average price, circa £20 ph inc drinks but if you like pizza pasta it's ok.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marios A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

The service here is always terrible! Met at the door and left waiting. Grunty waiters. Slow service. Food average.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ask Italian also viewed

Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire
Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire
 
Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire
Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire
 
Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire
Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing