We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best by far”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Bulls Head & Lodge
Ranked #2 of 7 Altrincham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 8, 2009

On our trips to Britain from Canada the Bulls head was usually our first stop for an excellent midday meal.
As friends could not put us up this time we decided to try the Bulls Head for a two night stay and we found it to be overpriced.
The rooms are dated and the beds "the ones that our friends and my wife and I” slept in were worn out or very cheap, as we were attacked by bedsprings through the night. This we informed the receptionist of and I hope the message got passed along.
All in all, the place was just OK and nothing to write home about apart from the Breakfast which was extra but good value.
Unless they replace the beds we will not be staying there again, close to the airport or not.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wingers2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (340)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

333 - 339 of 340 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2007

Cleanliness could be majorly improved - decor needs updating - service not the best and generally overpriced for what you are getting. The receptionist when in attendance was very pleasant though, but unfortunately what seemed to be management lacked interest and people skills.
Apparantly it has been taken over and I would personally say that has had a downhill affect on the place overall - I had stayed here previously and found it more satisfactory.
Unless they raise their standards or drop their rates I think they will find business lacking!

Stayed: October 2007
Thank traveltowork999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2007

Found our 2 night stay at The Lodge next to The Bulls Head in Hale Barns excellent. For £56 per night it was excellent value. Large room with king size bed. Power shower and nice shower gel. Very quiet overlooking bowling green. Room exactly as you would find in a 4 star hotel. TV, trouser press, tea/coffee, hairdryer. Breakfast next door at The Bulls Head very good for £7.95 for Full English or £4.95 for Contintental. A 5 minute walk is Hale Barns precinct with an excellent Chinese, Italian and Corbans gastro pub. The Sunday morning we went to the Jewish bakery for breakfast. Only a 5 minute taxi from Manchester Airport and Altrincham. Will stay again.

10  Thank bombshell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled solo
Thank Pauline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
natalie r, Manager at The Bulls Head & Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pmjvanzon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded August 21, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank sci71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4apa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Altrincham
2.1 mi away
Best Western Cresta Court Hotel
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Altrincham Hotel
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Altrincham Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel
1.7 mi away
Etrop Grange
Etrop Grange
#65 of 120 in Manchester
1,432 reviews
3.9 mi away
Ash Farm Country Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bulls Head & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bulls Head & Lodge

Address: Wicker Lane | Hale Barns, Altrincham WA15 0HG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Trafford > Altrincham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Altrincham
Price Range: $96 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bulls Head & Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Bulls Head & Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bulls Head And Lodge
The Bulls Head Hotel Altrincham
The Bulls Head & Lodge Altrincham, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing