We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Bulls Head & Lodge
Ranked #2 of 7 Altrincham B&B and Inns
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Good hotel with big apartments (according to other hotels in GB). Near hotel you can see squirrels. The hotel placed near Bull's head bar- really good bar with old athmosphere. Really good stuff - always can make your staing in the hotel better. And good value for money!

Room Tip: All rooms good. We staied at 2nd floor with view to houses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elena371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    100
    29
    17
    8
See reviews for
51
126
8
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 1 night prior to flight out of Manchester. great location, good rooms, good breakfast and only 5 minutes drive from the airport. Staff were polite and friendly. Would highly recomend. Much better than airport hotels I have used in the area.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Carl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Our son got married to a young woman from Hale Barns and the last few days of celebrations were in Hale. My wife and 4 children stayed at the Bulls Heads for 3 nights. We had two connecting rooms. Dennis (the propieter) had made sure that the rooms were made up with the extra beds in the children's room. Everything was set up before we even checked in (towels, linens, etc). We had been travelling since early that morning so this extra care was greatly appreciated. We've previously stayed at the Marriot (down Hale Road) but the comfort, the personal service (and the quiet) at the Bulls Head exceeded that of the Marriot. On leaving on Monday morning, Dennis took the time to draw us a map of how to get to the airport and avoid the typical Monday morning traffic. Thank you Dennis, Ian and Chris

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nachmangoodman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morfa Nefyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Used The Bull as a stop off following our return flight from Manchester, the whole experience from the booking procedure through to departure was excellent and faultless, although the pub could be described as 'tired' all areas were clean , the hotel accommodation was excellent value for money, our family enjoyed two adjoining rooms which was a better solution than many travel lodge family rooms, we arrived late after the last food orders but were still provided with freshly prepared sandwiches which were excellent. We were offered a breakfast which was charged as an additional cost, this represented excellent value with a choice of continental and cooked. Nothing was too much trouble, all staff were attentive and truly wanted to make our stay special. We shall definitely return for a short break.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bryncynan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

The best hotel near any other airports. About 20 rooms, friendly stuff, very good breakfast ( oatmeal and eggs with really good bacon, not fat, it's meat!). Little minus - old mattresses. Squirrels live near hotel. Good bar - The bulls head ( as I remember "bar of the year 1996") with authentic atmosphere, old chairs and additional tables on the open air.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Elena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dereham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed at this hotel which has a pub adjacent to it. All very tired but not bad value. Food in the pub was mixed with a good bar meal in the evening but breakfast was woeful. One man acting as chef and waiter and he was obviously not happy!! Breakfast was luke warm and he ran out of bacon saying "oh well everyone will have to have sausage then". OK for an overnight stay but that's about it

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brstocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taurinya, Languedoc-Roussillon, France
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

For the price we paid, this place couldn't have been better. We were a large family group arriving at different times for a wedding, and the staff went out of their way to help us, preparing the room quickly when we arrived 2 hours early to check in, providing coffee whilst we waited, and generally being very pleasant. The room and the bed were very comfortable, and the hotel extremely quiet. Breakfast in the adjacent pub was very good too. Thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Altrincham
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane North
1.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Manchester Altrincham Cresta Court Hotel
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane South
0.8 mi away
Manchester Airport Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bulls Head & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bulls Head & Lodge

Property: The Bulls Head & Lodge
Address: Wicker Lane | Hale Barns, Altrincham, Trafford WA15 0HG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Trafford > Altrincham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Altrincham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bulls Head & Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Bulls Head & Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bulls Head Hotel Altrincham
The Bulls Head And Lodge
The Bulls Head & Lodge Altrincham, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing