We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent find, friendly and great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Bulls Head & Lodge
Ranked #2 of 6 Altrincham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Essex
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“An excellent find, friendly and great value”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed here and have booked inn already for a third. We have family nearby and this is the perfect place to stay for us.

The staff are very friendly and helpful particularly the owner, lovely chap. The rooms are comfortable and well appointed with superb showers! That made my wife's weekend!

The food and drink is served next door in the pub which is a lovely old fashioned proper pub. The evening food is excellent (try the corned beef hash) and loads of different beers to try.

The breakfast is also excellent.

It is situated in Hale Barns which is approx 5 minute drive to Manchester Airport and more importantly, 15 minutes from the Trafford Centre!

All in all, an excellent place to stay for a couple of nights or even longer. Brilliant value and a pleasure to come back.

See you soon!

Room Tip: Only stayed in two and both ave been fine and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EssexGils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    105
    35
    17
    8
See reviews for
58
143
8
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Overhaul good size room very warm, clean. The staff are very friendly and couldn't do enough for us, they went that extra mile, they got their cook to make us bacon sandwiches before breakfast opened because we had to leave early, which helped us on our journey.. Like I say brilliant place to stay lovely food lovely staff. We stopped at the Radison last year because it was closer to the airport and found this pub as we didn't like the Radison (over priced for what you get). My personal opinion would be to stay at the bulls head lodge as much more friendly atmosphere to start your holiday off, it cost 10 pound for a taxi to air port. We will definitely be stopping here when we travel from Manchester next year.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Stayed here for one night as I was attending a 2 day training course close to Manchester Aiport and needed somewhere cheap and cheerful. This turned out to be a gem. Check in was smooth without issue and good info given re meal times at pub next door / breakfast etc. Room was fine, while not the most modern it had everything you would find at more commonly used hotel chains, tv, trouser press, hot shower and above all FREE WIFI (why some hotels still charge for wifi in this day and age is beyond me!) and FREE parking for the duration of my stay (again, not always the case). Pub next door was very welcoming, oak beams, lived in kind of feel and staff / clientele were very pleasant. Food very good value and tasty too. On the day of my checkout I left my mobile phone in my room, not a problem, I called them up when I realised and they went and found it for me and kept hold of it until I returned later that evening. Many thanks. Will definitely be using this place again should I be in need of something in the Manchester Airport area. Recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed here following our flight from Egypt as we did not want to drive home until the next day and the proximity to the airport is very good. When we arrived we were made to feel very welcome and the pub being next door was great. The room was very well equipped and the breakfast excellent. The owner of the hotel was most helpful the next day as our car was completely frozen and we had no de-icer with us. Definitely value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jakiw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanley, Falkland Islands
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We booked this lodge at the last minute, as we were going to a christening on the Sunday, and did not want to be caught out by the weather, if fog was around on the Sunday morning. We found the Lodge quite easily, but you do have to look out for the road sign as you come through Hale Barns where it is situated. The man on reception was very friendly, and booking in was done with ease, and we were pointed in the right direction to our room, and told that the Bulls Head Pub next door did meals, and breakfast the next morning if wanted. Our room was very clean and tidy, about the size Lodge rooms usually are but to a better standard, with free wi fi if needed.
After we had settled ourselves in we went over to the pub for something to eat, which even though the menu was not extensive, the food was very good and laid out in a good way. After our meal we settled down to a few drinks, and sampled a very good atmosphere. All in I think it was a choice well made, and would not hesitate to stop again. Also for those with shopping in mind it is only just over 15mins to the Trafford centre, via the M56, or through Altringham which is a bit more fiddly.

Room Tip: Rooms 408-410 are separate and quieter due to being down an offshoot to the main corridor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed here for one night prior to our flight the next morning. The room itself looked quite well kept and clean but the bed was TERRIBLE. I have never tried to sleep in such a lumpy bed, you could feel every spring. I did tell a member of staff as we checked out but she was not really bothered!! they already had our money.
The room we had was able to be an adjoining room, which you could every word through this doorway. We could even hear the guy ordering his pizza at 3am and also hear the guy at the pizza shop answering him!!
Terrible non nights sleep.
However the Bulls Head next door did quite a nice meal with quite traditional surroundings.

Room Tip: Dont get an adjoining room and check the bed if you must stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMRHP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed at his hotel the night before we caught our flight at Manchester airport for home. It was very quiet and comfortable and we really enjoyed the pub and wonderful food. The proximity to the airport is great. It was a rainy day and the girls at the pub suggested we go to Trafford Centre. It is not to be believed. The most opulent mall we have ever seen. A must see.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Altrincham
1.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane North
2.1 mi away
Best Western Manchester Altrincham Cresta Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport
1.9 mi away
Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport
0.8 mi away
Manchester Airport Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bulls Head & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bulls Head & Lodge

Property: The Bulls Head & Lodge
Address: Wicker Lane | Hale Barns, Altrincham, Trafford WA15 0HG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Trafford > Altrincham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Altrincham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bulls Head & Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The Bulls Head & Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bulls Head And Lodge
The Bulls Head Hotel Altrincham
The Bulls Head & Lodge Altrincham, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing