We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Found a new home from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mort Subite

Mort Subite
Ranked #1 of 7 Nightlife in Altrincham
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Barnsley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Found a new home from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Myself and a work colleague were in Altrincham on a course.
In the evenings we found what I can only describe as the best bar I have ever attended.
The ambience, decor, staff and beer selection were all first class and a credit to the owner.
Given the vast selection of beers available, the waitresses always had the ability to provide an in depth describiption, allowing you to make appropriate choices.
Im now a convert of that little pink elephant - Delerium tremens!!!
I have recommended the bar to all my friends and colleagues and will try and make a regular pilgrimage over the penines

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    11
    1
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We went here for a quick drink before dinner but stayed longer than expected!
The welcome was warm by the owner as well as the very knowledgeable waitresses who gave excellent advise. The choice of beer was overwhelming and we spent some time sampling. I would recommend trying one of the platters. We tried the meat and cheese and it was lovely.
The atmosphere was great and difficult to describe - I would advise everybody to get down there and give it a try!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Janny20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“What A Fantastic Selection Of Beers!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Go down the stairs to enter this Bar and you will be greeted by one of the very charming and efficient waitresses.. Take a seat at your table, take in the very laid-back atmosphere and then take time to peruse the extensive drinks menu. I can honestly say that I have never seen such a fantastic selection of beers on offer anywhere in this country. Beers from the UK, Germany etc and of course lots from the beer drinking capital of Europe - Beligium. All brought to your candle-lit table, with free "nibbles", for you to enjoy at your leisure!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Absolutely first class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

I frequent Mort Subite often for its enticing and magical ambience and exquisite drinks. It is the best bar in Altrincham by far. The service is brilliant and the staff knowledgable. It is as though one enters a Parisian Art Nouveau dream. I cannot fault it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Claudia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and beers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

I really enjoy evenings at Mort Subite and will be there again on Saturday. As soon as you go down the stairs and draw back the curtain, you receive a very warm greeting from one of the attentive bar staff and enter the bar itself which has an atmospheric, relaxed vibe. The decor conjures up a French salon from the 19th century with tables and chairs suitable for couples, small or larger groups. You can then peruse the extensive menu of beers from all over Europe as well as home-produced guest beers. The staff are very knowledgeable and will give you advice and recommendations. I particularly enjoy the McChouffe but have tried a varied selection, enjoying every one. Don't worry if you are more of a wine drinker (I am too!) you will find a beer to suit you or failing that there are some good wines available.The place always seems to be really busy, particularly at the weekend, so its better to book a table.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Triptykonnoisseur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mort Subite also viewed

Altrincham, Trafford
Altrincham, Trafford
 
Altrincham, Trafford
 

Been to Mort Subite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing