We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“family carvery”

Hare and Hounds pub
Ranked #90 of 217 Restaurants in Altrincham
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed September 23, 2017

We took our family (from Eastbourne and Oldham) for a visit in the middle of the week. We all had carvery's which were good. The turkey and beef was delicious but the gammon we found to be too salty. The bar man was very pleasant and friendly so overall had a very nice meal in pleasant surroundings. Will visit again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Barbaraellen2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taverners T, Owner at Hare and Hounds pub, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2017

Hi Barbaraellen2014,

Thanks for your lovely kind words regarding your visit at The Hare and Hounds. We hopefully will see you in the future.

Thanks,
Lesley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (330)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 55 of 330 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2017 via mobile

I Like the refurbishment! It looks a lot better! Quite quiet for a Sunday which was nice!
The 3 meats were gammon, turkey and beef! The gammon was lovely, turkey was dry and the beef was okay!
It's good that they have homemade Yorkshire puddings but they were nothing to rave about! They were so thin and like wafers, they just broke into pieces when I cut into it!
All the rest was fine! Roast potatoes were lovely as were the carrots!
There wasn't too much choice in regards to veg and there was no mash!
The desserts sounded lovely but was so full up that I couldn't possibly order one!
All in all it was a nice carvery and would probably visit again!

Thank Amy-EvieP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2017 via mobile

food was terrible all dry looked like it had been sat there a long time really disappointed plates smelt like wet dog and the spoon for the pudding hadn't been washed still lip marks on it from the last person that used it don't think we will.be returning phoned to speak to a manager but she's never there apparently waste of best part of £40 !

1  Thank Leonie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taverners T, Owner at Hare and Hounds pub, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2017

Hi Leonie T,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We take all your comments on board.

Thanks again,
Lesley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2017 via mobile

First visit after refurb its looks great another good filling carvery accompanied by couple of pints again the food was great and staff very good attitude to customers special mention to bar staff dave the bar manager couldn't do enough with service and manners no queuing at all 5star staff and food

Thank mooncub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taverners T, Owner at Hare and Hounds pub, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2017

Hi Mooncub,
Thanks for leaving your review of 5stars. I will also pass your comments on to Dave.
Thanks again for your very kind words.

Many thanks,
Lesley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2017

Very disappointed they have hiked the prices so you get less for more and the food is still not hot, to say it was tepid would be an exaggeration needless to say won't be coming back !

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Janet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taverners T, Owner at Hare and Hounds pub, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2017

Hi Janet P,

Thanks for taking the time to write your review on your experience at The Hare.
I'm sorry that on this occasion you didn't enjoy your time with us.
Many thanks,
Lesley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hare and Hounds pub also viewed

West Timperley, Trafford
 
Altrincham, Trafford
 

Been to Hare and Hounds pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing