We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect day out”

Dunham Massey Hall & Gardens
Ranked #1 of 19 things to do in Altrincham
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

I visited with my little brother and decided to pay for both the house & gardens, which was a very reasonable price. We visited on a gorgeous day and with the sun shining it allowed us to take full advantage of the gorgeous gardens, sitting amongst the deer enjoying an ice cream! The tour of the house provides a very detailed history of the building & the families who lived there and the flower gardens provide a beautiful tranquil walk. We will definatly be returning to see it transformed into the war hospital next year!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kerryjanee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,494 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    925
    451
    80
    27
    11
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good day out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Lots to see and do a destination with something for all. The house is interesting and full of history.
The gardens are lovely and well worth a visit. A great place for the children to run around in. The deer are roaming around grazing and rabbits and squirrels are constantly in view! We went on a tour around the grounds with a guide she was very informative. All the volunteers were very helpful in fact The restaurant was excellent lots of goodies if you are hungry or just need a snack. All in all a good day out. if you are a National Trust member it is free for you too.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A peaceful beautiful place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

My husband and I went for a day out to Dunham Massey. We paid to visit the house and gardens and were not disappointed. The gardens are beautiful and full of a wide variety of plants. The House is very interesting and full of lots of interesting furniture and textiles. Children would also find it fun to explore as we saw a few children enjoying it and they are not expected to just be quiet. Staff talk to all and are enthusiastic to share their knowledge. The lady in the little church or prayer room was great and was amusing and lovely. The kitchen areas were very interesting and make you appreciate all the mod cons we now have. We had a tea and scones in the restaurant, around £7 odd and was so nice, well worth the price. Outside deer wander freely and they are quite friendly. Beware your ice cream as one tried to pinch mine. Ha ha!!!! Such beautiful animals. I whole heatedly recommend this to all, it's a wonderful day out for all the family. Also nearly forgot we went when they were having a teddy bears picnic and it was lovely. Keep an eye out for bears that sneak off for snoozes in the flower beds!!!! Beautiful that's all there is to say and what a fantastic band stand. They were great and played James Bond!!! Excellent!!!!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bunnygirl07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Seeing the house is closed on fridays we were only able to visit the gardens. Enjoyed a lovely day strolling around the extensive gardens. We specially enjoyed the deers & ducks. You can buy feed for the ducks at the shop and have a nice cup of tea and lucious scones at the stable cafe. A shuttle service is on offer for visitors in need a a lift from the car park to the house. Lovely place specially for families, seeing you can bring a little picnic and sit on the lawns, while the children play. We will most certainly pop back and visit the house & gardens next time we are close by.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MiniMoo404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place for all the family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Having just rejoined the National Trust we decided to revisit Dunham. Although we did,nt visit the house we did take a lengthy walk round the grounds and took many photo,s of the numerous deer.
Weather wise it was,nt the best of days but it did,nt detract from this glorious place, the cars in car park were testament to this, many people feel the same as us I think.
The cafe has an excellent menu with even a few items that are gluten free for those of you who are restricted. Great day out and next time we,ll take a tour of the house.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Flup2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dunham Massey Hall & Gardens also viewed

 
Knutsford, Cheshire
Altrincham, Trafford
 

Been to Dunham Massey Hall & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing