We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A really fab fun filled family day out!”

Dunham Massey Hall & Gardens
Ranked #1 of 19 things to do in Altrincham
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A really fab fun filled family day out!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We spent the day and thought it was fab. A beautiful house, gardens and grounds. There was a great bumble bee trail around the gardens for the kids which made it fun. There was also a crime to solve whilst walking around the house. The kids had to interview servants and butlers to try to find out who stole the Lady's silver hairbrush. The staff were great and acted out their parts so well that even I was convinced I was speaking to a scullery maid. Well worth a visit!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaje86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,496 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    926
    452
    80
    27
    11
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A grand day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Dunham has a huge car park that is free to National Trust members but there is a fee for none members. Although there are also several entrances to the park that have limited free parking and if you only want to use the park then the whole day can be free.

Being a National Trust property is has the usaual trust restaurant, shop and toilets. I have used the restaurnat in the past but did not use it this time as I had a big meal planned for the evening and did not want to spoil my appotite. The restaurant is usually very popular especially at 12.00 when it first opens with big queues with the queue tapering off a little later. The food is good with seasonal fair but sometimes feels a little expensive for what you get but it is to support the property you have gone to see.

The extensive park lands with deer are great to let the children run around in or to amble through listening to the bird calls and trying to see where they are. There are some areas that are loosley out of bounds protected by a low fence where the trees are not managed and can fall down and hurt people so better to stay out of the marked areas for your own safety.

Dunham Massey has also has a formal garden and house. A charge is made to none National Trust members to visit the house and formal gardens. The house is fascinating and the room guides, the volunteers in the room, are very knowledgeable. You will get the most out of the trip if you do not have children with you as you will be able to go slower and spend more time chatting to the room guides who are always interesting. If it is not possible to go without children then the house does its best to entertain them by having quizzes and search trail as you go around the house.

The formal gardens have two sections. As you walk into the gardens through the gate this is the very formal section with paths winding through the fomal beds but if you go over the bridge you will find wider open speces where once again children can let of steam and run around whilst you look at the flowers. Be careful though as there are sections of water here and there that could pose a danger. None of the water look very deep but it is hard to see as the bottom is quite muddy.

Currently in the formal gardens they have several sculptures to entertain and intreague.

Growing up in Manchester I have seen Dunham change over the years but my favourite room is still the kitchen it has a really wow factor where if you look carefully you can see all the changes from the very early spit roast through the charcole burners to the modern day state of the art range all the feed the big house.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Saaby665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heald Green Cheshire
Level Contributor
201 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“nice walk in the estate grounds”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

lots to see and do on the estate, my only annoyance the car park charges, there are tours of the house, and the cafe is good value

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paulandbetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Good long walk around the whole estate or stroll around the hall & garden”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We visited Dunham Massey on a cold but sunny day in March. We are National Trust members so had free access to the car park the hall and gardens but even at the regular prices this estate is well worth it! A long walk through the deer reserve was so refreshing if a little brisk, the deer were not disturbed by our presence and I was able to get some lovely pictures here. We didn't actually go into the hall as we had set out late and it was getting to closing time but we managed the garden walk. Although at this time of year it wasn't in full bloom but you can still see lots of wildlife. We called into the restaurant for some juice and ended up with a little kiddies packed lunch for £3.50 (4 items sandwich/large cookie/mini cheddars/juice box) great value for what we wanted. Can't wait to visit again when the weather is kinder and the flowers and trees are in full flow.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann_Flinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
108 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Plenty to see and do”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

This place has something for everyone: a historic (but not ancient) house; excellent gardens with a winter garden; miles of walking in the grounds. If I have criticisms it would be that access to the winter gardens is overpriced and also try not to go at busy times as you might have to queue for the car park (in one of the NT's most visited properties).

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank GreyTraveller69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dunham Massey Hall & Gardens also viewed

 
Knutsford, Cheshire
Altrincham, Trafford
 

Been to Dunham Massey Hall & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing