We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an opportunity missed”
Review of Man Zen - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Man Zen
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
691 reviews
411 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“What an opportunity missed”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

For the only proper Chinese restaurant in Hale this misses the goal in so many ways. A bit of cheer amongst the staff would go a long way to making up for what is pretty ordinary food. I feel that there standards have dropped over the years and they could do with a bit more enthusiasm for presenting an enjoyable experience to the customers. Watty

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Watty5657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    7
    3
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cheshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“"Awful threw it in the bin"”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

I am a classically trained Chef. I only expect a standard I am paying for. I had a take away from this place and it's possibly the worst food I have ever had as a take away. I had chicken with cashew nuts and a portion or chips with a separate curry sauce. Both for sharing I might add.
The chicken was the most bland dish I have experienced. The chicken was a stringy consistency,rather like the chicken you get from Holland (which is the cheap water injected kind that some places used to import) I am not aware of it still being on the market. Anyway the veg in the dish was the cheap frozen mixed veg type. The chips where the cheap 9/16th fries type, typical supermarket value stuff. Whatever happened to nice home made potato fried in olive oil. Come on Manzen your supposed to be a top of the range restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ndg1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I like the service, food and atmosphere here. Great for families and birthday celebrations.
Gandchildren love this place and the food.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank 734suzannem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“over rated and pushy not very pleasant staff”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I did not like this at all the food is overpriced although good, The service is good but all the time they are trying to sell you more drinks for the children, very overpriced for a chinese

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Debbie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
286 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Good food and service at reasonable prices”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I have been eating at the Man Zen for some years, but never thought to review it. Very good food. Service is fine. Early bird menu very good value. Best of all, carpets and linen, so the noise does not bounce off the surfaces. Very recommendable.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dopeyhopey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Man Zen also viewed

Altrincham, Trafford
 
Altrincham, Trafford
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing