We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do try it”

Swan with Two Nicks
Ranked #12 of 182 Restaurants in Altrincham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $28
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Had Sunday lunch here today, lovely atmosphere and good food if a little on the expensive side, I had the poached salmon and prawn salad which is to be recommended, my fellow diners had crab salad and steak pies, the steak was very tender. Puddings of syrup sponge pudding and custard, bread and butter pudding and mint and choc chip ice cream, All in all a grand meal and a lovely afternoon in a very pleasant spot which is just a short stroll from Dunham Massey to walk the meal off. Do try it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sproutlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annabel206, Manager at Swan with Two Nicks, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Lovely to hear that we have another satisfied customer. We may not be as cheap in price as the big brewery chains, we are a small independent pub that supports local suppliers for high quality produce and our pricing reflects this, but the end product is worth paying for. Thank you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (789)
There are newer reviews for Swan with Two Nicks
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

668 - 672 of 789 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2013

We called here for lunch towards then end of a canal and countryside walk from Dunham Massey. It looks very nice from the outside and has a reasonably sized outside seating area, some of which is marked as "non-smoking", a very welcome and thoughtful characteristic.
We ordered BLT sandwiches with chips and I specifically asked whether the brown bread was plain brown or granary. I was assured that it was brown but when it arrived it was in fact granary so I had to take it back. I agreed to have white instead and the replacement didn't take too long to arrive but was very disappointing. The slice of bacon was nothing special and the bread had been buttered in the middle but not towards the edges. While some may think this comment rather pedantic, I do think a decent sandwich should not be too difficult to get right. The bread was nothing special either.
Not one to revisit sadly.

1  Thank OscarsAunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Looked for a dog friendly pub, we came across the swan with two nicks. We were absolutely delighted by the staff, friendly, warm and fantastic food. The landlord and lady worked endlessly, we loved it so much we had lunch then stayed for tea after our walk. See you around again very soon. A++

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jacqueline Roxi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annabel206, Manager at Swan with Two Nicks, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2013

We all appreciate your kind words, glad you have found us and look forward to seeing you again soon .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Great beer excellent food,speciality the fish,and a great ambionce.it is very dog friendly,with close proximity to dunham

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank kay b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Charming surroundings, good ambience, prompt, efficient and friendly service but very average under-seasoned food with unimaginative vegetables (carrots, frozen peas and winter cabbage). Quality rather than the huge portions please!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bimfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annabel206, Manager at Swan with Two Nicks, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2013

I have passed you review onto the Head Chef and Kitchen team, we take on board all comments re the food both positive and negative. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swan with Two Nicks also viewed

Altrincham, Trafford
Altrincham, Trafford
 
Altrincham, Trafford
 
 

Been to Swan with Two Nicks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing