We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always good value”

Swan with Two Nicks
Ranked #14 of 194 Restaurants in Altrincham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $28
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Having been to the Swan and Two Nicks dozens of times since first discovering it, and having sampled over 3/4 of the main food menu and been on virtually every social occasion (Birthdays, goodbye meals, goodbye drinks, social gatherings) I have always found the staff, food, and above all the atmosphere superb.

I am often surprised to read negative reviews. While I must own to having not been on a Sunday afternoon when it gets really busy, every-time I go there I am treated with a warm smile and good service (I have worked in customer service-oriented jobs for over 3 years so I know what it looks like) and haven't yet been disappointed, and neither have the numerous friends I have dragged all the way out to Little Bollington through the winding roads for a meal or a drink! The only gripe someone could level is that the food is a little pricey, having said that the quality of the food (Locally sourced) has never been less than excellent, and the portions are not stingy either.

The surroundings are beautiful and even on a dull rainy day this cosy pub is worth a visit, on a beautiful winter/or summer's day it is simply a must visit, especially if you have come to visit Dunham Massey as it's literally a 10 minute walk through the fields of Dunham to get there. The ambiance is precisely what you would expect from a country pub surrounded by the rich local history of Dunham: Good drink, good food, good service and good atmosphere. Bring along some good company to throw into the mix and enjoy :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annabel206, Manager at Swan with Two Nicks, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review, it makes our job worthwhile to know we are making people happy. Thanks again. Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (809)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

729 - 733 of 809 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2013

last minute booking for the family for new years eve dinner, got a table right next tio the log fire! as soon as we walked in the greeting was great, seated straight away and drinks order was taken. drinks arrived within 5 minutes, took our food orders, food was delivered within 30 minutes and wow was it nice!!! the homemade steak and ale pie that i ordered was simp[ly delicious, all our meals were! we left full and happy even the kids! will we return? you betta believe we will!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank paul s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annabel206, Manager at Swan with Two Nicks, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

I totally agree our Steak and Ale pie is yummy, great to hear that you had a lovely dinner and thank you for posting the review. It really does make the staff feel their hard work is appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Best pub in miles well worth hunting out and great wals around Dunham Massey tyhen back for good food and drinks around open fires, and excellent company and satff!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank martinwc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annabel206, Manager at Swan with Two Nicks, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dunham Massey for a walk, then real ales and a log fire, what a way to spend an afternoon, so pleased we can do that for you and thank you for posting the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We ate at the Swan with Two Nicks over the New Year break and looked forward to our meal at the pub as it is quite attractive and in a lovely location. However, we were disappointed. The two steaks we ordered were virtually inedible (poor quality meat, or possibly defrosted rapidly). Although we were offered a refund for the worse of the two, when the bill arrived it had not been deducted so we had to ask again. The staff need training in how to serve without leaning across in front of diners' faces - there was plenty of room for them to come round to the other side to avoid this.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Family152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annabel206, Manager at Swan with Two Nicks, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Thank you for informing me of a problem via Trip advisor, i will be in touch to find out exactly what went wrong as we pride ourselves on fabulous food as the other reviewers have stated. Many thanks again
Ann Amphlett manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Ate here as a family on New Years Day after a muddy walk at nearby Tatton Park. pub very busy so glad we had booked , however our table was ready and waiting . you can take dogs in the bar area but this cannot be booked and was very busy. Staff very attentive and nothing too much trouble including finding out how hot the curry was. food very nice and walker size portions. There is a main menu plus specials and a childrens for under 10s. All home cooked restaurant very busy with lots of children but thanks to the staff atmosphere was very chilled, free sweets go a long way !!
Like another reviewer we had stopped eating here after an expensive indifferent experience but after reading reviews on here decided to try again and we are glad we did. It certainly is the nicest pub around for a family friendly meal. would recommend

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sophki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annabel206, Manager at Swan with Two Nicks, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Always good to hear positive feedback and thank you for taking the time to write the review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swan with Two Nicks also viewed

Altrincham, Trafford
Altrincham, Trafford
 
Altrincham, Trafford
 
 

Been to Swan with Two Nicks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing