We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simplicity” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Altrincham Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Altrincham Lodge
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Altrincham
Heckmondwike, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Simplicity”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed overnight at the end of November. The first room we were given had a smell of smoke but no problem they immediately moved us. The room was everything we needed for a one night stay, the bed was comfortable and the room had a decent bathroom with shower. There was tea and coffee making facilities and it was very warm, so much so we had to turn the radiators down. Our only real issue was that the toilet cistern seemed to take a long time to fill. One other point was there was only one small window that could not be fully opened. It was an adequate simple clean place to stay for one night but I wouldn't have chosen it for a longer stay. We stayed here because we wanted to go into Manchester to the Christmas Market and have an evening out and for that it was great for the purpose. Manchester has a great tram service and about 5 to 10 minutes walk is Timperley tram station where we got a tram right into the City centre. We came back and actually went for a drink in the very good pub (The Pelican) attached to the hotel. Overall it was a lovely trip and the hotel was convenient and cheap enabling us to achieve what we wanted.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelMoose_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    93
    85
    28
    22
See reviews for
51
123
16
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

This is a return visit to Altrincham Lodge.

When booking our room we requested a certain part of the Hotel and our request was granted. As with our last visit and people can only speak as they find. We found our room and the bathroom to be very clean, as was the bed linen and the towels.

We paid £40 for our night's stay plus £3.99 each for a full English breakfast next door at the Pelican.

No fridge but there was a flat screen tele, free WiFi, tea/coffee facilities, hairdryer, powerful hot shower.

We were warm and comfortable and we wil be returning again, it was excellent value for money.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ManGlassAndMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stopped here for one night on our way to Manchester airport. We found our room to be clean and tidy, with crisp white bed linen and a clean shower room. Flat screen TV and free Wifi. For £40 for a double room near the airport, this hotel hits the spot.

Yes it does look like a motel and the reception are is a bit basic, but comparing it to the price for one of the bigger hotels near the airport, this offers good value for money.

As I said our room was clean and tidy, no complaints. The man on reception was very friendly and helpful.

Easy access to the airport by car or taxi and fairly close to Manchester city.

For a short stay I would have no hesitation in booking this.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScotlandFirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

This is the fourth time we have used altrincham lodge,the down side was the room a incredibly hot and the radiators wasn't even on !!!!!. There seemed to be noise coming from the pipes which was strange as the the heating wasn't on,we had a clean room as ever towels and bedding clean as was the toilet and shower,the only bonus this time is the adjacent pub (the pelican) serves breakfasts at £3.99 including costa coffee,

We going to use altrincham lodge again in the near future,let's hope they resolve the heating problems

Room Tip: If you have walking difficulties get a room near reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SpringyHKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

We booked the room on BOOKINGS, according to the pictures we expected a fairly modern and clean hotel. The site from outside looked like an cheap old motel, and the room is outdated and filthy. Dusty cups, stained sofa, the toilet is far more dirty than a well used public toilet and don't get me started on the shower cubicle...
We've spent £50 for the room, I know you don't suppose to expect much but we've been to some aother budget hotels with the same amount of money and they were far more better than this.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Liqiao328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Altrincham hotels

Kingston Upon Hull
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is the 4th time we have stayed here.

It was a bit cleaner then last time but the heat was overwhelming that much I had to keep checking to see if the radiator was on but it wasn’t and even the window was open. Even the door handle on the corridor side was really warm.

There was a lot of clanking so guessing that there is a plumbing problems somewhere.

So as you can imagine we didn’t have a very comfortable sleep.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CUTESMILE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

I didn't book this hotel, If I want budget but good hotels, I will use late rooms etc and get quality for the same price this was. All I can says I'm glad I was drunk so didn't really have to see a lot of this hotel. Friendly desk staff when we arrived.our room was right at the other end of the building, you have to walk all the way round the hotel, there is no shortcut.room was basic, I suppose that's what budget is.however, there were what I think(and hope)was chocolate biscuit lumps on the floor. The shower had mildew in it, but luckily it was powerful, so that was a bonus,even for budget places, you would expect it to be clean?we had to go all the way back to reception to ask for an ironing board, (no phone in room)which my husband had to bring all the way back.the ironing board was filthy.so apart from that, the room was clean, staff friendly, towels and tea/coffee provided, easy place to find, pub right next to it.luckily we only stayed one night, and we were hardly in the room.

Room Tip: Don't get a room in the rooms above 20 if you don't want to be walking a lot, make sure you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Wobbs170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Altrincham
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Altrincham Central
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Manchester Altrincham Cresta Court Hotel
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Altrincham Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel
1.3 mi away
The Normanhurst Hotel and Restaurant
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altrincham Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altrincham Lodge

Property: Altrincham Lodge
Address: Manchester Road | West Timperley, Altrincham, Trafford WA14 5NH, England (Formerly Premier Inn Altrincham - North)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Trafford > Altrincham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Altrincham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Altrincham Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Altrincham Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altrincham Hotel Altrincham
Altrincham Lodge Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing