We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unexpected pleasure” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Rioja - CLOSED

La Rioja
Price range: $15 - $38
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
74 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Unexpected pleasure”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

Im surprised to see the recent views on here based on my experience but then you never know what things may be like from one day to the next. Went here yesterday for lunch and, must admit, was perhaps a little underwhelmed on arrival. Mind you, that might have been compounded by the fact we were in the wrong place but that's a whole other story! That said, the service was great - perhaps a little confused at times or nervous but you get the impression that may be a result of instruction and the confines of the boss rather than ineptitude and overall you couldn't fault in terms of attentiveness and enthusiasm. Then on to the food! Loved it. Thought for a place like altrincham it was great. Actually that sounds like damning with faint praise and I hope it doesn't because I thought it was really very good indeed. The fish tapas were the stand out dishes but everything was lovely. Will certainly visit again. A treat!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JMA_Chester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    27
    8
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Food terrible customer service even worse”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

Didn't have booking called in off chance they could fit us in as there was some vacant tables, waitress said 20 minutes waiting time & seated us at small bar area. No bar staff on -15 mins later waitress came back took drink order we then waited another 15 mins for drinks to arrive. After 45 mins I asked why we had not been seated as there was still vacant tables and no other customers waiting. We were then offered table, we order food - service very slow - very disappointed some food Luke warm other dishes burnt waitress said this was how Spanish tapas should be served - not interested in our complaints very poor customer service would not recommend

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Awful service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

Visited here on our lunch hour. After 20 minutes we were finally asked what we would like to drink, we ordered Sangria and to our disgust there was green mould floating around. We told the staff and didnt even get an apology. An hour later we were still waiting for our food. They seemed to be making a big take out order of some sort as they were spending all of the time wrapping food up in tin foil which was being collected. We ordered the set menu and eventually the cold tapas arrived followed by the 4 tapas dishes we ordered. We then realised that they had not brought us the bread, omlette or patatas bravas which came with the set menu. When we told the staff, they said they will just knock £2 off our bill. No chance!!! We refused to pay for half a meal. Very poor service, no atmosphere and unfriendly staff. We saw customers come and and sit for 15 minutes without being acknowledged and walking out. Will not be going there again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Lauren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“not bad.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

at first i just couldn't understand why the waiters were speaking in a foreign language, until my friend told me we were in a spanish restaurant.

after getting over that, we ordered somethings that were called 'tapas' and i have to say that some of them weren't bad. one dish was fired cubes of potato with some sauce on top…not too bad. after which, some sausage-thingy-stuff came, and i really liked it. the waiters also kept force-feeding you bread, which is really good if you're really hungry.

like many comments i've just this minute read with regard to the service, i have to agree. it took 20 minutes to get my beer and something that was called a 'sangria' which apparently means 'of blood' in spanish. it's basically wine with some lemonade thrown in and some fruit banged on top for good measure…again, not too bad, if you're in to that sort of thing.

now, with regard to the decor…i was drunk...well, drunkish at the time, so i don't remember a lot that was going on in that regard. it was dim, that i do remember, as i cracked my head coming back from the loo. my fault, should have been looking where i was going, serves me right.

i will go back again, if they'll have me. you can take me anywhere twice, the second time is to apologise...yep, not too bad.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bernie46789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A relaxing evening”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

Have just enjoyed a very tasty meal at La Rioja. We had not dined here before and have enjoyed the meal. We opted for the tapas. Each was well presented, a good sized portion and very tasty. We had a set menu for £18 a person which I thought was good value for the variety and quality of the food. The only reason I have not awarded 5 stars was because the service was extremely slow. I hasten to add that all the waiting staff were extremely nice but there was a long wait at each stage between cold/hot tapas, ordering coffee, asking for sugar (twice) and the bill. This was not a major problem for us but something to be aware of.

Helpful?
1 Thank Higs05
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed La Rioja also viewed

Altrincham, Trafford
 
Altrincham, Trafford
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing