We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed here before flying from manchester”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Altrincham
doncaster
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Stayed here before flying from manchester”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Rooms were very clean and staff were very helpful. The pool was brill for the kids and there was also a sauna and steam room.... Al free and towels are also provided.
We left our car there and used the transfer bus which was alittle run down but still fine!!!!
Will definatley use the hotel again x

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DoncasterLambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Although a little late responding thanks for taking the time to let us and others know about your positive experience

Paul Rodgers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    272
    246
    136
    87
See reviews for
174
382
36
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

booked with holiday autos including parking for 4 days. friendly staff and nice rooms. had a 3 course meal which was delicious like proper resaurant food including a free with bottle of wine. about 15 minutes drive to manchester airport parking.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lee a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Sound like you enjoyed your stay and pleased to hear your comments about good food/service in the resaurant
Hope you will use us again in the future

Paul Rodgers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Yet again, I had a good nights sleep at this hotel and a fine breakfast in the morning. I regularly use this hotel because of its location, the car park is spacious but sometimes get quite full. Staff are well trained and attentive. The bar area is 'cosy' with a TV, if you want to follow the news etc.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrMez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Apologise it has taken so long for me to respond but thanks for writing these comments, hope you will continue to be a regular guest

Paul Rodgers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Booked this hotel in conjunction with a one week car parking deal which included a one night stay on return from holiday. Very reasonable price with taxis to and from the airport included in the cost. Arrived back late at night to be greeted by very friendly and helpful night porter. Room had obviously been renovated (as they say on the best TV renovation programs "to a very good standard"). Comfortable beds good shower and tea and coffee facilities. Breakfast was not included in price but was of the buffet variety with all you would expect of a "good English Breakfast" supervised by smiling helpful staff. Would definitely use this hotel again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keelie259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
A bit late responding but thanks for posting this positive review, always pleased to hear when we get things right and know the staff are encouraged by such comments

Paul Rodgers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

I was in Manchester for one night for a business meeting and the location of the hotel was what attracted me. Once I found my way in from the car park the reception service was friendly and efficient and I was given a named room which sounded good. The room was large, adequately appointed, new bathroom and clean. But the view was a concrete retaining wall! I was in the basement. This also meant that I had no mobile phone signal and no access to the hotel wi-fi.
I took dinner in the restaurant which was quite presentable but I was disappointed that there were no real English beers on offer even in bottles. The food was good, although I did suggest to the manager about how the starter could have been better presented. The staff were young and very (over?) attentive.
Like many hotels the wash basin in the bathroom was not designed for men who wet shave! The basin was shallow and the swan-neck tap meant that you could not bend over the basin to rinse your face without banging your head.
A typical English breakfast was hot and fresh.
The hotel wasn't expensive, the service friendly and if I had had a room with even a modest view (and a connection) I would have rated it more highly.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Euston33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
I am sure I have responded to this guests comments through another channel but for the sake of good order swan neck taps do swivel from side to side to allow better access to the basin. Whilst of little consolation to you now we are in the process of looking at ways to boost WiFi signal to meet the ever increasing demand.

Paul Rodgers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Local to the city centre, 15/20mins from Trafford Centre, 20minutes from Old Trafford. Close to Altrincham Town centre and transport links.
Hale is a short work full and restaurants so never short of a choice of food!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Siobhan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Another late response but thanks for highlighting the good position the hotel is in for many of the local amenities.

Paul Rodgers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Stayed here before our flight, can't understand what bad reviews are about, it's a lovely clean hotel and reasonably priced.
The pool jacuzzi, sauna and steam room are an added bonus and I used them all.
Can't comment on food as we ate out
I would stay here again if I had flight from Manchester, we got a nice family room and 10 days secure parking for £90 bargain!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Clearly missed some of the May reviews hence to lateness of my response.
Please you enjoyed the stay and found it to be of good value
Hope you will return on future trips to the area

Paul Rodgers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Altrincham
0.9 mi away
Best Western Manchester Altrincham Cresta Court Hotel
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Altrincham Central
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport
3.9 mi away
The Airport Inn Manchester
4.3 mi away
Cottons Hotel & Spa
Cottons Hotel & Spa
#2 of 9 in Knutsford
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel

Property: Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel
Address: Langham Road, Altrincham, Trafford WA14 2HT, England (Formerly Bowdon Hotel Altrincham)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Trafford > Altrincham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Altrincham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel is ideally located for both commerce and leisure in Manchester City Centre and South Manchester including Trafford Park, Sale, Wilmslow and Knutsford. Conveniently close to the M56 and M6 motorways and Manchester International Airport. All standard rooms have en-suite bath and shower, Interactive TV (Internet access, PlayStation, Exclusive Movies), hairdryer, trouser press, direct dial telephone, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing