We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,031)
Filter reviews
1,031 results
Traveler rating
198
296
277
152
108
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
198
296
277
152
108
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsall inclusive dealleisure facilitiesmanchester airportweeks parkingcourse mealplenty of parkingbar areapleasant staffan early flightfamily roomnight staystayed for one nighthalesaunadavetram
Filter
Updating list...
703 - 708 of 1,031 reviews
Reviewed December 8, 2013

This is the second time we have stopped in the Bowden on an all inclusive 2 night deal and the deal is great .
All the staff are pleasant and will give you any help or advice you need.
The rooms are comfortable and clean and so warm we had to open the window.
The best bit is the meals great choice and presented like atop class restaurant you will not be disappointed stopping here.
This is a good base to explore Manchester from we did the Christmas markets travelling by tram which run every 12 minutes into the centre.
Hale is a 5 minute walk away and has some great restaurants and local pubs around it.
The hotel has a spa joined to it which is free and worth taking some time to relax in it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidoff007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

Thank you David from Derbyshire for taking the time to write such a positive review and very pleased to know we have got thinks right

Hope we can welcome you back for another break in the near future

Paul Rodgers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We stayed here on a park&stay deal for the airport to take us on the first stage of our break.We
took advantage of the meal deal included.This was our second time of staying having stayed the
year previous which was fine but our room was an adjoining one and we had a very noisy snorer next door.Not his fault I might add just thin dividing wall.Anyway this year we had a much better experience,our room No60 was on the same level as reception at the front.Very nice room and the 3course meal on the evening was very nice with free bottle of wine.Iwould recommend this hotel,easy to get to from M6 and the Park and Stay facility is well organised with taxi collect/return hotel/airport very punctual.All in all excellent and would use again if flying from Manchester.

Room Tip: Front of hotel reception level
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leftfootwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

Firstly thank you for taking the time to post this review and pleased to hear that you had a good stay prior to your trip via Manchester airport.
Always find it interesting how reviews differ from posting to posting looking at yours compared to previous review which does enforce the point that much is down to personal expectation and not always totally related to the property or service.
Hope we can continue to look after you or future trips to Manchester

Paul Rodgers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We booked this through Holiday Extras, the rooms are very tired & worn, however I feel that because we were staying for one night only before our morning flights we we're put in a section of the hotel that's tired, basic & very very noisy. The gaps at the room door looked about 25mm. You can hear every conversation in the corridor. The walls are so thin you really can hear normal conversations in adjacent rooms. Doors of adjacent rooms are slamming shut at 3,4,5 o'clock in the morning as fellow travellers are leaving. All in all a very poor experience. The car parking is about 12 minutes away from the hotel.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Derek G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

I very much regret the hotel did not meet your personal expectations but fail to see how it can be discribed as scruffy as this is far from the case.

Paul Rodgers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

I have just bought a flat around the corner from the hotel and so, while a number of renovations are underway, it is great to have a very local hotel to stay in. It is also very convenient for Hale and the Metro link from Altrincham. Inaddition, it is just a 10 minute drive to the airport!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank trips122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Sorry to find that this has been your last stay but pleased to know that ou have enjoyed your time with us.
Understand you have purchased a property close to the hotel and very much hope you will enjoy living in the beautiful part of the country.

Best regards

Paul Rodgers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Stayed one night first impression on look thought it was goin to b a nice place went out for the afternoon and came back early evening our bedroom window had been left wide open only for us to realise it wouldn't shut properly as it was broken there seemed to b a party going on at a nearby venue which went on into the early hours with music blasting as that stopped the people in the next room were makin a lot of noise till 6am as the walls r very thin it kept us awake all night with doors banging also the heating was on all night which we couldn't turn down so it was a very unpleasant night for us we were going to speak to someone on departure but as we were leaving the receptionist just said thank you everything is paid there was no have u enjoyed ur stay

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevictwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Firstly I would like to apologise for the difficulty and disturbance you encountered on your recent stay.
As a general rule this is a very quiet area and can only assume the external noise/music to be from a house party it is however regratable that other hotel users were inconsiderate and kept you awake, possibly a call to the night staff to alert them to the issue would have helped the situation.
On a final note perhaps you can contact me directly if your are planning a return in order that I could ensure you are allocated a room away from any possible noise to ensure you have restful and relaxing return visit

Paul Rodgers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews