We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff are honest and A1 service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Altrincham
kent
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Staff are honest and A1 service”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Just to say had 2 nights here and eat both night , steak was fad as was the wine , but most of all the staff were fantastic , helpful and HONEST , i left my wallet in the room and the chamber maid handed it in ,

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    272
    246
    136
    87
See reviews for
174
382
36
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night when conducting business in Hale. Hotel was clean and reasonably comfortable. The bed was a bit on the hard side and our room got a bit of noise from the bar downstairs. The breakfast was good and the free car parking was excellent with plenty of room. It's not particularly peaceful because people come and go from here at all times of day and night. I would use this establishment again if I were in the area.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hopefultraveller10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Let me firstly say that me and the misses aren't picky, neither are we complainers, so in most instances we just gritted our teeth and put up with various issues during our stay.

We opted for a fully inclusive weekend which included very limited drink and food during the stay along with use of the leisure facilities. To be honest the evening meal was a complete waste of time. We'd have been better off going to a chippy. The meals were extremely small and probably cost no more than £1.50 per head to put together. The staff in the dinning room were extremely unattentive, not even asking if we wanted a drink with our meal. One of the most annoying things was that they kept on peeping their head around the corner constantly checking to see if we were still there, it was as if they couldn't wait for us to leave. On the second evening the meal was so bad my wife wouldn't eat it. She chose the burger which was like solid rubber. Remeber those Westlers burgers that used to come in a tin??? Well it was like one of those that had been deep fried.....Horrendous!!!!!
As we left they were straight over taking our plates away, not even asking if everything was ok, not a word. I've never eaten in such a cold unwelcoming atmosphere.

Breakfast wasn't to bad, but the service was still as cold and downright weird!!!!! Very unfriendly, no pleasentries, nothing....

The room was fine and clean, but the bathroom was freezing cold. The hotel manager was informed of this and he said he would get some pliers to turn the radiator on. This never happened.

The shower was pathetic as the water pressure was so low. My wife could barely wash the conditioner out of her hair it was that bad.

I could go on with various other little issues, but these were the main points.
You really need to give the staff that come into contact with the public serious customer service training or hire new people, because the one's you've got are pretty pathetic. With the exception of the tall curly haired barman, who's name I didn't catch, but was exteremly polite and cheerful. You could all learn a thing or two from him.

Needless to say, we'll not be returning to a Mercure hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BelfastBoy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Altrincham hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

The reviews I had read made me a little apprehensive about booking in here BUT it was brilliant - extremely clean, spacious room, plenty of hot water - what more do you want. Within walking distance of lovely restaurants and pubs

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Magzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to post a review, pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Hope we can be of service to you again in the future

Paul Rodgers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

A decent hotel which is well located for Manchester airport.
This is an older building which has been reasonably well refurbished but maintaining its character. My room was a good size and very comfortable. As it was an older building the rooms do not conform to a standard size as in modern hotels which makes them more appealing.
All mod cons were available as is now expected such as free wifi etc.
Good pool and gym facilities which are handy.
Only ate in the bar but there was a reasonable selection and was quite good. Bar prices expensive though as they are in other Mercure hotels.
A decent breakfast.
All told good value and would stay again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank peterstoneboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write about your recent stay and pleased to hear that you found us to be of good value

Hope you will stasy again when in this area

Paul Rodgers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, England
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Like most people, we used this hotel as a stopover before flying off to Dubai and to park our car.

On arrival at the hotel we were met by friendly and helpful staff, or room was on he first floor over looking the pool, there were no lifts upto the first floor and travellers with suitcases this could cause an issue.

The room was pretty small, but clean and tidy.

The pool area is in a separate building, this was clean and tidy with an average sized Poland hot tub, just what you need to relax as your holiday starts.

We ate in the restaurant, food was pretty good, although drinks prices are high.

Car parking was pretty easy, you ave to leave your keys and they do state that they may move your to a compound , so note your mileage, ours did not move. Taxi transfers were pretty good, you are given vouchers for each journey.

Not sure if I would see again as getting to the hotel as the sat nav takes you a long way around, so I would use a hotel on the other side of the airport nearer to our home.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DucatiKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Sorry to hear that you had problems with your satnav, generally people tell us we are very easy to find.
You are correct in the fact that we do have airport packages but we are not just a stopping point prior to flights, guests stay for all kinds of reasons on business or pleasure as access by road, train or air is easy.
It would appear that apart from the trouble you had finding us that other aspects of your stay were good which is what we like to hear

Paul Rodgers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Altrincham
0.9 mi away
Best Western Manchester Altrincham Cresta Court Hotel
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Altrincham Central
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport
3.9 mi away
The Airport Inn Manchester
4.3 mi away
Cottons Hotel & Spa
Cottons Hotel & Spa
#2 of 9 in Knutsford
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel

Property: Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel
Address: Langham Road, Altrincham, Trafford WA14 2HT, England (Formerly Bowdon Hotel Altrincham)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Trafford > Altrincham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Altrincham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel is ideally located for both commerce and leisure in Manchester City Centre and South Manchester including Trafford Park, Sale, Wilmslow and Knutsford. Conveniently close to the M56 and M6 motorways and Manchester International Airport. All standard rooms have en-suite bath and shower, Interactive TV (Internet access, PlayStation, Exclusive Movies), hairdryer, trouser press, direct dial telephone, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing