We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stopover and close to airport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Altrincham
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good stopover and close to airport”
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

A decent hotel which is well located for Manchester airport.
This is an older building which has been reasonably well refurbished but maintaining its character. My room was a good size and very comfortable. As it was an older building the rooms do not conform to a standard size as in modern hotels which makes them more appealing.
All mod cons were available as is now expected such as free wifi etc.
Good pool and gym facilities which are handy.
Only ate in the bar but there was a reasonable selection and was quite good. Bar prices expensive though as they are in other Mercure hotels.
A decent breakfast.
All told good value and would stay again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank peterstoneboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write about your recent stay and pleased to hear that you found us to be of good value

Hope you will stasy again when in this area

Paul Rodgers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    266
    240
    136
    83
See reviews for
167
372
34
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
92 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Like most people, we used this hotel as a stopover before flying off to Dubai and to park our car.

On arrival at the hotel we were met by friendly and helpful staff, or room was on he first floor over looking the pool, there were no lifts upto the first floor and travellers with suitcases this could cause an issue.

The room was pretty small, but clean and tidy.

The pool area is in a separate building, this was clean and tidy with an average sized Poland hot tub, just what you need to relax as your holiday starts.

We ate in the restaurant, food was pretty good, although drinks prices are high.

Car parking was pretty easy, you ave to leave your keys and they do state that they may move your to a compound , so note your mileage, ours did not move. Taxi transfers were pretty good, you are given vouchers for each journey.

Not sure if I would see again as getting to the hotel as the sat nav takes you a long way around, so I would use a hotel on the other side of the airport nearer to our home.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DucatiKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Sorry to hear that you had problems with your satnav, generally people tell us we are very easy to find.
You are correct in the fact that we do have airport packages but we are not just a stopping point prior to flights, guests stay for all kinds of reasons on business or pleasure as access by road, train or air is easy.
It would appear that apart from the trouble you had finding us that other aspects of your stay were good which is what we like to hear

Paul Rodgers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Arrived at hotel and were met by the 2 warm reception staff. We were staying 2 nights on a AI deal. Lovely big clean room. Evening meal was nice staff very attentive and professional. Breakfast was one of the nicest I have had in a long time. We used the pool area which was nice and quiet chance for a proper swim. Do not be put off by bad reviews as our stay was lovely, and we would return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAQ2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thanks for the very kind comments and pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us

Paul Rodgers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Stopped here as a stop and park hotel for Manchester airport, booked in ok room small but clean, the gym,sauna/steam rooms and pool were good. Plenty of parking, bar area good. The only thing that I didn't like was the price for breakfast £28 for two people, we only wanted cereal, fruit and yogurt but we still had to pay same price as people having full English breakfast, Apart from this it was ok and it's not far from some nice restaurants in Hale, looking at a comment before us about the taxi not being booked, we was there when this happened and it was fault of taxi firm not hotel !! They had booked it

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Laks99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Breakfast at £13.95 per person is very much in line with most 3 star hotels but we do have various offers that perhaps you missed.
From my experiece airport food is usually far more expensive so guess overall you did the right thing eating prior to departure from the hotel

Paul Rodgers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
323 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights before flying out from Manchester airport and have nothing but good feedback.
Before arriving Catherine, the receptionist, went out her way to organise our park and fly which made our plans much less stressful and completely organised!
On arrival we were checked in immediately to a room on te ground floor (I was pleased as we had lots of luggage!) room was big, clean and comfortable.
Although there was a large group of guests in the hotel on our first night and noise from them was quite dosturbig this did not persist and the rest of our stay managed to be quite relaxing. Breakfast was good and the night receptionist allowed us to grab some cereal before the restaurant opened as we were checking out early and had paid for breakfast in advance - this was much appreciated! Also, swimming pool and leisure facilities also quite good with a tv in the gym. Free wifi was also appreciated!
Overall I'd definitely recommend the hotel and I'd return without a doubt.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank _-rachella-_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thanks for the recommendation and for the very positive comments about Catherine, I know she has been greatly encouraged by your kind remarks

Paul Rodgers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Altrincham
0.9 mi away
Best Western Manchester Altrincham Cresta Court Hotel
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Altrincham Central
3.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane North
3.9 mi away
The Airport Inn Manchester
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel

Property: Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel
Address: Langham Road, Altrincham, Trafford WA14 2HT, England (Formerly Bowdon Hotel Altrincham)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Trafford > Altrincham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Altrincham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel is ideally located for both commerce and leisure in Manchester City Centre and South Manchester including Trafford Park, Sale, Wilmslow and Knutsford. Conveniently close to the M56 and M6 motorways and Manchester International Airport. All standard rooms have en-suite bath and shower, Interactive TV (Internet access, PlayStation, Exclusive Movies), hairdryer, trouser press, direct dial telephone, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, ACCOR, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing