We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Altrincham
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Arrived at hotel and were met by the 2 warm reception staff. We were staying 2 nights on a AI deal. Lovely big clean room. Evening meal was nice staff very attentive and professional. Breakfast was one of the nicest I have had in a long time. We used the pool area which was nice and quiet chance for a proper swim. Do not be put off by bad reviews as our stay was lovely, and we would return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JAQ2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Thanks for the very kind comments and pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us

Paul Rodgers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (920)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

623 - 629 of 920 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2013

Stopped here as a stop and park hotel for Manchester airport, booked in ok room small but clean, the gym,sauna/steam rooms and pool were good. Plenty of parking, bar area good. The only thing that I didn't like was the price for breakfast £28 for two people, we only wanted cereal, fruit and yogurt but we still had to pay same price as people having full English breakfast, Apart from this it was ok and it's not far from some nice restaurants in Hale, looking at a comment before us about the taxi not being booked, we was there when this happened and it was fault of taxi firm not hotel !! They had booked it

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Laks99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Breakfast at £13.95 per person is very much in line with most 3 star hotels but we do have various offers that perhaps you missed.
From my experiece airport food is usually far more expensive so guess overall you did the right thing eating prior to departure from the hotel

Paul Rodgers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank trips122
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights before flying out from Manchester airport and have nothing but good feedback.
Before arriving Catherine, the receptionist, went out her way to organise our park and fly which made our plans much less stressful and completely organised!
On arrival we were checked in immediately to a room on te ground floor (I was pleased as we had lots of luggage!) room was big, clean and comfortable.
Although there was a large group of guests in the hotel on our first night and noise from them was quite dosturbig this did not persist and the rest of our stay managed to be quite relaxing. Breakfast was good and the night receptionist allowed us to grab some cereal before the restaurant opened as we were checking out early and had paid for breakfast in advance - this was much appreciated! Also, swimming pool and leisure facilities also quite good with a tv in the gym. Free wifi was also appreciated!
Overall I'd definitely recommend the hotel and I'd return without a doubt.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank _-rachella-_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Thanks for the recommendation and for the very positive comments about Catherine, I know she has been greatly encouraged by your kind remarks

Paul Rodgers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Bigcove
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Staff show no sign of any personality or happiness in their job. Rooms were like walking down the dungeons and sleeping in a prison cell. Whole place is in need of a deep clean and good maintenance check.
£15 breakfast was a complete joke, considering the limited cheap food and coffee they offer as a help yourself buffet and the poor service provided.
Spa facilities are old, tired and in need of a facelift as well as change in staff attitude; your mates or the pretty lady walking through are as important as any other guest.
Free on sight parking, nice mattress and location are the only reasons I scored two marks overall.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Have never been compared before to a prison cell or dungeon and do not beleive this is a fair reflection of our hotel but do regret we did not meet your personal expectations

Paul Rodgers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are small and basic. The beds very hard and I would expect bigger than a double size, I would of preferred a king size bed. Shower was not very powerful. Breakfast was mediocre with a small hot plate were you helped yourself. Place was clean, but did not tick all the boxes for me and I only used it as was at a family wedding down the road.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slincalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Sorry to hear that you did not think us to be of good value but do beleive the price for room and breakfast for 2 is more than comparable with most hotels in this area on a Saturday night.
We do have superior rooms that have a much larger footprint and bigger beds for a nominal amout more which you may find more to your liking on future visits

Paul Rodgers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Altrincham
0.9 mi away
Best Western Manchester Altrincham Cresta Court Hotel
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Altrincham Central
16.4 mi away
Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane North
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel

Address: Langham Road, Altrincham, Trafford WA14 2HT, England (Formerly Bowdon Hotel Altrincham)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Trafford > Altrincham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Altrincham
Price Range: $77 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel is ideally located for both commerce and leisure in Manchester City Centre and South Manchester including Trafford Park, Sale, Wilmslow and Knutsford. Conveniently close to the M56 and M6 motorways and Manchester International Airport. All standard rooms have en-suite bath and shower, Interactive TV (Internet access, PlayStation, Exclusive Movies), hairdryer, trouser press, direct dial telephone, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing